We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, haggle for a better price”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amritsar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tourist Guest House
Ranked #44 of 144 Amritsar B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed for two nights in sept 2011. Three of us got a room for 500 rupees a night, should have bargained them down! The room was clean with high ceilings, an air cooler that was noisy but took the edge off. Nice roof to sit on and the staff were helpful when we had train ticket issues. The third bed we got was rubbish tho - 1 cm thick mattress.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (53)
There are newer reviews for Tourist Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 53 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2011

The place itself is a short walk from the train station, but that does put you a bit out the way from the Old Town of Amritsar, where everything seems to be happening, and the walk there isn't too pleasant.
I got a single room with shared bathroom. There was no hot water, my window was missing glass, so the wind blew in, and my hard bed had stained sheets. Take your sleeping bag! I guess you get what you pay for when its 175 a night.
Food there is pretty overpriced, 40 rupees just for plain rice! I took a walk down the road directly in front of the hotel, and found a local night market, where I bought loads of tasty treats, all for less than the cost of boring rice.

This is the first time I have posted a review online but my parting memory with the Hotel wasn't that great. I had to get a 5am bus to Pathankot the next morning, and the gatekeeper had locked the front gate. I had to wake him up to get out, and when he got to the gate, he demanded 10 rupees before he would open it. I had no small bills, and when showing the man this he realized his sneaky plan wouldn't work and 'let me go'. Not too good, considering there are so many better places nearer the Golden Temple, or even in it if you fancy it.
All in all, give this place a miss

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaddySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2010

The surly manager was rude and unhelpful. The train ticket he booked for me (after repeatedly asking and pointing out the sign that said they booked train tickets!) was a much lower class than i asked for (and paid for!). He refused to help me get a taxi
(again something the posters say they will do) telling me to 'Walk down the road for a while and you'll find one.'

The room was dirty, had cockroaches and the bed linen was stained and smelled stale. The bathroom had rubbish on the floor and the floor was covered in other peoples body hair.

A disgusting, disappointing waste of money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelcupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2009

1355 Gt Road lies between the main street and the railway link. A bit off the spot but close to the main bus station and the railway station. It´s 15 minutes to the Golden Temple by rickshaw.

Distanced but helpful staff. They´l organize any trip You like, especially good to see the Indo-Pak border ceremony at the Attari-Wagah border post. Don´t miss it!

More expensive rooms have TVs, hot showers and private bathrooms. One or two rooms have brutally high ceilings. Buildings must be from the colonial area.Considered A/C was a huge fan in an old window blowing warm air into the room but it was quite better with than without.

Th roof is great to sit out and have a beer (if You find some in Amritsar) and a chat with the other backpackers. Restaurant is basic and average but their range of indian breads and raita is tasty and great!

All in all, it´s a very nice and comfy place compared to other guest houses in Amritsar or Inida in general. The astonishingly high number of geckos shouldn´t bother You as well as the easily breakable room locks (from the 1940s or so)... so bring Your own. Even Your small bag locker would be more secure ;)

More than I expected and truly atmospheric! And if You love indian circumstances, You´ll love this! Seems to be THE thing for backpackers since decades...

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pansenfrucht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Artem F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superbel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
0.1 mi away
Airlines Hotel
Airlines Hotel
#83 of 98 in Amritsar
41 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel
#51 of 98 in Amritsar
299 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sukhman International
Hotel Sukhman International
#35 of 98 in Amritsar
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 98 in Amritsar
494 reviews
1.1 mi away
Asha Guest House
Asha Guest House
#39 of 144 in Amritsar
42 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jugaadus' Hostel
Jugaadus' Hostel
#1 of 150 in Amritsar
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tourist Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tourist Guest House

Address: G.T. Road, Near Bhandari Bridg, Amritsar, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 144 B&Bs / Inns in Amritsar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing