We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Responsive staff”
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Amritsar
Ranked #6 of 114 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 2, 2014

My family and I travelled to Amritsar on the morning train and only had 30 minutes to check in, arrange a car and depart for the Waggah Border Ceremony. The Hyatt Staff expedited our check in and arranged a car on very short notice. The level of care was exceptional! The suites offer great views of the city and Golden temple in the distance. Breakfast in the morning was delicious and clean.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grant183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time to share your feedback. I am happy to hear that you were able to attend the Wagah border ceremony. I am elated to note that my team looked after you well and the breakfast was able to meet your taste buds.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,641 - 1,647 of 1,861 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2014

In one-line, it was not a 'Hyatt' experience!!! Our room was extremely small even to adjust two guests with decent(a suitcase & bag-pack) luggage. Television was not working on the first day. Essentials were missing from the loo (staff actually told us they do not keep stuff like body wash, moisturiser Like really? That's pretty unlike any other Hyatt). In our 2-day stay, we had to run back repeatedly to the reception to get the room keys unlocked.

Good points : Breakfast layout was good, covered continental to north -south India. Much scope of improving Non-vegetarian platter for the guests.Courteous & pleasing staff. Well-managed conference.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuhiDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am sorry to learn that you faced the inconvenience during your stay with us. We do place soap, bath gel, shampoo, conditioner, moisturizer in all our rooms as the basic amenity. I assure you that your feedback has been taken very seriously and the concerned department head has been spoken to. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience caused because of the room key too, the key being an electronically programmed if kept with a mobile phone does not work at times. With reference to your feedback on non-vegetarian platter request you to share some more details with us by sending us a mail on amritsar.hyatthotels@hyatt.com
Once again, we apologize for the inconvenience caused to you and assure you that your recent experience was certainly not reflective of our usual service standards for which we are known. I request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to serve you better, this time.

Looking forward to hearing from you and welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here on my one night in Amritsar on the 12th/13th of Jan.

fantastic hotel - despite being a walk in - was well looked after, had many things included and had an excellent stay. Free hotel shuttle to the Golden temple was really useful, Wifi included was also good - but unfortunately couldn't be used in the rooms, so had to walk down to the lobby frequently.

Rooms were fantastic, equipped with a cool control panel that takes a while to figure out how to turn the lights off. Breakfast was also excellent - full buffet breakfast, very filling.

Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Declan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am happy to hear that that you enjoyed your stay and the team looked after you well, your feedback is quite motivating for the team and pleasure to share that the compliments have been passed on to the chef as the breakfast was able to meet your taste buds.
We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

If you happen to be in Amritsar for business or leisure then probably you would love to stay at Hyatt. Hyatt is one of the best hotels in Amritsar that has many things to offer such as well appointed rooms, multi cuisine food, pool, Spa and other comforts.

The Golden temple, Jallianwala Bagh, Durgiana Temple, Railway station and Airport are all about 10-30 minutes drive away from Hyatt. And the Wagah border is about 30 kilometres away. Apart from historic wonders, the hotel is adjoining to Alpha one city centre mall where one could have a nice stroll along with some shopping and can taste varieties of other foods in the food court.

Overall, the stay was comfortable- though the rooms are relatively small, very good view from 18th Floor- means higher the better, food was delicious, staff and service was good but it takes more time while you are checking out so inform them well in advance about your departure.

Room Tip: Rooms on the left side (facing hotel) gives a better view and higher the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Inderpreet1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
Greeting from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am elated to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. I am glad that you found hotel’s location to be favorable, your feedback pertaining to various aspects of the hotel is quite inspiring for my team. We have made a note on the feedback about check out and will have the same addressed with the team to ensure that there is no delay in future with any of our guests.
We do hope you visit us again as we look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

The hotel is adjacent to a mall and around 15 minutes drive from the Golden Temple.

Stayed with family. The rooms are very small and the washroom door opens right in front of the bed. The toiletries are basic... don't forget to carry your own toothpaste...

The reason for our disappointment was basically the high expectations from the Hyatt brand.

And yes.. In case you require an extra bed in the room, they will allow that at an extra charge. There is no cot provided, just a mattress on the floor. We did not know this till we had checked in, otherwise we would have selected a different place.

The staff is efficient and friendly... checkin and checkout is quick.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kguneet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am sorry to learn that you did not have a comfortable stay with us. Your feedback with regards to the room size and the extra bed have been noted. We have limited number of roll away beds and apologize as the same was not available during your stay with us. The point highlighted by you pertaining to the toothpaste is quite disconcerting and we sincerely apologise for the same, I would like to assure you that your recent experience was certainly not reflective of our usual service standards for which we are known for. I request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to serve you better, this time. I am glad to note that you found my team to be quite efficient.

I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Excellent service from all staff from reception to waiters. Across the hotel is a mall where we shopped until 9pm and the Golden Temple is very near as well. The hotel also provided a first aid kit on request and the check in/out service was quick and efficient. The staff made us feel very cared for especially when our flights were delayed due to fog.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranjeetha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am elated to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest feel comfortable and memorable. I am happy to note that my team looked after you very well during your short stay with us and assisted in the hour of need. It is also a pleasure to note that the location of the hotel was found to be favorable by you.

We look forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here when we first landed in India. Very nice hotel, excellent service. Delicious buffet breakfast. Right next to a mid-sized mall (don't even have to cross the street!), so very convenient location. Short drive to Golden Temple.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leena2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

We thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are elated to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback pertaining to various aspect of the hotel is quite motivating for my team.

Looking forward to welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.


Best Regards,


Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
3.3 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 114 in Amritsar
244 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 114 in Amritsar
1,188 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#1 of 114 in Amritsar
1,204 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield by Marriott Amritsar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Address: G T Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range: $82 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing