We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spectacle”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Wagah Border

Wagah Border
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Private Tour: Golden Temple and Wagah Border in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Delhi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“spectacle”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Being used to army parades and drills, I found the posturing of the para-military forces rather funny, but I suppose that this is what a spectacle is about. Shaking fists , kicking legs high up in the air... after much blaring of patriotic songs from either side of the border.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheOriginalBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,603 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,417
    656
    305
    115
    110
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Reach at least by 3 PM there.
If the monsoon is on then pls stay away...the stamped is likely to be happen. Unsafe with Kids no basic facility. No shades you have to face the storm alone. Too much crowd without any management.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank AJAYPREETI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So excited!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The approach to the border once the car is parked is akin to attending a sports ground- great atmosphere, the foreigners section is closer to the gates than standard areas. The marching up to the gate is fabulous. We could clearly see in to Pakistan and the smart uniforms of both countries soldiers side by side. A 'must visit'!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank gilly88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must-See”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

The sunset ceremony at the Wagah border is hot, crowded, dirty and LONG. It is not for the faint of heart. But, if you can hack it, it is a remarkably significant and moving experience. I highly recommend it.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank cofiwalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed visit”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

We were really looking forward to this visit given that it is supposed to promote patriotism and brotherhood. But unfortunately we got a feel that the official there who is to pep up the crowd actually motivates the crowd as if to put the Pakis down. We already have enough hatred between the two nations and if the Wagah border type of initiative is to promote hatred only then its a big waste. Patriotism and Hatred are different, arent they? It would have been wonderful of the Wagah border is used to promote brotherhood... that would give some healing to the otherwise battered relationship.

Also the Crowd is just too much and a long walk (about a km) is a must making it difficult for those who cant walk this distance.. we need to have a much larger place there for visitors and much improved infrastructure like say, a shade in the stands and government operated golf carts for elderly.

Patriotic songs were played but it seemed like just playing few random songs with intermittent and abrupt pauses.. the songs and music needs to be preplanned for a continuous two hours rather than just playing random songs on a CD.

Love one, love all.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank DeeGeeJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagah Border also viewed

 

Been to Wagah Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing