We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“racist staff at Sula ! Bad place for an evening”
Review of Sula Vineyards

Sula Vineyards
Ranked #3 of 77 things to do in Nashik
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: India's leading producer of wines, Sula Vineyards is located amidst the rolling hills of Nashik overlooking the Gangapur Dam. Come and experience the Sula life at our vineyards where you can go for a tour of the winery followed by a wine tasting session. Have lunch at one of our restaurants and stay back at the stunning Beyond Vineyard Resort by Sula which is located 10 mins away from our winery.
Jim Corbett National Park, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“racist staff at Sula ! Bad place for an evening”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

had a racist experience at Sula Wines, Went on Valenties day with 16 friends , the staff behaved in most un-friendly manner as if were there for a time pass, we were spoken extremly badly and not even offered a seat. At the same time couple of foreigner's walked in and the staff atteneded to them with extreme care and dilligence and they were offered seat immediately. On asking as to how this was possible we were told that they have reservations. Imagine a limited seating place taking reservations on valentine's day????? It is quite clear that from the attitude that we as indians were class 2 citizens and the staff was behaving like puppies in from of foreginers, Extremly shamefull, I am sure you all shall feel the same next time you go and see it for yourselves from the staff attitude and behaviour. They should close down such places!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank prarit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil_Dangarikar, Manager at Sula Vineyards, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Prarit,

We are sorry you felt that way. But we regularly have foreigners and ex-pats visiting our vineyards - few everyday for sure. Many of them are working on projects in Nashik and come to Sula for having the best wine in India and to enjoy a relaxed meal at our restaurants. 14th Feb being a week-day, we could have taken reservations at our restaurants and do so for any guest who calls in prior. We are clarifying that it wasn't a racist incident. But we definitely hope you have a better experience on your next visit.

Looking forward to having you back.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    392
    465
    156
    32
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Place”
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Visited sula vineyard on a sunday to spend 3-4 hours on my way back from Nashik. The place is a little difficult to locate...google maps helped!

This place has a vineyard of about 30 acres and factory for making various varieties of wine.

We did a testing and vinery tour (about 45 min tour) which was very informative and educative. Being a sunday, the place was crowded...so avoid sundays here...

After the tour had lunch at Little Italy which is located inside the vineyard....average italian food (tries lasagnae, pasta, salads)...thought the place was overhyped and pricey...

Overall, you can spend nice 2-3 hour here...nothing more than that....

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank PARAG N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil_Dangarikar, Manager at Sula Vineyards, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Parag,

We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Sula Vineyards!

You could plan a trip on a week day to enjoy the relaxed environment here. Would also like to mention that we are coming up with a new restaurant serving world class cuisine in June replacing Little Italy and Soma.

You could also try out our vino-spa at Beyond Vineyard Resort which is located just 10 mins from our winery.

Looking forward to having you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome place..”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Been here for Sulafest 2014 and it was awesome..food, drinks and music was just so perfect..
little difficult to reach as this is located very much outside Town.
but still had a great time here.. (Y)

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sachin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil_Dangarikar, Manager at Sula Vineyards, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Sachin,

We are glad you enjoyed Sulafest! Its definitely the biggest thing we do in the year! By the way, there are more signboards now on the way to Sula :)

Looking forward to having you back! Try staying at our resort - Beyond Vineyard resort located 10 minutes from our winery.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
615 reviews
288 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Awesome place to experience Wine making !”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Sula wines is located around 15-20 kms from Nashik city. They have developed the entire concept of Wine tourism extremely well. One can actually see the entire process from growing the grapes till actual making of various wines during the Wine tour that they have. Its available everyday from 11.30am to 5.30pm. They also allow you to do Wine tasting. the entry to the place is free however the wine tour and tasting costs between 150 to 250 Rs per person.They have couple of restuarants which offer beautiful view of the vinyards in the background. Must visit if you happen to be in Nashik.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aryan2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil_Dangarikar, Manager at Sula Vineyards, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear ABPB,

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to know you like the ambience at Sula Vineyards. We strive to produce wines of the finest quality and maintain the serenity of the beautiful environment amidst which our winery and vineyards are located.

We would like to mention that now our tour and tasting session lasts till 6:30pm. We are also coming up with a new world class cuisine at our restaurants amidst our vineyards.

Looking forward to having you back.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nothing great about Sula”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

A very ordinary place hyped by marketing gimmick.
We booked 2 rooms which were facing the dam. But the dam was hardly visible..and when we asked for the rooms on the top floor the people at the reception said its full..So there was no sense in doing online booking as the rooms we got also weren't worth the money we paid..also using anything in the room is chargeable..the reception people did not inform us this and later when we were doing settlement they were charging us for the biscuits and lays in the room..when we asked them this wasn't informed the staff said they were busy and missed out to say this...so paying so much for the room and besides this also everything is chargeable..the cycles were in poor condition...only good thing there was the gaming room and the grape plantations..besides this its just a place that is over-hyped and not worth the money we pay for..

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Varun82377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swapnil_Dangarikar, Manager at Sula Vineyards, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Varun,

We are sorry to know you had an undesirable experience. We have made a note of the points mentioned by you and have taken steps to ensure it doesn't happen again. We hope you plan a trip once again to the resort. Do inform us if you are doing so and we would be glad to make it up to you.

Looking forward to having you back.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sula Vineyards also viewed

 
Nashik, Nashik District
Nashik, Nashik District
 

Been to Sula Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing