We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location/service, rooms not that clean”
Review of Hotel Grace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grace
Ranked #47 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Reviewed August 31, 2013

There was some confusion when we arrived as we were sure we booked an AC room but apparently didn't. The manager was friendly in a slightly overbearing way, but helped us organise a trip to the border ceremony at Wagah. The reception staff were helpful with advice for restaurants, how to get a sim card etc. The rooms were dirty, had broken things in them & lots of bugs. AC worked well though. No hot water, even when the boiler was supposedly on. Wifi connection in reception was good. The picture online is not the hotel at all! The location is fantastic; it's in a grim back alley but only minutes from the Golden Temple.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Grace
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 211 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night. We emailed in advance to Ask the hotel to arrange someone to collect us from the station but received no reply. We made our own way to the hotel to find the shutters pulled down and we had to shake these and lift them ourselves to get into the hotel and wake someone up!

We were shown to our room which was basic but had a working TV and towels. Wifi did not reach the room and only worked in the lobby.

The hotel arranged a taxi for us to the Wagah border. We were told we would not need our passports for this by the hotel manager, but took them anyway and we did indeed need them!

The hotel is in a good location, walking distance to the golden temple and places to eat!

Check out time is 12pm which is good for travellers!

The staff also offered us a room or the rest of the day until our train that evening for 500 rupees which we initially declined. However when we got back from the golden temple at around 2pm very hot and sweaty we asked if the previously offered room was still available which it was so we took it!

Rooms aren't particularly clean, but for one night the hotel was fine.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenBoughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

the photos shown for this hotel are fake. untidy rooms, no windows, dirty linen, no locks for washroom, no remote for air conditioner, ill mannered staff, and the list goes on and on. not satisfied with even a single aspect of this hotel. I got deceived with the reviews at tripadvisor. never again.

Room Tip: totally avoid this hotel unless you are desperate to visit amritsar.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

For anyone travelling to Amritsar for the first time, with no idea where to stay, how to get around or the best places to eat, this place not only offers pocket friendly and comfortable accommodation but has the friendliest, most helpful management!

Located right behind the Golden Temple and just a ten minute walk away from the market, we had the most comfortable stay at hotel Grace.

And for anyone interested in shopping, be sure to ask uncle kuku Vadhva the best places to shop! ;)

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sakshii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

It was our first time in Amritsar. The Area around the Golden Temple is closed to Vehicular Traffic throughout the Day. We were 2 couples with 4 small children and loads of luggage. Hotel Grace is situated near the Golden Temple. Just imagine our plight reaching the Hotel from Paid Parking Facility 2 kms away from the Hotel. The Cleartrip Website clearly mentions that Hotel Grace has Parking Facility. Such misinformation makes life so difficult for travellers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Jagdish B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights June 2013. Room was clean, very close to the golden temple and the main area of Amritsar. The owner of the hotel was very helpful in making arrangements for the border closing ceremony and future travel plans. It was a little expensive BUT for the location it was worth it for a single female traveler as I felt very safe there.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on my first trip to Amritsar - the owner was accommodating to our large group, and helped us get a vehicle to the Pakistan border ceremony for competitive rates, as well as was helpful for any of our other needs.
I returned on my second trip and my stay was just as lovely.

The amenities of the hotel are decent for the price - expect better than your cheap backpacking hotel, but also do not except anything above and beyond the expected. The location is perfect for getting to the golden temple before sunrise. The roadways around will the hotel are chaotic and bustling.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stef L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amritsar hotels
1.3 mi away
Hotel Teg Royal
Hotel Teg Royal
#43 of 98 in Amritsar
175 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Sukhman International
Hotel Sukhman International
#36 of 98 in Amritsar
89 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Holy City
Hotel Holy City
#29 of 98 in Amritsar
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel City Castle
Hotel City Castle
#27 of 98 in Amritsar
130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indus
Hotel Indus
#60 of 98 in Amritsar
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Royal Inn
Hotel Royal Inn
#64 of 98 in Amritsar
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grace

Address: 35 Braham Buta Market | Sarai Golden Temple, Amritsar 143001, India
Location: India > Punjab > Amritsar District > Amritsar
Amenities:
Kitchenette Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 98 Hotels in Amritsar
Price Range: $11 - $15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Grace 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Grace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing