We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced for the size of room and city”
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Amritsar
Ranked #8 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for one night. The price charged for size of room is high for the small city. Everything is on demand! Lounge restaurant is good but Main restaurant was unbearable due to smoke of frying in ghee!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dineshdave57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in sharing your feedback. The points highlighted by you pertaining to the room price and the fumes emitted out of frying have been well noted and discussed with the concerned team members. I assure you that we will take necessary steps to ensure to our guests do not experience this inconvenience. Request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again.

I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,


Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,671)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Amritsar
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,554 - 1,560 of 1,671 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hyatt (prevuously ista) is excellently located hotel, right in the beginning of Amritsar and pretty decent property. The hotel remains mostly occupied with more preference than Radisson purely bcos of its location. Its very close to the Golden Temple (hardly 15-20) minutes and also right adjacent to a very good mall having lotsa shopping, eating options, spa, kids entertainment etc. The rooms are very small but very attractively priced. The bathrooms are excellent, everything very very clean, spic n span! The thai restaurant has very good food, thought slightly on the expensive side considering its Amritsar. The breakfast is good too. There is a vey nicely made spa but on a friends recommendation i tried the spa in the adjacent mall, which had an excellent treatment! You will get better price for the room on tripadvisor, hotels, expedia etc as the hotel front desk doesnt have the authority to give you better rates or they dont want to as they remain mostly occupied! So better take the online option for booking it. The front desk is mostly crowded, so plan atleast 15 minutes extra for check out. I faced some problem at the front desk regarding rates but it was sorted out in 10-15 minutes. These issues are better resolved at check-in and shuold be avoided at check out, so the staff needs to be more attentive and responsible during check-in and not procastinate issues. Overall a very nice property!

Room Tip: Suites are available but not worth the money. I am not sure if the hotel has adjoining rooms if you...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vineet1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on. It is our constant endeavor to make our esteemed guests stay memorable. Pertaining to your comment on the pricing for the room would like to share that the rates online as well as at the front desk are the same. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused to you at the time of check in. Also would like to assure you that necessary steps will be taken to ensure that such incidents are not duplicated with any of our guests in future. I have taken a careful note of your comment on the Thai Chi pricing and will look into the same. We deeply regret that we fell short in our service and were unable to provide you with the experience we pride ourselves on.
I request you to give another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to serve you better, this time.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt for one night and it was a pretty decent stay other than the fact that the rooms were awfully small.

The hotel is ideally located, and there is also a mall at walking distance . Though "Hall Bazaar" really is the place to shop in Amritsar. The tip: Haggle hard :)

The reception staff at Hyatt was courteous but the in room dining staff was exceptionally responsive and kind. Overall we had a decent stay with family and would love to stay there again provided they have rooms with a little more leg space and not the size of basic business hotels at the price of a 5 star stay in Amritsar.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archanavohra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on. It is our constant endeavor to make our esteemed guests feel comfortable. I am glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback on various aspects of our hotel is quite inspiring. Your compliments have been passed on to Front Office and In room dining team whom you felt deserved recognition for the services provided to you during your short stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Got married here :) the bestest food you can Eva get. My in-laws family still raves about it ;)
And last year in feb 2012 my brother got married here :) it's got the best service :)
Staff is really helpful n friendly :)
This hotel Neva disappoints you :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rouble W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for selecting Hyatt Amritsar for your marriage and taking out your valuable time to share your experience. We are glad to learn that even your brother had his wedding events at our hotel. Also would like to thank you for your appreciating our staff for their service. It is our constant endeavor to make our esteemed guests feel comfortable .
Your positive feedback on various aspects of our hotel is quite inspiring. We wish you, your husband, your brother and his wife a very happy and successful married life .

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

My family and I stayed a few nights in the hotel a few months ago. Rooms are small but ok- solve the purpose- sleep, shower and thats it. In one of the rooms- the ac was not working- this is in Amritsar's Peak summers(45 degrees outdoors). After complaining for 1 whole day, the ac kind of became better. The explanation we got was- its way too hot outside therefore, it doesnt cool as much!!! seriouslyyy.. this is a disgrace on Hyatt brand!

The joke was to compensate, they offered free drop-off the airport!!!! Something that cost 200Rps when we couldnt sleep in a room we paid almost Rs.6000!

The staff in the hotel is just not bothered! We were trying to organize an event in the hotel- dinner and wedding but the banquet manager just does not respond! Given the situation, they are really busy and making enough money.. but being in the hospitality industry they need to realize they have competitors in the city who are offering much better service(atleast they respond to emails and calls)!!!!

The banquet manager(dont want to mention her name) would just not respond to any emails about availability, price or menu. Its almost like they are offering charity by letting us have a function there.

I would say.. this isn't the only hotel conveniently located in Amritsar. Its a small city and getting from Point A to Point B would not take more than 10-15mins. Look at Holiday Inn or Raddisson or other hotels instead.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sam s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hyatt and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. I am sorry to learn that you did not have a comfortable stay due to the air-conditioning. Also have noted that you wanted to book an event with us but you did not get an revert from the team. Your feedback has been taken up very strongly with the concerned team members and I assure you that it will not reoccur in the future. I request you to give us another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to quote for your event by sending us the details. I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Having seen the location of the Holiday Inn and Radisson en route to our hotel, I would say that the Hyatt is far better located for those visiting the Golden Temple. We could see it from our bedroom window whereas the other hotels mentioned were much closer to the airport. It cost 100 rupees maximum in a tuk tuk picked up on the main road outside the hotel to go to the temple. Take something to cover your head with you.
Hotel rooms were not huge but were very comfortable and peaceful. Bathrooms were excellent with great showers. Ask for a room high up-floors are numbered from 10-20-we were on the 19th-rooms overlooking the pool would be best as you can then see the whole of the city.
Breakfast was very good indeed with attentive staff and a huge choice of items either ready made or cooked to order. We ate in the Collage restaurant thought there was a food court in the adjacent mall.
Pool very nice and not used much whilst we were there so I often had it to myself. My sons enjoyed the gym too.
We bought drinks etc in the supermarket on lower floor of the mall next door and used our minibar fridges.
Overall we were really pleased with the hotel and think it was a great choice for our visit to Amritsar.

Room Tip: Choose floor 19 or 20-two top floors and ask for a room overlooking the pool and facing the city.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherineY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services.
We are delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on. It is our constant endeavor to make our esteemed guests feel comfortable .
I am glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback on various aspects of our hotel is quite inspiring.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Amazingly clean, excellent service, great staff and location. This is the only place to stay in Amrtisar do not waste your time with any other property. The location is right next to a mall with tons of shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aman27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time in evaluating our product and services. We are delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on. It is our constant endeavor to make our esteemed guests feel comfortable .
I am glad to learn that you had a pleasant stay with us. Your positive feedback on various aspects of our hotel is quite inspiring.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best Regards,

Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
8.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
1.9 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#10 of 98 in Amritsar
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 98 in Amritsar
178 reviews
3.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#7 of 98 in Amritsar
982 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 98 in Amritsar
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Address: G T Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#4 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
#10 Family Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range: $81 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing