We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you have no other options.”
Review of Hotel Merlot Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Merlot Inn
Ranked #18 of 140 Amritsar B&B and Inns
San Vitaliano, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Stay here if you have no other options.”
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I pity the person who says that this is an excellent hotel. Travelled on business and reached Amritsar late at night so have to check in a hotel anyhow. The driver took us to this hotel and we got 3 rooms, 2 suites and a room. The suite had 3 television, a huge bath tub but sadly very scanty hot water. The rooms had no windows and it was dark. The only functinal window in the room appears to be a fake! The less said about the breakfast the better. The condescension of the front desk reeks. Thank God we managed to shift to Country Inn the very next day. Not so surprising, our driver loved this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolomonBlah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    23
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
22
9
6
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked the hotel by checking coments from Online sites. The rooms were average. Worst was the service and attitude of the staff.
It took us 1 hour to get milk for children and that also after 5 reminder calls.
In the morning tea took 45 mins and that too was cold. The attitude of room service and house keeping was pathetic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Amritsar hotels

Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

I stayed in Amritsar last year on a a business visit to amritsar. I chose couple of hotels online but I prefer visiting the property before making any reservations as my trip was for around 7 days so I did not want to be stuck at a place I would not like.

I visited 3 hotels near queens road but did not find them good and worth the price. Finally I arrived at this hotel and though from the outside it does not seem that appealing but on entering the property you see that its neat clean and well maintained.

I saw couple of rooms and though the rooms did not have much view, they were clean and hygienic. The bathrooms were clean and the rooms were cozy with central air conditioning.

The hotel offered complimentary access to wifi. The buffet breakfast was good with a large spread and the food taste and quality is also commendable.

I think other than the poor view from the rooms, everything in this hotel is worth every penny spent. Highly recommended to everyone.

The location is very near to the golden temple, the jallianwala bag. railway station is about 2 km from here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swatibansal10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I think it is better to stay away from the temple location because [1] vehicles dont go all the way. so if you have luggage, you will have problems. so dont go by location of the temple. [2] there will be a lot of commotion and noise, which might bother the persons wanting a quiet rest.
This place is just 2 kms away (Rs 40-50) by auto and has basic amenities. Just basic.
Service was good. Breakfast buffet was decent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimeet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amritsar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good location for the train station, situated on a busy road but surprisingly inside the hotel and the rooms are very quiet. The Hotel is very clean and the rooms are cleaned every day. They do a good buffet Indian breakfast included, however they will provide alternatives if required. Staff very courteous and pleasant. Shower has been the best we have experienced so far, good spray and plenty of hot water, with soaps and shampoos provided.
Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Anthony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 8, 2013

nice hotel. we checked in at night and rooms are spacious. excellent location. most places are near by. restaurant is not that clean and really need to improve on breakfast. good service and price for money. thumbs up overall!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gauravankita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Had been to Conference , organiser suggested this hotel. Staffs are very good and humble, Rooms are clean & tidy, food is good & tastey, centrally placed , easy to access public transport, totally VALUE FOR MONEY

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sathyaprabha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.9 mi away
Hotel PR Residency
Hotel PR Residency
#15 of 97 in Amritsar
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
768 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 97 in Amritsar
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#5 of 97 in Amritsar
949 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Shiraz Regency
Hotel Shiraz Regency
#12 of 97 in Amritsar
560 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ritz Plaza
Hotel Ritz Plaza
#67 of 97 in Amritsar
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Merlot Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Merlot Inn

Property: Hotel Merlot Inn
Address: Queens Road | Near Crystal Chowk, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Hotel Khyber Continental)
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Merlot Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Merlot Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing