We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and Simplicity at its best,”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Ranked #2 of 140 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfort and Simplicity at its best,”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I visited Amritsar with family (with kids of 6 and 14) on 15th August for couple of nights stay, very narrow lanes approach to the hotel, but you would be surprised to see neat and clean property, It is not lavish but a budgeted hotel with almost everything you need, and the with best of services,

Room are fully equipped with A.C., Fan, Refrigerator and 24hrs running Hot and cold water. Service is also warm and to the best in that kind of category.

Best Part of the hotel is that it is just 5 minutes walk from the Darbar Sahib (Golden Temple), which gives you choice to visit Darbar Sahib at your convenience. It is absolutely safe to go at 0400 a.m. and come back after samapti at 1100 p.m. by walking with family including kids and elders too.

And yes Breakfast was a delight with Amritsari Kulchas at decent price.

Close to markets and Jallianwala bagh, just a 10 minutes’ walk from Darbar sahib.

I would defiantly revisit and stay back in my next trip.

Owner Mr. Sethi is highly involved and will give you best of option and suggestion to make your trip comfortable.

Akal Residency is a budget hotel, highly recommended especially for those who want visit Darbar Sahib.

Room Tip: Two size of rooms are availeble, Bigger rooms are the best if you need extra bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HItendra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    121
    44
    10
    6
See reviews for
132
73
29
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at Akaal residency on 18th August for one day. I have been to Amritsar before and stayed at Ista last time but since these two are absolutely different classes of hotels, one can't compare the experience.

Since this time the purpose of travel was only to be at Darbaar Saab, I was looking for a place that was walking distance. Based on the tripadvisor reviews, I booked Akaal residency instead of Shiraaz, Country Inn or any other on Queen's road.

First things first : Don't have very high expectations, go there thinking that you are going to any normal B & B and you won't be disappointed. The access is through the narrowest of lanes I have ever seen....I wondered how a car could get it. But once you enter the small but very clean and well maintained property, you receive a warm welcome.

Rooms are small but very clean and contain every thing that you need for an overnight stay including a nice small attached bathroom with fresh towels. AC and TV work well and only thing you miss is sunlight but considering that it is in an area with very old narrow lanes, that didn't look possible.

Service is good and pleasant but remember that it is not a "hotel" so have some patience when you order food. Food, though tasty and homely, can take upto 45 minutes to be served. A good idea is to order everything at once and within their specified hours to avoid wait. Food prices are reasonable, though I felt that the room rent is 10-15% higher than what it ideally should be. Also, be prepared to pay extra ( half day) for a few hours extension that you may want because of check out and Shatabdi time gap.

The owners take keen interest in helping you and providing you some good information. You can request them for taxi/ auto help, specific food ( only veg) and they will try their best to organize it for you. Based on their recommendation, we visited Gurudwara Shaheedan Saab and it was a great experience.

Now, the main USP : 144 steps and you are at Darbaar Saab.....amazing. The entry is from the langar haal side and this is a good idea because there is a huge construction going on at the main gate side. So, going from this side is much more convenient and shorter, especially with old people and kids.

Recommendation: If you are planning only an overnight stay at Amritsar and main objective is to be at a walking distance from Darbaar Saab, Akaal residency is probably among the best choices....

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil_Sapra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012 via mobile

Small, neat n clean htl. Gud for overngt stay n if not taking private vehicle. Very congested lane but u r relieved once checked inn. Just a minute walk will take u to golden temple and further 5 to 15 min to jallian wala bagh.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank har25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I visited amritsar with my family I talked to many hotels on phone and finally selected this hotel becuase I found their response very pleasnt, accommmodative and convincing during our tele-conersation.Our stay was very pleasant. The hotel maintained high level of higene and clealiness. They promptly changed the linen and towels daily and all were very neat and clean. Entire staff is extremely hospitable. Management displays a high level of personal touch. Food was good.On the whole excellent place to stay with family and friends-with friendly staff and a 2-3 minute walk to Golden Temple.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaranBajaj304551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
59 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed in the beginning of July, when the pre-monsoon heat was unbearable (+47C). Despite power-cuts, the Management put all the efforts to make sure that the AC in our room was indeed working. The main pluses: helpful staff, central location (couple of minutes to Golden Temple by walk), clean and quiet rooms, tasty food (delivered from outside). Overally, highly recommended, it's worth its slightly higher price (compared to average GH/hotel in the area).

Room Tip: Make sure that AC in your room will work in case of power-cut.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AventureroPolaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

i checked in there with my family near by 10.30 PM on 8th july for single day , its having very clean n nice rooms with normal price ,, helpful staff & walk in distance from Golden Temple , whenever my next stay i will again join Akaal Residency ...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhupsChandigarh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights in June 2012. I contacted the hotel directly after reading the reviews here.
Prompt replies via email--info@hotel​akaalreside​ncy.co.in

Positives:
-is ~5 min walk to the Golden temple. As such you can visit for the 4:30am and 10pm ceremony. It such an amazing place to visit.
-room is basic but very clean. AC works, hot water works. Mini fridge in room. TV (didnt turn it on, so not sure about the channel selection); great internet connection.
-Very helpful staff. Since I was a solo traveler, owner arranged for me to "team up" with other travelers and walk with them to see the ceremony at 10pm and 4:30am.
-On my arrival from delhi, I booked the airport pickup by the hotel (800 rs) even when the owner said it was cheaper to book the "prepaid taxi" stand...but since the hotel is in a tiny street and I was arriving alone at night, to me it was worth it. The taxi rate for my return flight was 450 rs, and the stand is about ~8min walk. Someone from the hotel helped me with my bag.
-Good Value for the price. I think I paid 900rs, + internet was 100rs per day, and the AC backup ~200rs?
-Safe hotel. They have good security and it feels more like a little family of visitors.
-I was in room #101. only 1 set up the stairs.

Neutral:
My shower was super high? and it wasn't working properly. So I used the low faucet (see pictures) and the bucket provided at the hotel. It didnt bother me, but if you have knee problems or back problems this might be an issue. You just need to tell the owner to provide you with a shower that works!

*I can't comment on the food since I didnt try it. There are places via tuk-tuk that are very good, for example Crystal and *** Brothers. There are little shops that sell water bottles for 15 rs.

*In all I will recommend to my friends and If I were to return, I will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panedu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 97 in Amritsar
454 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 97 in Amritsar
930 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#18 of 97 in Amritsar
481 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel CJ International
Hotel CJ International
#73 of 97 in Amritsar
400 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Sham Villa
Hotel Sham Villa
#10 of 140 in Amritsar
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY

Property: HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY
Address: Chowk Baba Sahib, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Decent Hotel near Golden Temple with 3 star facilities.Your Home away from home in the feet of Shri Guru Ramdass ji. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your HOTEL AKAAL RESIDENCY reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing