We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average, Well-located, Budget-choice, But....”
Review of Hotel Le Golden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Le Golden
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Most tourists visit Amritsar for an experience of the Golden Temple and the Sikh faith. Le Golden is bang opposite the temple and so one of the few hotels proximally close and convenient. Its environs are the narrow, dusty lanes bustling mainly with 2-wheelers, cycle-rickshaws, stray dogs, roadside tea-stalls and people. The Hotel is not the cozy, swanky one you see in the hotel's site-photos which are shot creatively. Even the view of the Golden Temple is not what is projected.. The rooms at the lower-end (Deluxe & Super deluxe) are small with the Super having a bit more elbow room. The Executive and above rooms seem more well-laid out though there's a higher price-tag.The upkeep is at best below-average though the rooms and linen seem clean and hygienic. Service is slow to average but the management doesn;t seem too keen on getting rid of the small cockroaches we found in the Super Deluxe or repairing the malfunctioning Water-heater in the deluxe. All they responded to was: repair the leaking basin faucet despite repeated requests re: all the above. Food was surprisingly unappetising for a hotel in Amritsar, with one waiter even wearing a dirty, unwashed shirt everyday. The Breakfast buffet was disorganised and unsatisfactory though the service here was above-average. But we discovered excellent local authentic cuisine in small, joints like "Bubby's" in the vicinity of the Temple and Hotel. The Hotel is also within 3 minutes walking distance of the other site of historical interest, "Jallianwala Bagh" and has easy access to transport to the Wagah (Indo-Pakistan) Border to witness the "Changing of the guard" around sunset with all its energy, colour and bravado. All-in-all, an average stay for the quick-visit, budget-to-executive traveller who's willing to overlook the flaws and drawbacks. P.S>IMP: Also please double-check to ensure your taxi-driver can enter the inner "security ring" laid out around the Golden Temple precincts to take you right upto the door of the Hotel. Our driver couldn;t/didn't and we ended up with the inconvenience of finding rickshaws to lug our luggage a short distance.

Room Tip: If you have the budget, go for the Executive (and above) rooms albeit with a higher price tag!
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshEMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Golden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 167 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2011

Very well located hotel,just a minute walk to the gurudawara.Clean and big rooms , full value for money. Helpful staff as well as the owner.They arrange vehicle for gurudawara vists abd the Wagha border.

Room Tip: The Suite room is very well furnished and can accomodate 5 persons.Higher floors give you the view o...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMRITSARSEPT2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

the location for this hotel is very good, just 2 min walk to golden temple , right opposite to it.

Rooms are neat and clean, however always opt for deluxe room which will cost you approx 45 $ (2200 INR) , however if its not a weekend or any festival they will offer you 20% discount if you negotiate.

The food was avg however the ambiance of their restaurant is very good whic is on rooftop and you can see golden temple which is a nice view.

Non -veg is not served here however dishes made of eggs are server.

We stayed for 2 days and we were satisfied with everything except food.
]

Room Tip: Try to get rooms any where else except ground floor as reception and service room is located on same...
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mohitgandhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were going in a big group to Amritsar to seek blessings at Golden Temple. We wanted a hotel that was right next to the Golden Temple so that we could spend maximum time at the temple itself. On that count, it is perfect as it is situated just ouutside the main entrance of Golden Temple.

We used the proximity to Golden Temple to good efect and spent a lot of time at Golden Temple.

Regarding the hotel itself, we spent minimal time in our rooms. We had already heard that the rooms are small and it proved to be true. The services were just average but we werent too apalled as we were already prepared for it. They charge a higher price because of their location.

They also arranged a tour for us to Wagah border for the Beating the Retreat ceremony which was a great experience. We had heard that the food was awful and we just didnt try it. There's no need as there are lots of famous eateries within the 2 kilometre radius.

If you want non-vegetarian food, you'll have to get out of that radius and there are some very good options. If you are in the vicinity, you should definitely try Ahuja Lassi.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vivekharshna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

Location is very good if you are going to the Golden Temple. Other than that, the location is very busy...

There seemed to be a very big difference between the room I received and the room that I saw when walking past an open door. I would not recommend the standard room. The room that we stayed in was dark (not much natural light). The room was very standard.

The free wi-fi was a nice touch, and the restaurant on the roof was ok (and you could see the Golden Temple from it).

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelCritic032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

hi, we went to amritsar just for a night and wanted hotel close to the golden temple.... this was the hotel just a step away from the golden temple..... great location rooms were very good, great air conditioning. evrything was good until we had lunch on the roof top restaurant.... the food was just tasteless and salad was stale. overall a good experience.
i would recommend this hotel if you just want to stay in the hotel and will eat from somewhere else...

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gauravbatra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

The hotel is strategically located just opposite to Golden temple and it convenient to locate since it is in a main area and near clock tower which also a famous one.

The hotel is quite comfortable if you are visiting golden temple. Also the rooms are clean and tidy. Definitely the hotel is worth for cost and you dont find such a good for hotel for this cost. Hotel staff also very nice which will make your stay pleasant.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marutha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
Hotel Narula's Aurrum
#24 of 98 in Amritsar
194 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Puri Palace
Hotel Puri Palace
#16 of 98 in Amritsar
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sawera Grand
Hotel Sawera Grand
#3 of 98 in Amritsar
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Namaskar Residency
Hotel Namaskar Residency
#1 of 98 in Amritsar
493 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
Hotel Hong Kong Inn
#4 of 98 in Amritsar
958 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Robin
Hotel Robin
#37 of 98 in Amritsar
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Golden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Golden

Address: Bazar Mai Sewan | Clock Tower Ext Opp Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $24 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Golden 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is a prime property just opposite the world-renowned Golden Temple and the best among hotels in the vicinity of the temple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Le Golden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Golden Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing