We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Country Inn and Suites by Carlson in Amritsar served as a refuge to us after the tiring train ride from Delhi, the confusing search for a rickshaw to take us to the hotel from the train station and the chaos of the entire city. It was a delight to stay in this hotel after the iffy ones we stayed all over the country. After check-in, we were provided with cool, wet towels and then shown to our room. The room was clean, spacious and beautiful and has all the amenities (wifi, TV, tea and coffee maker, etc) as described in their website. The lunch and dinner buffets were excellent, too.

All members of staff were very professional and quick to respond to our needs and requests. They were very helpful in getting us rickshaw rides and in giving us directions to the nearby restaurants. The manager even booked us a taxi all the way to McLeod Ganj when we our waitlisted train ticket to Pathankot was not confirmed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muffled_solitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2013

Draft Complete





Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

It is a matter of delight and pride to receive such great reviews about your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar on TripAdvisor. Our warm, courteous and efficient staff and services, spacious and comfortable rooms, world class facilities and amenities and the delicious spread of food have always drawn compliments from our guests and to receive your compliments only reinforces our faith and pride in the same.

As a hotel striving to reach great heights we make every possible effort to satisfy and fulfil every wish of our guests and are happy to do so.

We would love to have you stay with us again and await an opportunity to be able to serve you soon.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

721 - 727 of 923 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is undoubtedly one of the best hotels in Amritsar.It is located in the centre of the city and all the places are easily accesible from here.The rooms are good and the stay was nice.The food is amazing and I loved the breakfast as well as dinner I had here.The staff is also veryu friendly and well informed.Thanks for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank navtej999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

We thank you for your kind words of appreciation about your stay at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar on TripAdvisor. The compliments that you have so kindly bestowed upon us have only caused us to redouble our efforts to achieve the highest standards of excellence and utmost satisfaction of our guests.

Our overall ambiance, convenient location, spacious and well lit rooms, delectable, sumptuous food and the friendly and efficient staff and services have always been appreciated; and your compliments about the same only strengthens our belief in the same.

We would love for you to come back soon and stay with us, giving us the much desired opportunity to be of assistance to you.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is my 3rd visit, (right now..today itself)and managment standards have gotten worse then expected..I had booked a room for myself and my wife and had unexpected guests by the time I was reachinh the hotel and requestes another superior room for the other guest while I was check-in...Even after repeatedly telling the deskin staff about the availability of the superior room online on club carlson reservation they forced me take the suite for almost the triple price when I booked earlier.... the online reservation is still available for the same and I am surprised I am still waiting for an answer from them after having complained them 2 hours back

I order a cosmopolitan and get a guavapolitan and the inroom dining guy says I cant replace, till I had to call thrice and complain about the same though he wasn't even ready to accept mistake. Y First trip was superb, this 3rd one was disappointing and imagine the fact I am still in the hotel waiting for a reply from them

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasjot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing the ever important feedback with us. It may not be as pleasant as the numerous others that we have been receiving, but it does serve the equally important purpose of helping us rectify the problem areas that may be a cause of dissatisfaction to our guests.

Please be assured that the feedback from our guests is of prime importance to us and we take every possible measure to rectify any issues that may need improvement. Hence we deeply regret any inconvenience that you may have felt during your stay with us.

However, we would like to state that the hotel’s interest is always in satisfying our guests to their utmost satisfaction. There is no reason why we would not give our guests any room that is available. In the unfortunate circumstance as you mention where the website is showing an available room, we humbly suggest you to make that booking and help us rectify our mistake on the spot. Furthermore, we would like to state that in the rare circumstance that we deliver a wrong order then we immediately replace the drink.

We would love to have you stay with us again and hope to be bale to serve you to the best of your satisfaction.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

Stayed here with my family for 3 nights from 18-01 to 21-01. The place was nice, rooms clean and tidy, food was good, room service was very good and the reception staff very helpful.

The best part about the stay was the location - very close by to the old city and the golden temple.

Only onezx negative no views from the room atleast on the 2nd floor where we were put up.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkv2good
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

It brings us much pleasure that you have taken time out to share your positive remarks about your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar on TripAdvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed our comfortable and carefully maintained rooms, scrumptious and delectable food, courteous and efficient staff and services and the highly convenient location of the hotel.

We regret your disappointment regarding the view and we would love to accommodate you on a higher floor with a better view the next time you visit us.

We hope to see you soon for a stay again with us at our hotel and be given an opportunity to take care of all your needs to the best of our abilities.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed at Country Inns on a recent trip to Amritsar to visit the Golden Temple with both sets of parents. The hotel was very clean and quiet, the rooms were spacious and modern and the service was impeccable. The complimentary breakfast was outstanding. More than anything, the staff was welcoming and went out of their way to make us feel at home. Their buffet lunch is a great value for money if one does not want to eat outside.

Indian hospitality at its best!

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very larges and easily accommodate 2 beds for without any problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank creamtea43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

As a hotel striving to be the best, your raving reviews about your recent stay with us at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar on TripAdvisor, brings in a lot of excitement and adds on to the enthusiasm we have to make our guests feel welcome here. It brings us great happiness that you have liked our spacious and well maintained rooms, the delicious food and charming and efficient staff and services.

It goes a long way to motivate us to put in yet more efforts, when we receive positive comments about our work. We would love to have you stay with us soon and would take the opportunity to help you experience the charm and luxury that staying with us means.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

The hotel is a chain hotels of Radisson group consisting of Radission, country suities, park plaza etc. The hotel is on Queens road and just 2.5 km from Golden Temple and nearby a busy market. The group has another hotel Radisson Blu, which is on The outskirts of Amritsar near the airport but away from the city. As its gets difficult to navigate at night in such places our preference was to live in the city. The property is under license from the Radisson group but owned & managed independently.

Depending upon the preference of each traveler, those who prefer to live in the middle of bustling city and wish to visit the Golden temple this hotel is a good choice. Good large rooms hence good for a family. The décor is old English style look and not the todays contemporary look as in Radisson Blu or lemon tree chain hotels etc. I booked this hotel for the convenience of being near the golden temple and for some shopping and as well as for look as it feels nice to have wood shades décor in winter to keep one warm. But if you have problems with noise etc then maybe you should checkout some other place as this is bang on a busy street. We had pre informed them of our arrival and they gave us a room on the second floor which was near the lift as I had aged parents with me. Check-in was smooth and they gave us hot towels and warm Kashmiri Kahwa as welcoming drink which was nice touch in winters. Though I would suggest management to use new towels as the hand towels were quite worn out.

Room service was good . Tea/Coffee/Milk were served within 10-15 minutes and we proper response in respect of extra towels, help with co-ordination with TV etc . They have a central heating system in winters which is pre-fixed at 20 degrees. However, if you wish you can call for extra blankets or the heaters/blowers if required.

Breakfast has limited menu in camparison to competitive hotels in similar range such as Ramada and Lemon Tree chains

I had forgotten to carry printout of my flight tickets and the reception guys were very cordial and provided me with the printouts. Would like to mention Inder & Mandeep at the reception who were very cordial when we arrived and also gave us a late checkout without much ado as our flight was in the evening. Thankyou staff I enjoyed my one day trip.

A suggestion for the management is to change the black dress of the staff. It looks too austere look to the staff which infact could be more relaxed smart casuals or may be formal greys/blues for the winter which would go with the country style decor of the hotel. Their dress makes them look unaproachable unless you have spoken to them and then you realise they are ready to serve you.

Suggestions for staff
- To smile more
- Though the staff can communicate in English they need to brush up on their English diction (pronunciations).
- Also suggest that they should tell their names when a guest calls them up and the new comers also should have a batch so you know who you are speaking too. For an Indian I was having difficulty remembering their names I am sure the foreigners must be finding it difficult as well.

For the management, -the property at places need to be brushed up otherwise it will soon look like a very old décor like the breakfast room spice ..good in winters but may not go well in summers. Rooms are good but one can make out that the property is crumbling at places unless restored on time. With Indian chains like Lemon Tree and Ramada, the price is bit on higher side for the same (slightly lower) level of services. But good for family.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shonaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

It brings us much happiness to know that you chose to stay with us at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar, and we thank you for taking time out to share your views on TripAdvisor. We are happy to know that you have noticed and liked the proximity of the hotel to Golden Temple, spacious and comfortable rooms, tasteful décor with a hint of colonial influence, warm, congenial and efficient staff and services.

I have conveyed your compliments to Inder and Mandeep and they are thrilled about it. As a hotel aiming to reach the greatest heights, we take special care of our guests in whatever big or small way possible, hence a hot welcome drink like the Kashmiri Kahwa, a little extra care in terms of room service in all aspects or printing out your flight tickets or even the late check-out was a gesture to make you feel comfortable and the whole environment and experience conducive.

Any feedback however trivial or critical is always taken on a high priority by us; hence we regret the disappointment you may have felt regarding the mix –up of names and the maintenance issues. Please be assured that as per your suggestions the management has implemented and conducted special trainings for the particulars listed by you. Also, we have taken note of the recommended areas of maintenance and have allocated maintenance jobs immediately, so that the next time you visit us, you would experience better comfort and services to meet your expectations with us.


We would love to welcome you back to stay with us soon and hope for an opportunity to be able to serve you yet again.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I stayed here thrice between Dec12 and Jan13. Must say, this is a wonderful property. Staff are friendly, rooms are great, complementary breakfast is sumptuous and free WIFI works efficiently. During my first visit, I stayed in a suite, that was lovely with a full bathroom and a spare toilet in the front room. The deluxe category rooms are just fine and comfortable. I had dinner in their restaurant and it was delicious. Overall this is a good Hotel to stay in.

Room Tip: All rooms are good but do not attempt to see through the window- nothing much to see or impressive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aylur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sumit G, Online Representative at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Dear Guest,

Namaskar, Greetings from Country Inn & Suites by Carlson, Amritsar!!

Thank you for your continued patronage and for sharing your positive comments about your stay with us at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Amritsar on TripAdvisor. We have always been appreciated by our guests for our friendly yet courteous & efficient staff and services, spacious and comfortable rooms, scrumptious and delicious food, international standards of facilities, amenities and housekeeping and your compliments reinforce our belief in being good at what we do.

We await your return to our hotel with great enthusiasm and hope to have an opportunity to serve you to your utmost satisfaction.

Warm Regards,
Sumit Goyal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
2.4 mi away
Hyatt Amritsar
Hyatt Amritsar
#6 of 99 in Amritsar
1,738 reviews
5.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
0.6 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 99 in Amritsar
1,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#5 of 99 in Amritsar
993 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#1 of 99 in Amritsar
906 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road

Address: Queens Road, Amritsar 143001, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $59 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing