We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs to improve” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Amritsar
Ranked #9 of 96 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Needs to improve”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was our second visit to Amritsar, we stayed at the same property 2 years back when it was under the brand name of Ista hotels. Our first stay was exceptional however we were very disappointed with the food quality and the overall service on our second visit under the new brand-Hyatt. The hotel was doing 100% occupancy during the weekend and the staff at the reception were hardly able to manage the guests. The breakfast was horrible, food quality was bad. The live stations never had a chef in place and we had to wait for at least 10-15 minutes for everything so that the waiter could run to the kitchen and get the chef to the live station counter and prepare the order. The toiletries were of inferior quality. We would leave the hotel at 11 am and return by 2pm only to find that the room had not been cleaned., this is not what you would expect from a brand like Hyatt. The only advantage this property has is the mall situated in the same compound which make life easy as it has a good food court and all basic amenities are available next door. we will definitely consider other options for our next stay in Amritsar, this hotel needs a lot of improvement to match its brand image.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjay a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us once again and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am disappointed to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback has been noted and discussed with the concerned and I assure you that you will have a better experience upon your next stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back .

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    646
    527
    184
    59
    51
See reviews for
652
346
67
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This hotel certainly had all amenities one would expect in a Hyatt except for the lack of WiFi in the rooms. This can be had in the lobby and the staff are keen to help with that. The food and service in the ground-floor restaurant were very good - we ate there both days of our stay. The one problem we did have was what seemed like some sort of family party going on in the room next to ours. From 11pm to 12.45am we were subjected to the noise of children screaming and yelling, adults talking in loud voices and doors slamming. I eventually phoned reception and asked them to help which they said they'd do. However, the racket made by room-service at 12.30am when they arrived to refresh the energetic party people just added to the annoyance. I realise that it is very difficult for the hotel management to control the behaviour of inconsiderate guests but to have sleep interrupted like this is unacceptable.

Room Tip: I obviously failed on that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moiquise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. Your feedback with regards to the noise has been well noted and would like to assure you that we will take necessary steps to ensure such incident is not be repeated with any of our guests in the future. Pertaining to the wifi would like to share that we are working towards getting the services activated in our rooms soon. Request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you our best service at all the times.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
57 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Checked on Saturday at 3 pm. Checking was not smooth by any standard. Checkin time of this hotel is 2 PM where as even at 3 room was not ready and we were made to wait. The room allocated was like a matchbox. small is an understatement. the bed is less than a feet from the room door. The view from the Room I got was windows of rooms on the adjoining wing of the hotel. whoever was occupying the other room could easily see into our room so had to keep the curtains drawn the whole time we were in the hotel which made staying in the room very gloomy. the coffee shop was a nightmare. We had 1 breakfast and 2 dinners on a 2 night 3 day stay. Both dinners were below average. 1dst night the flavour was just not good. 2nd night my wife found a chicken salad tagged as vegetarian. this is not done in a country like India. 3 rd day morning ordered tea and breakfast in the room. the parathas were nice but the thermos in which the tea was served had a leak. while serving the tea initially thought I am making some mistake but later realized that the thermos has a leak. the entire table in the room was a mess.
i dont think i will ever stay here again. there are options in amritsar like Holiday inn which I am sure are better than this place.

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the main road and not the back side of the hotel. insist on the same as the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vishalj1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time to share your valuable feedback.
I am sorry to learn that you did not have a comfortable stay with us and for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. The points highlighted by you are understandably quite disconcerting. I have taken a careful note of your comments and have initiated the necessary steps to ensure that such incidents are not duplicated with any of our guests in future. I assure you that your recent experience was certainly not reflective of our usual service standards for which we are known for. We hope you give us an opportunity to serve you better this time.

I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cartagena, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

What breath of fresh air in India, a hotel with staff trained and empowered to do things that make your stay better. On arrival we queried the fact that there was no free WiFi and we pointed out to a member of the staff Tarandeep Singh that we had just read an article in a magazine saying that free WiFi was available at Hyatt Hotels. He said he would get it organised free of charge and brought a router to our room, fantastic service. The rooms are modern and comfortable beds tea and coffee making facilities. A little noisy and you can hear people in the corridors.
The location is great right next to a large Shopping Mall with a food court.
The hotel restaurant was excellent very good food and excellent service we had dinner one night and it was very good, the buffet breakfast is very very good with a great selection on Western and Indian dishes.
The staff here are well trained and helpful a special comment for Tarandeep Singh a very caring and helpful member of staff 5*

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am really glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay memorable and comfortable. We are delighted to read your feedback on various aspects of the hotel and are glad to note that you had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay memorable. Your compliments have been passed on to Tarandeep Singh from Front Office whom you felt deserved recognition for the services provided to you during your short stay with us.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best services at all the times.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
260 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights.
Didn't like their wifi approach; a) you have to buy which I wouldn't even mind that much. But say you bought an hour you have to use it straight away. You can't just stop after a while and use the remainder later. Very annoying if you just want to quickly check something. Also, wifi only works in the lobby. Was told they are working on extending it to the rooms.
Room was nice with everything one needs.
Breakfast buffet the usual affair. Lunches/dinners were good.
All the staff always very friendly.
They have a thrice daily shuttle bus to the golden temple.
The alphaone shopping center next door boosts a hypermarket where you'll find everything you'll need.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank A_Blue_Sea_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services, I am glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback with regards to the wifi has been noted and we are working on providing wifi in the rooms soon.
We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you our best attention at all the times.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2013

A staying in a hotel is great if you feel sad when you leave the place. Hyatt in Amritsar is a very new hotel with a great facilities. Food is excelent and the price is worth for a 5 stars. The rooms are not very big, but with alot of light and well equiped. Staff is friendly and professional at the same time... helping and giving an excellent service. I hope to come back soon in the future but with more time, to enjoy the city and of course Haytt Amritsar.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FernandoAldeguer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest stay comfortable and memorable. Your compliments have been passed on to the chef and his team.
We look forward to welcoming you back and assure you our best attention at all the times.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
222 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights in Hyatt Amritsar and we have only praise to say. To start with, the main restaurant: the food is excellent and the service of the staff is even better. Best complements to Chef de Cuisine, Mr Manohar Devandi who made some of the best dishes we had in India and made us very happy to stay in Hyatt Amritsar. The room are very clean and comfortable and the hotel staff was helpful and very polite.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which is not to the side of the mall. It is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Itzhak Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am glad to note that you had a great stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay comfortable and memorable. Your compliments have been passed on to the team and to Chef Manohar Devandi whom you felt deserved recognition for the services provided to you during your short stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back and assure our best attention at all the times.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
5.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
0.5 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#6 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 96 in Amritsar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel City Park Amritsar
Hotel City Park Amritsar
#19 of 96 in Amritsar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Property: Hyatt Amritsar
Address: G T Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#5 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
#10 Family Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hyatt Hotels Corporation so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing