We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in town”
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Amritsar
Ranked #8 of 97 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best in town”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Familiar hotel, new name/brand. The rooms are comfortable, and we were provided connecting rooms as requested. The breakfast spread was a s good as ever. The rooms are not very large, but they are well-equipped and comfortable. Bathroom amenities could be improved to Hyatt standards.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sksManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest’ stay comfortable and memorable. Your feedback with regards to the bathroom amenities has been well noted.
We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best attention at all the times.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,614 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    726
    563
    201
    66
    58
See reviews for
735
373
73
173
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Pros - Fairly modern, nice pool, good breakfast, friendly staff
Cons - Tiny rooms with tiny beds, no wi-fi in rooms, fuzzy cable TV, early check-in wasn't available on our visit although pre-requested, business center not equipped with a printer

Location is right on a busy highway next to a modern shopping mall. By car it's 15 minutes from the drop-off for the Golden Temple, 20 minutes from the airport, 30 minutes from the Wagah Border.

Room Tip: Ask for a wi-fi router to be installed in your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank defaultusername123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guest’s stay comfortable mad memorable. I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and found my team to be quite friendly. The points mentioned by you have been noted and discussed with the people concerned.

We look forward to welcoming you back and assuring you our best services at all the times.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Excellent service and helpful staff. Few minor problems like we were not informed that our car was waiting and we were late for our Wagah trip. Good food. Rooms are a bit small as compared to rooms in other Hyatt hotels across India. The breakfast spread is really nice.

Room Tip: Take the Higher floors - 18 & above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pankaj08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, October 19, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. My team is glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay comfortable and memorable. I apologise on behalf of Avis team who handles the transport for or guests and assure you that the same will be taken up with them immediately and ensure that such an incident will not be repeated with any of our esteemed guests in the future.

We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best services at all the times.

Best Regards


Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I love this hotel and have stayed here twice, but wish it were closer to the attractions in Amritsar. The rooms are beautiful, service is great, and the food is delicious. I've tried breakfast, dinner buffet, and room service and enjoyed all of the meals. I hope since they have changed to Hyatt that things haven't changed. I hope to come back someday.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are delighted to read your feedback on various aspects of the hotel and at the same time have made a note of your feedback and will surely have the same worked upon. We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best services at all the times.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in late Septermber and was impresed with the very stylish decor, beatifull swimming pool area, great breakfast and the staff were very effecient especially when I couldnt get my Mobile Phone/email to function and they went out of their wayu to sort it for me . We had driven up (8 hours in a car )from Delhi and as my back was hurting decided to use their Spa which was exceptional and I came out feeling like a new person.
A good hotel and would stay there again when next in Amritzar.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sofa16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. My team is glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay comfortable and memorable. We are delighted to read your feedback on various aspects of the hotel and at the same glad that we were able to assist you while meeting expactations. We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best services at all the times.

I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.


Best Regards


Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Hotel staff is very well behaved and Its a very nice hotel. The room and the bathroom all were very nice and comfortable. The breakfast was also lavish and too good. Nice swimming pool deck and also a mall adjacent to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jasjot33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Guest

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. My team is glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us as it is our constant endeavor to make our guests stay comfortable and memorable. We are delighted to read your comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to meet your expectations. We look forward to the pleasure of your continued visits and assure you of our best services at all the times.

I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards


Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This was our fourth visit to the property, but the first since the Hyatt took over. We've had very comfortable stays whilst it was under the Ista banner - and Hyatt has been able to maintain the high standards of personalized service.

Check in was comfortable. The staff at the front desk was working to upgrade our rooms and suggested we go across to the coffee shop to have some refreshments and breakfast whilst they did so. The air conditioning in the coffee shop was not really effective, and this is something I have experienced during my previous stays as well.

We got very nice rooms and the house keeping and room service staff was responsive, efficient and very prompt. The rooms are well equipped and very comfortable. The front desk was quick to respond to anything we asked for or about.

At 4.30 we headed for a spa, and that was a bit of a disappointment. There was a gentleman at the counter. After making us fill the standard forms, he escorted my husband towards his massage room. As I was having a scrub, he said we would need to be in separate rooms and I would need to wait. After about 5 minutes he walked me to the ladies changing rooms, came in, opened the lockers and casually explained the dress protocol for my treatment. I found that most disturbing- for one the male staff should have absolutely no access to a ladies changing room, for another I certainly don't want a man running me through the process. This is something the hotel needs to address on priority. The treatment was satisfactory and the room and facilities were comfortable. After the treatment finished however I was required to take a shower in the shower stall in the room. Despite waiting for 10 minutes there was no water in the shower. I was then lead back to the ladies changing room where I prayed the gentleman from the counter would not saunter in again and thankfully he didn't. After changing I went and sat outside waiting for my husband to complete his treatment. I assumed I'd have a cup of herbal tea in the interim. After 5 minutes when no one offered the same, I asked if they serve it, to which he replied in the affirmative and fetched me a cup. Clearly the regular staff on the counter was on a break, and this kind and gentle soul was trying to do the best he could, but this is not an acceptable stand by option. I do also want to mention however that whilst I was waiting after my treatment, an engineer and my therapist both came up to me to apologize for the unprecedented water problem, and I am inclined to believe this was a one off thing that probably dies not happen often.

Dinner at the Chinese restaurant was very good. The staff were extremely hospitable and good, and when we mentioned the pork they had recommended wasn't very nice ( everything else was delicious) they knocked 20% off our bill which I thought was a very nice gesture.

The next morning we headed to the Golden Temple through the hotel's shuttle service at 3.15 a.m. In fact the temple visit was really the sole purpose of our visit to Amritsar. The coach dropped us off at 3.45 and said it would be returning to the hotel at 5.30. When we entered the temple there must have been 3000 people or more. There was just no possible way to enter the shrine and be back in the time slot given, so not just us, but nobody from the hotel who had travelled with us were able to get darshan. There seemed to have been some ongoing or upcoming festival which was responsible for such an unusually large crowd so early in the morning, and it would have been useful information for the hotel to have been able to provide us with so as to avoid disappointment .

Another aspect worth considering is that given that the shuttle gets back to the hotel at 5.45-6, and that a large number of hotel guests do infact make this visit to the Golden Temple, it would be convenient for the guests if the hotel started breakfast service at 6, like a lot of other hotels do. Breakfast however, starts at 7, which means either you go to sleep and forget about breakfast, or struggle to stay awake an extra hour or sleep for just a bit and wake up again to get in time for breakfast before it closes.

The spread and service at breakfast was good. We had someone ( I think it was the Duty Manager) come up and ask us about our feedback which he took very graciously. He was very helpful and extremely courteous, almost made us feel guilty about complaining about any of the above.

I have to say despite the glitches, which I have illustrated because I believe this could really be a superlative property if they took care of these tiny details, we had a very comfortable and hospitable experience, and I look forward to revisiting very soon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnjaliKhosla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear Mrs. Khosla,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am sorry to learn that you did not enjoy your stay with us . I am extremely sorry for the poor experience that you had during your stay .
The points highlighted by you are understandably quite disconcerting. I have taken a careful note of your comments and have initiated the necessary steps to ensure that such incidents are not duplicated with any of our guests in future. I assure you that your recent experience was certainly not reflective of our usual service standards for which we are known for .
I request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to serve you better, this time.
I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Apologies once again.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
8.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
1.9 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 97 in Amritsar
1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 97 in Amritsar
155 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#6 of 97 in Amritsar
962 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 97 in Amritsar
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Property: Hyatt Amritsar
Address: G T Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
#10 Family Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing