We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocking!”
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Amritsar
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Shocking!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Would never stay here again!
Staff and Management are very rude and unhelpful. Room are nothing special.

It took us nearly 4 hours to check in. While we were sat in the lobby for 4 hours no one even offered a glass of water.

I was so disappointed by the way we were treated I complained to the Hyatt head office.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pawandeep2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar and thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Firstly let me apologize for the poor impression we have made on you, this is certainly not the impression we would like to pass on to our guests. We are very disappointed to learn that our customer service experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered. I am sure you remember that we were not able to give you the rooms as you were not carrying your any valid identity cards which is a requirement as per government regulations. We did offer the room for ladies to rest until the identity cards would reach the hotel but the same was turned down.

I urge you to treat this experience in isolation and do hope you will visit us soon to serve you better. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Amritsar

Best Regards,


Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    558
    200
    65
    57
See reviews for
722
370
72
171
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

This place has Hyatt standards of service. The rooms are a bit on the small side but well appointed. The food is excellent and the staff are very helpful. My only problem with the place was that it didn't feel like I was in India, Some interior designer had decked the place out as Manhattan circa 1975. Turn your back on the windows and you could be anywhere in the world Go for the service not for the ambiance.

Room Tip: Rooms are small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Greetings from historic and culturally rich city of Amritsar!

We appreciate you taking time and reviewing the experience during your recent stay at Hyatt Amritsar.

We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable and memorable stay with us and found the location to be good and suiting your needs while my team looked after you during your short stay with us and the food was able to meet your taste buds. At the same time we have well noted your mention about the room size. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back and assuring you our best attention at all the times.

Best Regards,


Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

while the location is prime. ideally placed from golden temple and jallianwalla bagh, next to a shopping mall standing majestically to its brand name. however things change as u enter the hotel premises. the room was extremely small. disappointed b the size of rooms. too small to fit a family of three. furniture was wearing out. the swimming pool was a scare. extremely dirty with pigeons and pigeon feathers floating all round the place. amazing gym and spa. the breakfast and dinner spread was good though one had to ask again and again for the live kitchen food. plus the key card stops wrking randomly, the staff reported later to keep away from cell phones. and the staff could be more active during wee hours of the morning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamyP94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer

Warm Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar and thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us.

Firstly let me apologize for the poor impression we have made on you. This is certainly not the impression we would like to pass on to our guests. We are very disappointed to learn that our stay and customer service experience did not meet your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you encountered, although I can assure you that this is not typical of our otherwise high standards we aim to achieve.

At Hyatt, our associates are trained to provide our guests with authentic and impeccable service at all times and are nurtured under the core values of our company. However I understand that we did not come across to you in the same manner as per your feedback. I assure you that your feedback has been taken up with all concerned and would ensure that such instances do not reoccur.

I urge you to give us another opportunity to serve you better. The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Amritsar

Best Regards,


Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

We have to admit we are Hyatt Fans. We have stayed with them world over and especially multiple times at the Park Hyatt Goa. We love the way they treat their properties and patrons.
Irrespective of whether you are in Africa, South East Asia, Americas or South Asia(India Included), Hyatt properties are a cut above the rest and they are indeed one of the best in luxury and attention to detail.

We checked in on Friday and stayed for 2 nights. The rooms are a little small compared to some of their other properties around but we had taken 2 connecting rooms on the 18th floor and hence did not feel the pressure of space. The food is good but we did most meals outside except for breakfast.

The service is world class and prompt. There is a very high level of understanding of customer needs and preferences. We needed some medicine urgently at about 4 AM and we got it in less than 15 minutes. Staff is resourceful and caring.

Everything was perfect except they did not have TV channels tuned for the Soccer World Cup 2014. I missed two key matches. My family was thrilled though as they had my full attention all the time.

Hyatt Amritsar is an awesome place to stay. Thank you for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Top Floor, City View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KD_246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

We appreciate you taking time and reviewing the experience during your recent stay at Hyatt Amritsar.
We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable and memorable stay with us and the associates to be courteous and helpful especially when you needed the medicines. However, we are terribly disappointed to know that you missed out on your favourite soccer matches. The same has been well noted and we have an opportunity to analyse and come up with solutions in the best interest of our guests. At the same time we thank you for recommending Hyatt Amritsar through this platform.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon to Hyatt Amritsar during your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okehampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The previous hotel stay in Varanasi had spoilt us and although this was an above average hotel it paled by comparison. The major benefit is that it is close to the Golden Temple and the Wagah Border for the flag ceremony which has to be a must when staying here. We occupied an executive suite that certainly just met our expectation and seemed somewhat inadequate after the welcome from management when we arrived and again when we left. All the breakfast meals were adequate and service was good, however on returning to the hotel on the first night could not enter our room, Going back down to reception, we ascertained that they had failed to activate the entry card and you should consider requesting two cards.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesdean25745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

We appreciate you taking time and sharing the experience about your recent stay at Hyatt Amritsar. Am pleased to hear that you found the location to be good, Executive suite made you feel comfortable and met your expectations. We are also happy to hear that the breakfast was as per your liking and the team took good care of you. At the same time we are terribly disappointed to know that we were unable to leave an impact during your stay with the key card not working when you returned back to the hotel which could have been on account of the key coming in close contact with a magnetic field. We sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you and your accompanied traveler.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure of a much better overall experience at Hyatt Amritsar

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014

Super Property at a great location with very comfortable rooms and breakfast. Had been to Amritsar to visit the Golden Temple and Wagah border as other than that and the Jalianwala baug there is not much to see in Amritsar.
Very professional staff at the check in as well as restaurant. When we sat for breakfast, my daughters chair was creaking and making a noise and the staff quickly changed the chair and was very apologetic for the same, the check in and check out process was very quick and professional and that is what impresses me of the Hyatt always.
Biggest plus is the property is adjoining a Mall and when you have a daughter who is a Mall addict, I think I made the right choice, the Golden Temple is also just 10 mins drive from the hotel and they have a pick up and drop facility which is much appreciated.
Their pool is great for a dip and since we were there in the summer we got to use it only for one evening.

Room Tip: Stayed in the suite which was quite large for a family of 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABgroup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

We appreciate you taking time and reviewing the experience during your recent stay at Hyatt Amritsar. We are pleased to know that you had a comfortable and memorable stay with us and found the location to be good and suiting your needs. We thank you for the words of appreciation for our hotel and the service team

We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Hyatt Amritsar

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
93 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Amazing property. Great location.
We went without booking. The staff asked us to wait so that they could confirm availability. Once the check-outs were done, we were provided a room as quickly as they could. Great service and professionalism. They did not over charge because we were in need!
The property is next to the Mall which adds a good twist to it! Not too far from the Golden Temple. You can take the hotel service or walk out and hire an autorickshaw. Just that simple!
Food is amazing. You can have it at the hotel or in the mall next to it.

Room Tip: - Book in advance and you cold get a really good deal. - If you want to hire an autorickshaw, walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prantapkalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Dear Valued Reviewer

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked the convenient location of the hotel, overall quality of accommodation, your dining experience and the service extended by our associates around the hotel.

We once again thank you for your feedback and sincerely look forward to welcoming you again at Hyatt Amritsar during your next visit to the city.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
8.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
1.9 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 97 in Amritsar
1,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 97 in Amritsar
142 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#5 of 97 in Amritsar
949 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Property: Hyatt Amritsar
Address: G T Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
#10 Family Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing