We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Amritsar
Nearby Hotels
Ranjit's SVAASA(Amritsar)
$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$59
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Country Inn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ramada Amritsar(Amritsar)
$70
$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Hong Kong Inn(Amritsar)
$31
$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$61
$49
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$57
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,946)
Filter reviews
1,946 results
Traveler rating
861
665
259
85
76
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
861
665
259
85
76
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollage restaurantlarge mallgolden templefree shuttleshuttle servicegt roadthe hotel staffrooms are smallamritsaricoffee shoptravel deskrestaurant managerroom servicespecial thanksbreakfast spreadhouse keepingcomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
1,848 - 1,853 of 1,946 reviews
Reviewed May 31, 2013

One of the best hotel to stay in Amritsar. Ambiance of the hotel is very cool. Rooms are very nice, morning breakfast buffet is something really enjoyable. Sitting out in evening and having coffee is also really very enjoyable. Service is good and staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manpreet85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on. Your positive feedback on various aspects of our hotel is inspiring, thank you for sharing your views on the ambience and in particular our breakfast spread and the words of appreciation for the service staff.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed in this with family when it was called Ista --- its located in a quietish area in an otherwise typically madhouse punjabi city of amritsar ::: the rooms are clean and decently done up ::: we were with 2 small kids so had booked an interconnecting set of rooms which was wise because the rooms are small and for a family pretty inadequate if one books only 1 room...the food is slightly below average but the service is prompt and courteous...not a bad place to stay to check out the usual things in amrtisar...dont recommend more than 2-3 nights though unless one is a serious amritsar buff as theres nothing to do beyond that

Room Tip: book 2 interconnecting rooms if with children since room sizes are very small
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManavAgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on. However, I am disappointed to read about your feedback on the food and would like to share that the same has been discussed with the Head Chef and do hope that you will visit us sometime soon in the near future to experience the same.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

1. Location - The hotel is conveniently located 10 mins from Amritsar Railway Station, Golden Temple and Local Shopping Places. Next to the hotel is alpha one mall (1 min walk) which houses few good branded showrooms, theatre, fast food restaurants and Hyper Market which has everything from food, chocolates, juices, toys etc.
2. Food - The quality of food is excellent
3. Restaurant - The decor of the coffee shop is very nice with option for covered outdoor seating. They have a clay over for the Pizza which is excellent & also serve tepenyaki. The buffet breakfast is prices INR 650 + taxes which is fairly elaborate. For the money the portion of food is good. Thai Chi their other restaurant also has a nice decor and very good food.
4. Service - The service was good at the restaurants however the room service was slow. Bathroom slippers were not there in the room and when we called the house keeping they sent us used slippers, which was the only bad experience we had.
5. Swimming Pool - nice on leave 1 near the spa

Room Tip: The hotel is L shaped, east side has view of residential area and west side has view of the pool & the mall. Rooms on high floor are quite.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anirudh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
G M, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us! We are delighted to read your great comments about our hotel and are happy to know we were able to deliver to you the Hyatt service standards we pride ourselves on. However, I am disappointed to read your feedback about the bathroom slippers and the room service, would like to share that the same has been taken up with the concerned team members to ensure the same is not repeated. Thank you for your positive feedback on various aspects of our hotel particularly our breakfast and Teppanyaki at Collage and food at ThaiChi. We look forward to welcome you back soon.
Do visit us on Facebook and stay up to date on event calendars, exclusive offers, destination tips and more

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

My parents have stayed at the Ista, Amritsar several times in the past. I generally stay at the Best Western in Ranjit Avenue. However, during my last visit to the holy city in February 2013, I decided to stay the night at the Ista- the first 5 star in Amritsar. I am told that since my visit, the hotel has been rebranded as Hyatt, though the management remains the same.

The hotel is on the right side (before the elevated road) neighbouring the Alpha One Mall (which has the same owner) as soon as you enter Amritsar. I was not impressed by the hotel entrance and approach to the reception. I had booked the room through Cleartrip and made the payment in advance. The check-in was slow and they require you to make a cash deposit/ block some amount on your credit card to cover for your stay expenses. The lobby area is small and crowded.

The rooms were modern and clean though a little small. The bathroom was quite nice though again small. It had a separate shower area but no tub. The buffet breakfast spread was quite elaborate and priced at Rs. 550/- per head. We preferred to have our breakfast and other meals in the city as there are several good eating options in Amritsar.

The hotel runs a complementary shuttle to the Golden Temple thrice during the day, but the timings in the evening are not convenient. However, one can easily call a radio cab and reach the Golden Temple for around Rs. 150/-.

The hotel is better than other hotels in Amritsar but not by a huge margin. However, its tariff is almost double that of the others. I will stay again only if I get a good deal else would prefer to stay in the Ranjit Avenue hotels at half the price!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IshwinderSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager661, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Mr. Singh,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We value your feedback and I apologise for the delay in the check in process and the inconvenience caused to you. Your feedback with regards to the check in being slow has been noted and discussed with the person concerned. I assure you that such an inconvenience will not reoccur in future. With regards to the pricing at the hotel it is in par with that of other five star hotels.
We do hope you visit again and give us an opportunity to serve you.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Having paid for an upgrade to Poolview rooms on 19th Floor, we did not expect to be phoning the duty manager at 2330 hours to complain about the Hyatts own opening party playing loud music from the Pool area and playing flashing lights across our windows. They didnt have the sense to warn us that we would be better round the back rather than paying to be punished ! The next morning we received an apology and the undertaking that we would not be charged the upgrade ! On check out the desk clerk knew nothing about this until he asked, then offered to write off our previous evenings dinner but couldnt include the drinks. He assured us that the upgrade would not be charged. Yes guess what - when we returned to Delhi we were asked to pay the upgrade by our agents because they had been charged and the hotel had told them they had given us meal and drinks. Simply not true the bill we settled included the drinks ! It has taken a lot of pressure to get them to concede that they were wrong in putting us in the rooms in the first place knowing they were about to throw a party and wrong in not telling the truth to our agent and therefore us ! They need to get their act together because the place itself is fine,the staff in the restaurant are excellent, as is the breakfast. Pity about the management on the day !

Room Tip: Check if they are having any kind of outdoor evening event/function because the venue seems to have the stage facing the rooms overlooking the pool with consequent noise/light issues.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwin t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager661, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded June 4, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and taking out your valuable time to share your feedback. I am extremely sorry for the poor experience that you had during your stay with us. The points highlighted by you are understandably quite disturbing. I have taken a careful note of your comments and have initiated the necessary steps to ensure that such incidents are not duplicated with any of our guests in future. We deeply regret that we fell short in our service and were unable to provide you with the experience we pride ourselves on.
I request you to give another chance to make up for this experience of yours by visiting us once again and allow us to serve you better, this time.
I and my team look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back and hearing from you soon.
Apologies once again.

Best Regards,
Bhagwan Balani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews