We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive hotel but lacking in areas”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Merrion
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Hotel was situated in a quiet area away from the hussle of the crowded streets, however was perhaps a little too far away from main attractions. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, but the walls are thin and it was possible to hear the neighbours' television and crying baby.

The breakfast buffet was not quite up to scratch and more often than not they had run out of plates and glasses. The coffee was comparable to dish water and they also tried to pass off sparkly wine as over priced champagne! On a positive note, room service food was quick and tasty.

Room Tip: Ask for room far from the elevator because you can hear the music from the restaurant and/or roof ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scullydion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 450 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

One of best hotel of Holy City Amritsar with ample parking space. Good food but restaurants are small to handle big crowds in the evening. Interiors of rooms are very good. Value for Money hotel. Located in a commercial area but very much away from main roads and thus there is no noice of traffiv.

Room Tip: Rooms on front should be avoided due to high lights outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SatinderAhuja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

A good hotel to stay in Amritsar.Rooms are clean and the place is overall well maintained. Room service could be a tad bit better. The hotel could provide transport facilities to tourist destinations nearby. Overall I would say that my stay was comfortable.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
Thank Rahulspro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

The rooms offered are right up there with the five star hotels although the hotel does not offer all the facilities.. however, it is evident that this isn't a 5 star hotel when it comes to the complimentary breakfast.. the spread offered is limited but I must say that it taste wise it is rather good.. The small swimming pool on the top floor has a good feel and a poolside bar adds to the experience. The bar prices are very affordable and one does not feel the need to step out of the hotel for a drink. The hotel has only one lift, which means a lot of waiting time when wanting to step up or down.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raheedwallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2011

Inconvenient location, marred by poor service and not as per international value for money Best Western standards.

The location is away from Golden Temple and is fairly secluded, surrounded by two other hotels & commercial buildings and nothing else! The hotel does not provide any shuttle service to Golden Temple, which is provided by another reputed brand in Amritsar.

The staff appeared to be under-trained. Check out took a very long time, especially given that I had pre-paid all charges at the time of booking (through a travel portal) and there was nothing much to be done. While I was waiting at the reception for check out, two other guests came over and asked for the Manager to express their dissatisfaction with the hotel. I overheard the Manager apologizing to them also.

On the night that we arrived, both the restaurants were booked for private-use and hence not available for other guests and residents; this is not expected at a international chain branded hotel. Another important thing is that no identify proof was sought from us during check in at all. This I believe is a serious lapse on the part of the process; whether it was a wanton move on the part of the particular staff or the hotel process allows to check in without verifying identify of guests – I cannot ascertain. The rooms are smaller and so is the washroom, though that is expected in an average Best Western property.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaideep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

A very clean and comfortable Hotel. The staff was polite and corteous.Rooms are tastefully done with all amenities and very clean. We were a little disappointed with room service as we had to wait 45 minutes for our breakfast and they brought the wrong order. We went to the Indian Restaurant to dine but could not get a table as there was a private function going on. Eventually we had dinner at The restaurant at the Rooftop.Service was a bit slow and food not that great. All in all a very clean and comfortable Hotel but needs to improve on food quality.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashadaswani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2011

A nice hotel to stay in Amritsar.Check in was slow and check out fast.Rooms are spacious and clean.Hotel is overall well maintained.Room service stupendous.Food is very good though a bit expensive as per Amritsar standards.Roof top Dazzle is one of a kind.Enjoyed my stay in the Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceasar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
4.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
3.5 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#6 of 112 in Amritsar
1,824 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#15 of 112 in Amritsar
544 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 112 in Amritsar
1,155 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#1 of 112 in Amritsar
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Merrion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Merrion

Address: Ranjit Avenue | 45 District Shopping Complex B-Block, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 112 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $66 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Merrion 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the central business district of the holy city of Amritsar, Best Western Merrion is an oasis of peace, Serenity and tranquillity. The hotel is located in the center of Ranjit Avenue with excellent accessibility to commercial districts and key corporate districts houses. The hotel offers its guests 40 well appointed and luxurious guest rooms along with Comprehensive business & Conferencing facilities. The Hotel offers a range of Dining Options including Roof top Pool Side BBQ, Round the Clock Coffee Shop, Multi-Cuisine Restaurant, Bar & Lounge and a Banquet Hall for large gatherings. The hotel can comfortably host up to 400 guests for banquet events with 3 conference & meeting rooms. The One- The Multi Cuisine Restaurant: Enjoy mouth watering delectable and authentic food at "The One." Designed with exquisite interiors and a calm relaxing ambiance, "The One" offers its patrons a memorable fine dining experience. Cup Lounge - Round The Clock Affair: Cup Lounge offers Round the Clock Service of Quick Bites for those racing against time and the a-la-carte menu also features Continental and Italian cuisines along with the must-have Indian dishes. Dazzle – Pool Side BBQ & Grill: Dazzle is an ideal place to relax by the pool side while enjoying the BBQ and beverages along with Live Music. Lava – Lounge Bar: Lava is the place to entertain and be entertained. Serving the finest selection of domestic and imported spirits with upbeat music and live-wire atmosphere, you will certainly be entertained. In Room Dining: If you don't believe in dress codes or are just not in the mood to dress up to dine out, just dial Room service. Our round the clock In Room dining allows you to kick back and relax in your room while we serve whatever it is that you are craving for in your room itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Merrion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing