We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Nashik
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Dissappointed”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

Arrived at this simply because of the name, Taj. This hotel reminds me of a visit to the old British raj, as I have seen in movies. Hotel is tired, even the superior rooms on the 2nd floor. Staff are nice, food is shockingly poor, and I concur with one previous reviewer who said it was like a back packers hostel.

They switch the lights of in the evening and have candles every where even in the lobby outside the rooms, something like the Bhool bhylia movie. They switched the lights off in the dinner room maybe because they didn't want us too see the food.

Hotel is okay but not a Taj hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Legaleye73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    417
    101
    12
    12
See reviews for
479
192
33
338
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Just come back from India, stayed at the beautful, majestic Gateway Hotel in Nasik. The service is first class, the facilities are excellent, the food is divine. The travel executive will arrange all your travel requirements and very soon this place will feel like home!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yogadiva25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This is an outstanding property spread over a very large open area. The rooms are excellent. The hospitality is top of the line. I was there with family over the weekend and was impressed. Breakfast was not upto the mark with slack service. Maybe we walked in at the peak hour on Sunday.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the swimming pool on upper floor and you will see a wide open area as wel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jainajaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebden Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We've stayed in many Taj properties before and this one is the worst in where we've stayed so far. The service was bad and the food was of very poor quality. The international food was very poor in quality and not fresh. It tasted like hostel food; one where backpackers would often go and eat. The chef clearly has no experience or maybe interest in preparing proper continental food. We complained to the manager who was courteous and removed the worst items from our food bill ie. a rubbery mozzarella, a stale orange juice , a stale salad. The breakfast buffet was okayish..something similar to the buffet of a 3 star hotel. The soft boiled eggs were runny though; more chances of getting salmonella!! We were told by one of the staff members (who looked like an intern) that the Taj took over this hotel 3 months back, some of them are still in training etc. We felt a bit sorry for them so we didn't cause a scene. There are no staff members by the pool except for a watchman. If we needed anything, we would have to ask him to fetch someone. There are no umbrella stands by the way, the sun is scorching hot and pool icy (very icy) cold. My husband almost got a heat attack as he jumped into the pool unaware how icy cold it was. Children may get sick if they're in the water for long. We waited till 3pm to swim as the water would be relatively okay to swim in it.. We checked out of the hotel and were at the bar in the Sula Vineyard when our drinks were interrupted by a peon from the hotel who handed us a charge slip of a bill , they forgot to bill us. We were very embarrassed as people were wondering what was going on. We were confused because we didn't know what was going on. He couldn't speak english properly nor could he understand my husband who was English. We were supposed to be leaving for Mumbai but had to turn the car around, go back to the hotel and settle the bill. The manager was apologetic and offered us tea (after the bill was settled not whilst we were waiting for ages) lol . That also took another hour. We reached Mumbai at 11pm instead of 8pm as planned..My husband is a Taj inner circle old member, he was put off by the whole ordeal. He said it is not like the Taj to be so shabby at their services and quality. After all it is the Taj! So guys please work on this .

Room Tip: The twin beds are tiny so it's best if you ask for a double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

The best place I have been to in my trip in India. Wonderful place, nice staff always ready to help clients. Very nice park hiding the road. Nice pool but it was too cold to use it. I had the opportunity to see a real indian marriage that took place in the hotel's park.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vasastan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2012

This is a large hotel with a pool, simply decorated and furnished. It is not easy to get to as it appears to be in the middle of a building site and is not well signposted.

Initial impressions were not good. The evening reception staff were too busy and couldn't be less helpful if they tried. They didn't need to try as it seemed to come quite naturally to them.

Rooms were gloomy and as a twin had been requested but was not available, I was expected to sleep on a child's put you up bed (much shorter than I am), complete with scribbling all over the headboard. Basically, attention to detail was not there throughout the hotel. Plastic laminate bedroom flooring and worn corridor carpet really don't befit this hotel, which has more untapped potential than it should have.

Things improved the next day. The morning front desk shift were much more helpful and arranged for a move to a proper twin room with real beds. Breakfast was better than average with a good Indian and continental selection. The pool is large and good, but only has a shallow end and a very shallow end (minor point). The bar is small and overpriced, but pleasant enough. The evening buffet was poor on the first night and very good on the second with Indian Chinese and Continental to choose from (I got there early). Pasta was on offer too.

The standard of cleanliness could be improved as dirty walls and doors were evident and could have done with freshening up. The bathrooms have good showers and are well designed, but again could really do with a deep clean.

Grounds were spacious and well kept.

Internet was a sting at RS150 for an hour in the business centre.

With the right attitude and management it would take little to raise this hotel to an excellent rating. Variable staff and poor attention to detail with inconsistent food lost it 2 points on my score which is based on hotels of a similar standard.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the pool (West facing) either floor. Next best are the rooms on the easte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlbUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2012

We had stayed at Gateway Ambad in the 1st week of January.We had booked two rooms facing the pool.Rooms were good , well stocked with whatever is required for a comfortable stay.
The staff is good, courteus and eager to help and well mannered.
Food at the Panchratna ala carte was much much better than the Buffet at GAD( all day dining). We tried buffet on 2 nights but the food was not up to the mark at all. Would surely recommend ala carte.
One more letdown was the recretaional activities was really managed well. Even a basic table tennis board was worn out with dust all over..the rackets had their leather coming off..we had to actually get them changed twice but to no benefit all were the same. This is one area where the hotel surely has to work especially if it has has TAJ brand attached to it.

Leaving these areas aside it is a beautiful property vit vast gardens, well mantained also where you would love to take walk in the evenings.

Would visit this hotel again if ever visiting to NAshik.

Room Tip: Try taking pool face rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Namy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nashik hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Express Inn
Hotel Express Inn
#2 of 54 in Nashik
763 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Nashik
Ibis Nashik
#8 of 54 in Nashik
697 reviews
7.4 mi away
Savana Lake Resort
Savana Lake Resort
#5 of 54 in Nashik
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Meuse Jupiter
The Meuse Jupiter
#44 of 54 in Nashik
161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hi 5 Hotel
Hi 5 Hotel
#3 of 54 in Nashik
445 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ginger Nashik
Ginger Nashik
#6 of 54 in Nashik
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik

Property: The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik
Address: Midc Ambad Nashik Road | Mumbai-Agra Road, Nashik 422010, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Maharashtra > Nashik District > Nashik
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Nashik
#1 Luxury Hotel in Nashik
#2 Business Hotel in Nashik
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Gateway Hotel Ambad Nashik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taj Residency Nashik
Taj Residency Hotel Nashik

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing