We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”
Review of Hyatt Amritsar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Amritsar
Ranked #6 of 100 Hotels in Amritsar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 8, 2013

...Poor service in restaurant. Poor front desk service. Average maintainance in the rooms. Not good value for money. Raddison near airport is better. Good location for city shopping. Waiters are rude.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Diljeet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subhrajit B, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback on the same. I apologize for the poor experience you had during your stay . I have taken up the issue of rude behavior with my entire team very strongly, but would request you to elaborate on your feedback to help us address this better . I would request you to send me a mail at subhrajit. bardhan@hyatt.com .
I look forward to welcoming you to Hyatt Amritsar.

Warm Regards,
Subhrajit Bardhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,744)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,679 - 1,685 of 1,744 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Hyatt Hotel in Amritsar is one of the best hotel in Punjab. You feel like a king when you stay here. All things are nice but One major problem at the hotel is no WI FI in the room. Rooms were clean and as described on the website, however you could be on conference in any international hotel anywhere in the world. Great interior

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasAulakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subhrajit B, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback on the same. I am glad to note that you had a comfortable stay, loved the interior of the property. You felt like a king while staying with us, such inspiring comments are very motivating for the team.
Your feedback with regards to wifi has been noted and we are working on the same.
I look forward to welcoming you to Hyatt Amritsar.

Warm Regards,
Subhrajit Bardhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a very efficient hotel which is quite impersonal, recently taken over by the Hyatt group. Rooms were clean and as described on the website, however you could be on conference in any international hotel anywhere in the world. It really does need to make its mark somehow. No complaints about anything except cool verging on cold and clinical, reception staff. I would have liked to see that they enjoyed their work. Food is good,but not exceptional, with a variety of dishes from around India and Europe.
I understand there are other good hotels but not as close to the modern shopping mall that is next door to this hotel.

Room Tip: Mostly rooms are of a sort, clean and functional
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melody110808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subhrajit B, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

Thank you for your feedback, I have noted your comment regarding lack of warmth among our teammates .I have taken this up with my team, I would like to assure you that we enjoy our work and are known for our friendly and warm interactions with our guests .
I look forward to welcoming you again and experience the authentic hospitality of Hyatt Amritsar.

Warm Regards,
Subhrajit Bardhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

You feel like a king when you stay here. Spic and span, nice ambienc, decor and near to Alpha mall, u can go for variety of food in the adjoining food court. Spa experience was very refreshing and energising.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navjot68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subhrajit B, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at our property and sharing your feedback on the same. I am glad to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us and enjoyed your stay .
You found the property to be spic and span, nice ambience, decor and near to Alpha mall.Your compliments with regards to Spa experience has been passed on to our Spa team as you found the same to be very refreshing and energizing.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Hyatt Amritsar.

Warm Regards,
Subhrajit Bardhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My second stay at this hotel. The hotel has been rebranded to the Hyatt and service has improved just a little bit. Lovely clean rooms, restaurant ok with hotel prices. One major problem at the hotel is no WI FI in the room. Come on Hyatt get your act together.
Otherwise good hotel.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harbinder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subhrajit B, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for staying with us at Hyatt Amritsar once again and taking out your precious time in evaluating our product and services.I am glad to note that you enjoyed your stay and found the rooms to be quite clean, and your feedback related to the Service has been discussed with the person concerned.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Hyatt Amritsar.

Warm Regards,
Subhrajit Bardhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We went in a Holiday week of Holi. We were not expecting it to be so crowded. But after all that exaggeration, with a small baby, this Hotel was like entering in another comfy world!!!

My wife loved the place and the baby was happy too! I didn't even have to miss my workouts for even a single day! Gym is awesome! Food is awesome!

From now we will always stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subhrajit B, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the outset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us at Hyatt Amritsar and sharing your valued feedback on the same. I am glad to learn that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us. Such inspiring feedback is really motivational for my team here. The Golden Temple is a blessing for the entire holycity, as several Pilgrims visit it on daily basis.
I am extremely happy to know that your wife loved the hotel and your baby also had a comfortable stay with us, as it is our constant endeavor to make our esteemed Guests stay a memorable one.
I look forward to welcoming you back at Hyatt Amritsar.

Warm Regards,
Subhrajit Bardhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

From what I had previously read on Trip Advisor I was expecting a slick, well run operation and this is exactly what we found. What the hotel lacks in character it makes up for in the way it is run. The hotel is spotless and everything works like clockwork. The only real complaint we had was that the hotel has no wifi in the rooms and so one is forced to hang around in the lobby to do email etc. also, we were irritated at having to pay for Internet given that this is widely given free at lesser hotels in India and this is, after all, a premium hotel. Hopefully Hyatt will address both these issues now that they have taken over this hotel.

The rooms are extremely comfortable and well appointed. There is a large, good quality bed with feather pillows and excellent shower with plenty of hot water. While the room is small, there is enough spacesuits a comfortable seat and work area. There is a flat screen TV with a good selection of channels. We could find no fault with the rooms.

The hotel serves an excellent breakfast with a huge selection of international and local dishes.

The hotel is located a short distance from the town and Golden Temple which are easily reached by motor rickshaw. We dined in then town at Krystal and Narula's, both of which were very good and about 10 minutes from the hotel. For the less adventurous, the Alpha One mall is right next door to the hotel where a range of fast food outlets can be found plus some premium shopping.

All in all, the hotel met our needs and we would have little hesitation in staying here again. We spent 4 nights here.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank PeterGrobler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subhrajit B, General Manager at Hyatt Amritsar, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Guest,
Greetings from Hyatt Amritsar!

At the onset, I would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sharing your feedback on the same. I am glad to learn that my team served you with true hospitality and care, that we are known for.
You found the rooms to be extremely comfortable and well appointed, large, good quality bed with feather pillows and excellent shower with plenty of hot water. Such positive reviews are quite motivational for my Team.

I look forward to welcoming you back at Hyatt Amritsar.
Warm regards,
Subhrajit Bardhan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
8.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Amritsar
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Amritsar Ranjit Avenue
1.9 mi away
Ramada Amritsar
Ramada Amritsar
#9 of 100 in Amritsar
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Taj Swarna Amritsar
Taj Swarna Amritsar
#2 of 100 in Amritsar
199 reviews
3.1 mi away
Golden Tulip Amritsar
Golden Tulip Amritsar
#5 of 100 in Amritsar
994 reviews
2.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson-Amritsar, Queens Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Amritsar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Amritsar

Address: G T Road | Alpha One City Center, Amritsar 143001, India (Formerly Ista Amritsar)
Phone Number:
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Spa Hotel in Amritsar
#3 Romantic Hotel in Amritsar
#6 Business Hotel in Amritsar
#10 Family Hotel in Amritsar
Price Range: $83 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Amritsar 4.5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iconic Hyatt in the city of AmritsarNestled in the heart of the city and 10 minutes from the Golden Temple is Hyatt Amritsar, welcoming business and leisure travelers to enjoy luxury 5 star deluxe hotel accommodation coupled with the historical wonders the city has to offer.Hyatt Amritsar offers 248 elegantly appointed guestrooms including suites which are on the fourth floor of the hotel to ensure panoramic views of the city. Rooms have a sleek contemporary design with the highest levels of comfort.Savour specialty Thai and Chinese cuisine at ThaiChi or for more international and local Punjabi cuisine options with a flare, Collage is the ideal choice. When the sun goes down, head to The Lounge Bar for evening cocktails, soothing music and views across an open courtyard.Enjoy the warm Indian sunshine at the outdoor swimming and vitality pool or rejuvenate in one of eight treatment rooms at The Spa.Hyatt Amritsar is conveniently located 4 kilometres from the Golden Temple and Jallianwala Bagh. The Wagah border is also 30 kilometers away, and offers guests the opportunity to watch the retreat ceremony of the guard ceremony at the Indo-Pak border. The international airport is 25 minutes away, while the railway station is a 10-minute drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Amritsar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ista Amritsar Hotel Amritsar
Ista Hotel Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing