We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Wagah Border

Wagah Border
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Private Tour: Golden Temple and Wagah Border in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bangalore
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Charming”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The joint, and mockingly competing, march of the Indian and Pakistani army is very entertaining. The spirit of both the armies are very high and so are that of the spectators on both sides (Indians and Pakistanis).

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,609 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,420
    658
    306
    115
    110
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga
Level Contributor
129 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Difficult to get a good view”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

As a "must see", we found this experince a little disappointing. The crowds are enormous ( don't even think about going there on Sundays) and it's nearly impossible to get a really good view. Crown control seems to consist of packing more and more people into the same space, so even if you get a great positin early by the time of the event, someone will be sitting on your head!

The ceremony itself is brief and very funny if you can see it. If you're in Amritsar go there but don't be surprised by the crush.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Friggykeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soldotna, Alaska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Interesting”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

I didn't like that the men and woman could not walk together. I was there with my Fiance and we got separated

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank cindyml_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Crowds & chaos overpower one's patriotism..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

We were hoping that it being a Tuesday that we'd have a pleasant experience. We got there at 4:30 - the gates had already opened by then. Passing through the initial security check was pretty quick. But trying to find a decent spot to sit down at was impossible. The stand to the right (where its not segregated by gender and thus family friendly) is quite small. And the larger stands on the left are separated by male & female. I stood on the stairs trying to get to the male section but with all the pushing and shoving (and not really getting anywhere), I actually felt it was a little dangerous. Definitely do not think of trying to go up the stairs if you have kids or seniors with you. The crowds that show up aren't very civil in my opinion - every man for themselves - push and shove and try to get in front of everyone else.

I left early - didn't get to see anything. Go early (even on a weekday) and still you're not assured of getting a good spot. Definitely skip this if you have kids & seniors - unless they're willing to put up with crowds & chaos and a little bit of man handling.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShaunSunnyvale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“What an experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

If Health & Safety is your thing, think very carefully before you visit the Wagah Pass. Huge crushing queues managed by military on horse back, no organisation and ferocious pushing could prove dangerous if you are not sure footed.

Foreigners are allocated a seperate seating area, which is very welcome when you finally get inside the gate as the crowd is probably 5 times bigger than should be crammed into the space.

That said the spectacle is fantastic with high kicks that the Ministry of Funny Walks would be proud of!

Take a hat, lots of water and remember your camera.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Willow123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wagah Border also viewed

 

Been to Wagah Border? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing