We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good but overpriced”
Review of Surjit Food Plaza

Surjit Food Plaza
Ranked #214 of 360 Restaurants in Amritsar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good but overpriced”
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I have visited this place... food was good but definitely not of wow kind..
In amritsar you will find much better taste.
Last but not least they are completely professional and their services is good.

Helpful?
Thank Kanchan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    29
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
delhi , india
Level Contributor
378 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“good taste well served , good service”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

taste was excellent for sohal fish , really liked the attitude and speed of service , great food , authentic taste of fish

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank suneetkamra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bharuch, Gujarat, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Not at all satisfactory”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Visited on 01/Jan /2014 around 4 pm.Although I was staying close to Airport I specially hired a cab to visit Surjit as I had seen a lot of positive reviews about it. I placed order of a fish Tikka masala and kadhai /tava Chicken two items highly recommended by many of the contributors.
The items took about 50 Mins to be served after being ordered.

Yes the owner makes the food himself,but he intervened about half an hour after his staff was not able to serve customers on any of the three occupied tables.

What reached us were two ordinary tasting dishes in very less quantity hardly enough for two ,the bill was prepared by hand and we were overcharged,when I pointed out the mistake the Waiter insisted that we had ordered the higher priced dish while I was finally able to convince him,he agreed that he had served the higher priced dish to another table.
The owner ,standing nearby had no idea whatsoever and did not apologise for the mistake, a normal practise which is followed whenever there is such mistake.

As per my experience nothing special about the hotel neither the Ambiance,nor the food,nor the service nor the Quality/Quantity of food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drakash73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food but overpriced”
Reviewed December 22, 2013 via mobile

Amidst the confusion of where to eat in Amritsar I found this place after reading some good reviews. The interiors are very simp,e and you feel like coming to a road side restaurant but the food is just mouth watering. We started with soups and it was one of the best we ever had. Then we ordered Kadai chicken as recommended by the owner and guys you will not regret the price paid for the taste. Everything cooked here was fresh and their kitchen is made in such a way that you can see the chef preparing your dishes. If you are in Amritsar then this is a must go place. You won't regret the price paid for such delicious food. Surjit is just 2 km from the railway station.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ankit g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Punjabi food!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Surjit is one of the few restaurants in Amritsar that serves authentic tandoori and Punjabi food, which has decent seating. The first time we went there, we were't too hungry. So we just ordered some tandoori chicken and fish tikka. They were so good that we ended up ordering more food -- and returning there for lunch the next day! Try the tandoori chicken, fish tikkas and mutton tikkas there, they were really excellent!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geetanjali555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surjit Food Plaza also viewed

Amritsar, Amritsar District
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 
Amritsar, Amritsar District
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 

Been to Surjit Food Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing