We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Hotel with Hang-ups and lots of ridiculous 'Can't dos'”
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Amritsar
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Hotel with Hang-ups and lots of ridiculous 'Can't dos'”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

The Hyatt in the recent past has bought out the old Ista and is now running the Hotel under the name of Hyatt, Amritsar. The glorious days of great service and an always smiling Ista staff are well past.

The hotel does have hang-ups and the staff is not particularly friendly. The Hyatt runs less by its staff and more by a 'book of rules', which is awfully strange for the hospitality and service industry.

The front desk is slow and sluggish during check-in. The executives manning the front office are busy and don't have time for you. Allow for a minimum of 20-25 minutes for check in. Forget a glass of water the staff won't even acknowledge your presence for the first 10-15 minutes during check in. I had my first run-in with the staff when they refused an early check-in which was confirmed by the Hyatt Amritsar an evening before. They were not willing to even agree to the fact that someone at Hyatt Amritsar had committed to an early check in. After several rounds of back and forth with the travel agent, arguments we managed to get a check in which was about an hour earlier than norm. All this while my wife and child were waiting patiently at the reception after an early morning flight to Amritsar.

The ambience at the Hyatt is drab- all brown and dreary. The corridors leading to your room/s are stuffy and non-air conditioned.

The hotel is not particularly friendly to families!!! They have an open lounge bar adjacent to the reception area. The lounge bar is not frequented by many except for guests who are staying at the hotel. I was travelling with my wife and 7 year old and after we ordered our drinks, we were curtly told by the bartender that children are not permitted. While I do understand that children are usually not permitted in bar areas, this bar was really an extension of the reception area (an open plan)and it does not play loud music. My wife and I had to speak to by son and ask him to leave the area. We were stuck with our drinks eager to finish so as to get back to my son. In the meantime my son was getting more and more frantic with the temporary separation. While rules need to be followed, application of rules need good judgement which is totally lacking at the Hyatt, Amritsar. The bartender could see that the child was comfortable without his parents but didn't even suggest a solution. I asked him if we could carry our drinks to the reception area since the lounge is really an extension of the same area. He flatly refused saying it was not permitted. Well guess what Hyatt Amritsar, the dont dos are fine but you need to come up with solutions and workarounds!!! It was a waste of time and money sitting at the bar as we couldn't really enjoy ourselves constantly looking out for our boy. As a result we never visited the bar again during our stay at the Hyatt Amritsar.

The first day we asked for water and we learnt that the Hyatt for some strange reason doesn't give you more than four 500 ml bottles of water a day. The fifth bottle onwards is payable. For a hotel that charges the rates it does this is absolutely insane to say the least.

The swimming pool on the 1st floor is a laugh. It's hardly a swimming pool. I've seen small swimming pools in hotels but this is miniature. So, if you think you going to spend some great time with your loved ones at the pool side- forget it! Don't even carry your trunks, its a waste if you have already committed yourself to the Hyatt Amritsar.

Make no mistake the happy days of Ista are well past. This hotel is rumoured to be run in collaboration with a local politician who visits the hotel frequently. This too inconveniences your family because the hotel staff is absolutely 'dogged' about security. We must have entered and exited the Hyatt premises at least 18-20 times during our stay and they checked are baggage and did a thorough scan each time. For a family that is staying at the Hyatt, I felt it was excessive. The tight security is possibly an outcome of the politican's frequent visits. And as always the one thing you can count on the Hyatt for; is the 'application of rules' without judicious reasoning. The security at the front door won't take into account that you are travelling with a family and living at the Hyatt, they'll go ahead and scan you and open your baggage, ladies handbags, mobile handsets, run laptop bags through X-ray scanners, the works each time you enter the Hyatt, Amritsar.

Lastly, we has to catch a train at 5 in the morning and unfortunately we could get the cities Mega Cabs to send us a taxi. They were all booked for the the morning. The rates for the distance from Hyatt to the Railway Station (about 4 kilometers- places in Amritsar are close by) varied between Rupees 350-500/- including night/ early morning charges. The Hyatt got us a cab for a whopping Rupees 920/-. We told them of the prevailing rates but as usually you can count on the Hyatt front desk to be opaque and impervious to what you say.

A hotel of repute never overcharges it's guests especially when it comes to services which are not a part of their core business. Infact, top hotels are usually protective about their guests. However, logic doesn't prevail at the Hyatt, Amritsar all that prevails is the 'drill of duty' and 'following that infamous book of rules' like a battalion in an army. The Hyatt actually over charged us for the cab and the reason was that the Hyatt gets a huge commission from the cab stand they call from. They are out to fleece you and they the don't care attitude is really apparent and in your face.

A word of praise for Kunal Moudgil the front desk manager who did concede and give us that ...well somewhat early check-in. Kunal is the only 'saving grace'.

The rooms are tiny, even smaller than the rooms at Hyatt Mumbai...so you can imagine. It is cramped if you are travelling with your family. Having said that the rooms are comfortable and the air conditioning works. The breakfast is decent, quite good but not the best! I guess its good for Amritsar standards. The room service is efficient, polite, intuitive and willing to oblidge- some rub-off from the Ista days I guess.

I wouldn't recommend the Hyatt, Amritsar. Chose it as your last resort. The Blu Radisson will be way better!

Room Tip: Take the rooms on the higher floors floor 18 and above. Take the rooms facing the back. They are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Siddhartha555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time to share your feedback. I am extremely sorry for the poor experience that you had during your stay and have taken a carefully note of the feedback you have shared pertaining to the arrival experience, service at the lounge bar and the overall experience you had with us. We would like to share with you that we have initiated necessary training and steps to ensure that such incidents are not duplicated with any of our guests in future. This includes staff member at the check in who should have been accomodating at the time of check in, staff at the lobby bar who should have informed you that children below 18 years of age are not permitted inside the bar at the time of taking the order itself and should have suggested the multi cuisine restaurant.
Thank you for your special words of appreciation for Kunal, the same has been shared with him.
We deeply regret that we fell short in our service and were unable to provide you with the experience we pride ourselves on.
I request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to serve you better, this time.
We all at Hyatt Amritsar look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    574
    205
    66
    60
See reviews for
752
381
73
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The only reason to choose the Hyatt in Amritsar is the lack of better options. The Hyatt itself is fine enough -- decent and reasonably priced buffets, small but clean rooms. Service from the restaurant is polite but inefficient: a milk order took 20 minutes, even as we were offered the orders from another table. Service from the front desk is disappointing: it took 4 conversations over 2 days, each of which ended up with "we'll take care of it right away" to get an extra child's bed in our room. We would get unwanted calls offering luggage service we had not asked for. Again, the alternatives are not great, but this does not make this hotel good.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RavenousFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am sorry to learn that you did not have a comfortable stay with us .Your feedback with regards to the service at the Front Office and at the restaurant being inefficient have been noted and discussed with the concerned people elaborately. I ensure you that such an incident will not be repeated with any of our esteemed guests.
I would request you to give us another chance for making up for this experience of yours. I assure you that you will surely have a better experience.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for one night. The price charged for size of room is high for the small city. Everything is on demand! Lounge restaurant is good but Main restaurant was unbearable due to smoke of frying in ghee!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dineshdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in sharing your feedback. The points highlighted by you pertaining to the room price and the fumes emitted out of frying have been well noted and discussed with the concerned team members. I assure you that we will take necessary steps to ensure to our guests do not experience this inconvenience. Request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again.

I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,


Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hyatt (prevuously ista) is excellently located hotel, right in the beginning of Amritsar and pretty decent property. The hotel remains mostly occupied with more preference than Radisson purely bcos of its location. Its very close to the Golden Temple (hardly 15-20) minutes and also right adjacent to a very good mall having lotsa shopping, eating options, spa, kids entertainment etc. The rooms are very small but very attractively priced. The bathrooms are excellent, everything very very clean, spic n span! The thai restaurant has very good food, thought slightly on the expensive side considering its Amritsar. The breakfast is good too. There is a vey nicely made spa but on a friends recommendation i tried the spa in the adjacent mall, which had an excellent treatment! You will get better price for the room on tripadvisor, hotels, expedia etc as the hotel front desk doesnt have the authority to give you better rates or they dont want to as they remain mostly occupied! So better take the online option for booking it. The front desk is mostly crowded, so plan atleast 15 minutes extra for check out. I faced some problem at the front desk regarding rates but it was sorted out in 10-15 minutes. These issues are better resolved at check-in and shuold be avoided at check out, so the staff needs to be more attentive and responsible during check-in and not procastinate issues. Overall a very nice property!

Room Tip: Suites are available but not worth the money. I am not sure if the hotel has adjoining rooms if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vineet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on. It is our constant endeavor to make our esteemed guests stay memorable. Pertaining to your comment on the pricing for the room would like to share that the rates online as well as at the front desk are the same. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you at the time of check in. Also would like to assure you that necessary steps will be taken to ensure that such incidents are not duplicated with any of our guests in future. I have taken a careful note of your comment on the Thai Chi pricing and will look into the same. We deeply regret that we fell short in our service and were unable to provide you with the experience we pride ourselves on.
I request you to give another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to serve you better, this time.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for one night and it was a pretty decent stay other than the fact that the rooms were awfully small.

The hotel is ideally located, and there is also a mall at walking distance . Though "Hall Bazaar" really is the place to shop in Amritsar. The tip: Haggle hard :)

The reception staff at Hyatt was courteous but the in room dining staff was exceptionally responsive and kind. Overall we had a decent stay with family and would love to stay there again provided they have rooms with a little more leg space and not the size of basic business hotels at the price of a 5 star stay in Amritsar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archanavohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on. It is our constant endeavor to make our esteemed guests feel comfortable. I am glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback on various aspects of our hotel is quite inspiring. Your compliments have been passed on to Front Office and In room dining team whom you felt deserved recognition for the services provided to you during your short stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Got married here :) the bestest food you can Eva get. My in-laws family still raves about it ;)
And last year in feb 2012 my brother got married here :) it's got the best service :)
Staff is really helpful n friendly :)
This hotel Neva disappoints you :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rouble W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for selecting Hyatt Amritsar for your marriage and taking out your valuable time to share your experience. We are glad to learn that even your brother had his wedding events at our hotel. Also would like to thank you for your appreciating our staff for their service. It is our constant endeavor to make our esteemed guests feel comfortable .
Your positive feedback on various aspects of our hotel is quite inspiring. We wish you, your husband, your brother and his wife a very happy and successful married life .

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I stayed a few nights in the hotel a few months ago. Rooms are small but ok- solve the purpose- sleep, shower and thats it. In one of the rooms- the ac was not working- this is in Amritsar's Peak summers(45 degrees outdoors). After complaining for 1 whole day, the ac kind of became better. The explanation we got was- its way too hot outside therefore, it doesnt cool as much!!! seriouslyyy.. this is a disgrace on Hyatt brand!

The joke was to compensate, they offered free drop-off the airport!!!! Something that cost 200Rps when we couldnt sleep in a room we paid almost Rs.6000!

The staff in the hotel is just not bothered! We were trying to organize an event in the hotel- dinner and wedding but the banquet manager just does not respond! Given the situation, they are really busy and making enough money.. but being in the hospitality industry they need to realize they have competitors in the city who are offering much better service(atleast they respond to emails and calls)!!!!

The banquet manager(dont want to mention her name) would just not respond to any emails about availability, price or menu. Its almost like they are offering charity by letting us have a function there.

I would say.. this isn't the only hotel conveniently located in Amritsar. Its a small city and getting from Point A to Point B would not take more than 10-15mins. Look at Holiday Inn or Raddisson or other hotels instead.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hyatt and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am sorry to learn that you did not have a comfortable stay due to the air-conditioning. Also have noted that you wanted to book an event with us but you did not get an revert from the team. Your feedback has been taken up very strongly with the concerned team members and I assure you that it will not reoccur in the future. I request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to quote for your event by sending us the details. I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
8.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
1.9 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 98 in Amritsar
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 98 in Amritsar
168 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#7 of 98 in Amritsar
972 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 98 in Amritsar
783 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Property: Hyatt Amritsar
Address: G T Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
#10 Family Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing