We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but pricey”
Review of Surjit Food Plaza

Surjit Food Plaza
Ranked #214 of 360 Restaurants in Amritsar
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food but pricey”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Went to this place after reading about it on Lonely Planet. Fantastic food: try the special fish, tandoori chicken, mutton tikkas, dal makhani......all finger lickable and delicious. The prices are quite steep though for the place. Very average decor and the hygiene ummmmm....the less said the better. Friendly service though. Will go back for sure.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank KMAR1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    37
    29
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
185 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Open air cooking”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Surjit Plaza serves great Punjabi food in a clean AC environment, while the cooks stand outside in the open air, cooking the food while smiling at the guests through a glass wall. They beckoned us outside to show off their cooking skills. It was entertaining and fun. The food was great too!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Stourton1582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
189 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“Wonder why the hype”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

Surjit is supposed to be the premier non-veg serving place in Amritsar. In-fact, we actually reserved a day and time in our schedule just to visit this restaurant. The lunch hours on a sunday had the place almost half empty. That should have been our first clue. But we still ordered the food which the server recommended.

Amritsari fish arrived in all it's oily and greasy glory, not worth a second look. The tandoori chicken was soft and tender, slithered in their patented in-house marination. Frankly it was probably the only saving grace. The main course of butter chicken again was nothing special or different from what you can get anywhere in India.

The serving time was long, the waiters were overwhelmed even by the sparse crowd. Overall it felt like a waste of time and money, karah prasad at Golden temple never tasted so sweet.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank VineetMalani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
76 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good For Nothing”
Reviewed April 7, 2012

After eating few veg meals in Amritsar we decided to go to Surjit Food Plaza to enjoy their so called non- veg preparations. So after spending Rs 100 on the auto we reached here. Initially I thought that it would be a small dhaba but it turned out to be the opposite. We ordered for their famous Tandoori Chicken and Fish Tikka for starters and Tawa Chicken( Suggested by the server) and Dal Makhani, paranthas and Tandoori Rotis. After thirty mins of waiting and shouting at the server , our food was on table. The Fish tikka was nothing else but fried pieces of fish which are available at every corner of Delhi. The Tandoori chicken was average and Tawa chicken tasted like a badly cooked home made chicken gravy. My mother cooks better far far better chicken then this.The rotis were uncooked and the dal makhani was tasteless. When we informed the owner abt this he very causally said, all such things keep on happening, it' s ok. Don't worry. This simply shows the inefficiently and unprofessional behavior. All in all it was a bad experience.
Surjit= Poor Management and bad food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ravneet249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“bad bad and worse”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

there is a vast difference in what surjit was and what surjit is in 7 years from now . The quality is turning bad and so is the cleanliness . Situated in the heart of the city that is the lawrence road , it could have done much better had it paid a little attention to the quality and the cleanliness , The tables are dirty and there is no linen and above all the staff keep screaming at each other

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank AnjaliKolkata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surjit Food Plaza also viewed

Amritsar, Amritsar District
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 
Amritsar, Amritsar District
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 
Amritsar, Amritsar District
 

Been to Surjit Food Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing