We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking!”
Review of Elephanta Caves

Elephanta Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.00*
and up
Private Elephanta Caves Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elephanta Caves are situated on Elephanta Island about 7 kms from Mumbai’s mainland shore. The caves can be reached by an approx. 1-hour boat ride from Gateway of India.
Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Breathtaking!”
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Visiting the Elephanta Caves threw me into a reverie, almost instantly pushing me into a world of awe, wonder and astonishment. The carving of Bhairava struck fear into my heart the moment I looked upon it, and when was this carved? 10,000, 15,000 years ago? Who was the sculptor who could strike fear into my heart so many thousands of years later? I wish I knew his name, and thank him or her. The sculpture of the beautiful Goddesses left me with respect and wonderment.
Don't miss visiting this place. The place isn't very well taken care of, but it's survived this long, hopefully it'll survive another 20,000 years or more...
The short boat ride to the island costs about Rs.150. Catch the boat from the Gateway of India location.

Visited February 2010
Helpful?
5 Thank gaararules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    572
    234
    50
    31
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“Visit to Elephanta Caves jus for rs.500/-”
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We visited Elephanta on 24th December 2010 it was a wonderful experience the entire trip was just for Rs.500/- for two of us! Amazing

From Churchgate station we went walking till gateway of India (Its a 15mins walk from Flora Foundation. Onces we reach Gateway of India there were many Ticket seller for Elephanta caves ferry, my personally recommendation please go and buy tickets from the Counter, its is just situated at the Left hand side of the entrance. It Cost Rs.130/- PP (Return ticket) if you wanna sit at the deck you have to pay 10rs extra pp.

When we went on the deck it was just a amazing experience wen the ferry starts and moves The view of Gateway of India and The Taj Hotel is awesome. We saw many Merchant Navy Ship, its a 30mins ride till elephanta but worthit ride.

When finally we reach at our destination there is a Toy Train which will take you till the entrance of the elephnata caves. Toy Train Ticket Rs.10/- pp (return)

Entrance Ticket is Rs. 5/- pp (No need to take a guide or Guide Book from the Stall) Onces you reach the top again you have to pay Enter Charges Rs. 10/- pp then finally we enter the Caves at the entrance you can see the Guide Map & Arrow mark direction. Video Shooting is not allowed in the caves only Photography is allowed.

One can view a great view from the island.

There are many small restaurant where you can eat

If you'll take early ferry you will enjoy and explore the place better & do ask someone about caves & last ferry timing as per my knowledge its around 6pm.

Our entire Trip we spend only Rs.500/- for two of us!!! Superb Cool

ENJOY THE INCREDIBLE INDIA

Helpful?
114 Thank thapiyal_pushpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“nice hangout but unmaged”
Reviewed June 29, 2010

good place to go in rainy season, has a lot of greenery around but the monuments are all broken so not worth seeing

Helpful?
6 Thank GHUMAKADMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A bit of history away from the bustle of Mumbai”
Reviewed May 31, 2010

From the Gateway to India you take a rather long ferry ride to the Island which showcases historic carvings in hand-hewn caves. Take a guide with you as it is very interesting but no information is provided on site. Be warned though - it is a long steep climb to the caves up steps that are lined with stalls selling all the usual trinkets. At least it gives you a break from the climb! You can take a palaquin carried by 4 men (I don't know how they do it and earn every rupee).
There are macaques at the top but are affected by goitre from rubbish tourist food.

Helpful?
20 Thank NewcastleCatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MUmbai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peace in life”
Reviewed April 29, 2010

we once visited elephanta caves, in the month of march on the ocassion of mahashivratri. people from oher countries also participated in the festival.
this island is one of the peaceful places in india, where real life exists.

Helpful?
16 Thank laderohit_18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephanta Caves also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Elephanta Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing