We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only worthy for the trip”
Review of Elephanta Caves

Elephanta Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.00*
and up
Private Elephanta Caves Tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elephanta Caves are situated on Elephanta Island about 7 kms from Mumbai’s mainland shore. The caves can be reached by an approx. 1-hour boat ride from Gateway of India.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only worthy for the trip”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Sunday, 7am, we woke up. After a quick shower and breakfast we went to vashi´s train station by tuk-tuk 60(rupee). There we took the train to Mumbai CST on plattform 4 (30rp per person return tickect).
We arrived after 1h of an amazing experience. At 11h we arrived near gateway of India where we took the boat to elefanta island, the boat trip is amazing with a beatifull view of the taj mahal hotel and the gateway itself, after half na hour we are in the middle of the way and we only see hundreds of boats and cargos around us.
The island itself is really nice, and the small markets till the top are great and cheap, (Just try to not eat anything that doesnt look good...).
When we arrived to the top of the hill first big desapointment...250 rp for tourists and 50rp for indians to see the caves... after we paid we walk through the first cave and second disapointment, the cave is surely a world heritage but overcrowded and with a poor state of conservation, a lot of garbage and people always ready to scam you for some rupees.

Overhall a really good adventure, its a great trip to do while in Mumbai, but think twice before paying 250 rp to see nothing extraordinary...you can always go just for the island, and spend a good time around or trying one of the restaurants up the hill! (goodluck)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    389
    573
    234
    50
    31
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kabul
Level Contributor
109 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“A Very Enjoyable Half Day”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Took this trip which originated from the India Gateway in Mumbai. Cost was very cheap, like 150Rupees. Boat departed at 0900hrs, cruised for about 1hr and we landed at Elephant Island. The boat lets you off at the end of a 1km long pier, which can be challenging in the morning heat. There is a small "kiddy railroad" which runs on the pier and will take you to the shortline for a very nominl fee.

The trek up the mountain can be strenous; there are about 200 steps, with vendors selling everything imaginable on both sides of the paved path. There are about 4 "sit-down" snack bars one can use to take a break, or you can opt to sit in a chair and be carried up the mountain side by 8 grown men.

The caves themselves are pretty impressive. Unofficial docents were offering their services for about 500Rupees. I hired a gentleman and was very satisified. Over the course of about 40 minutes he explained the significance of the statues and took about half a dozen photos of me while posing in the optium spots to show the statues.

The boat ride to and from the island was good, not too crowded, and gave me the opportunity to see various freighters and oil tankers.

I left the India Gateway at 0900, and was back at 1300 - it was a enjoyable morning which I recommend others experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank goodinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Too hot in March”
Reviewed March 21, 2014 via mobile

Took the boat to the island, on the top deck, I have to sit in the sun all the time since the shadow part is all taken. On the island was also very hot. Met a quite nice guide in white named Chandkant, he showed me around and also his house. Very simple house, but I can imagine how his daily life look like.

Helpful?
Thank Weijia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“An excellent gateway from Mumbai”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Elephanta Caves located in Elephanta Island,consists of two groups of caves—the first is a large group of five Hindu caves, the second, a smaller group of two Buddhist caves. The Hindu caves contain rock cut stone sculptures, representing the Shaiva Hindu sect, dedicated to the god Shiva.
Can catch a ferry from Gateway of India, Mumbai to Elephanta Island.
Elephanta Island is an excllent weekend gateway from Mumbai.
View of Arabian sea from top of the island is excellent.
Beware of monkeys.
Burgain a lot if want to buy anything there.
Also can try Indian burger "vada pao".

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RanensTravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
718 reviews
185 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
“UNESCO caves”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I wasn't leaving Mumbai until I visited these caves which I am glad I did. The ferry is inexpensive as well as the entrance fee. It can get hot with the sun beaming down on you, but no worries there are plenty of vendors who sell everything including inexpensive sun hats. The caves are great and there are watch guards to make sure that the ignorants don't get on top of the statues to take pictures. There are plenty of inexpensive restaurants where you can relax after an hour or so of visiting the caves. Handicap people be warned that there are many steps to walk up, but you can hire two men to carry you in a KIng or Queen's chair up to the top.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Creeping_Death_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephanta Caves also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Elephanta Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing