We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY POOR RECEPTION STAFF, VERY POOR SERVICE”
Review of HK Clarks Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
HK Clarks Inn
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“VERY POOR RECEPTION STAFF, VERY POOR SERVICE”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed in the Hotel with my family on 24th and 26th July 2012.
The hotel services are very poor. there is a reception staff called Kriti who does not even know the directions to the Hotel.
Restaurant is very poor. We order a Veg Augratin and were given someting else, plus the staff started arguing.
Tooks 45 mins to get a pair of fresh Towels.
Power cut every 45 mins.

Room Tip: pls do not stay here....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrJimitPatrawala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Clarksinn, General Manager at HK Clarks Inn, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Dear Sir,

Let me thank you for your clear and concise feedback regarding our services. We have gone through your review and have analyzed our services wherever they have been offered to you during your stay. We will take the necessary steps to improve our services and train our staff so that our guests will have a wonderful experience with us. Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    113
    34
    9
    11
See reviews for
110
44
8
47
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The rooms are spacious and comfortable, with AC. The bathroom is a decent size also. Bottles of water in room when we arrived and a nice touch of a few chocolates.

Free internet was definitely a plus.

Service can be very strange here however:

We obviously didn't expect staff to all have English or other languages but a considerable amount didn't seem to have anything apart from a few words of a second language in this hotel. This was fine, except for the fact that some of the restaurant and cafe staff were unwilling to admit they did not understand what we were looking for and just nodded and hoped that we would forget. For instance, a friend ordered tea one morning. The waiter nodded and nothing arrived. We asked again, thinking he had forgot and again, he seemed to adopt the approach of hoping we would just give up asking. Tea finally arrived, third time lucky, after asking the restaurant manager.

For dinner in the restaurant, despite us being the only people there, we were only given one menu between us and had to ask for more. It was the same in the downstairs cafe: ordered two dinners, only one arrived. We also asked what a particular dish was, and the waitress said she didn't know, but there was no fear of her actually taking three steps into the kitchen to ask the chef. We asked for the bill; we got knives instead!

Some male members of staff were harassing: apart from the usual staring, one man 'mopped' around the computer over six times in one hour just to look at a white girl. On another occasion, while again pretending to mop to stare at us while we were sitting on the couch, he made a face at a builder outside the window directly behind us to draw attention to the fact that two white girls were there. This continued on for the two nights we were here and was extremely unnerving.

Room Tip: We got a great corner room on the third floor at the front of the hotel, overlooking the hotel direc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed here for couple of nights. I liked its location, bit away from hustle & bustle of old city yet not that far off from main attractions. The room was clean, well lit and fresh. All the basic amenities were provided and wifi is free. Breakfast had many options and includes both north and south indian delicacies. On negative side, there was no bell boy to take the luggage. The swimming pool is on terrace and it was very dirty. Staff could have been sweeter. There was no personal touch but I didn't expect that from a 3 star. The in-house restaurant serves good food but is quite expensive. Overall it was a pleasant experience with scope of some improvement.

Room Tip: try their coffee shop for snacks rather than restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapil77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I spent one night in the Clarks Inn in Amritsar. At check in, I learnt that there were a bunch of school kids who had come for a field trip and had occupied all their rooms. So we got upgraded to the suite!
I must say that the suite was absolutely fantastic. The suite itself was very spacious, as you would imagine.
However, there were a few cons in my stay
For starters, there is only one elevator for the 6 floor hotel which is a shame. Our suite was on the 6th floor and, to get to the ground floor, we had to wait for a long time for the elevator!
Also, the breakfast was just OK. It would be better if there was better variety.
All in all, quite a good stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vikaskini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here on our trip to the Golden Temple & Wagah Border. The hotel is a little far from the airport, but very nearby to the temple. It did not have a very good view, but the rooms were very well maintained & clean. The staff is very helpful & courteous. Food at the hotel is average, should try other restaurants and dhabas nearby for the authentic punjabi food. Overall, excellent & comfortable experience at the hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gauravkshah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights in March. The place is a short drive from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala bagh. The hotel is one building with five floors (if I recall right) and has a restaurant, a swimming pool on the terrace and a small exercise room with a couple of treadmills and some basic cardio instruments. The restaurant served pretty good food (though nowhere close to the stuff that you get in the fabled eateries in Amritsar) and the complimentary breakfast had a lot of variety. The rooms were very clean and tidy and we had two good nights of sleep. I'd recommend this to anyone looking for a clean and nice place to stay in Amritsar. This is a good option if you don't plan on spending most of your time in the hotel itself.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SubhashishDutta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Stayed here at the end of my trip to kashmir with family. we were 3 couples and had a comfortable stay. Rooms and services are excellent. Breakfast menu needs to have more variety. over all a very comfortable stay for 2 nights. no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahaveer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Merrion
Best Western Merrion
#11 of 98 in Amritsar
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#7 of 98 in Amritsar
972 reviews
1.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road
4.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson, Amritsar Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HK Clarks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HK Clarks Inn

Property: HK Clarks Inn
Address: 14 B - Block District Shopping Complex Ranjit Avenue | B- Block, Ranjit Avenue, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — HK Clarks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarks Inn, Amritsar is committed to provide a world-class hotel experience, accessible to the value - conscious travelers all around the world. With a vision of redefining what Inns have come to mean in India, we are single - mindedly focused on providing luxurious services with tremendous quality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your HK Clarks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing