We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trip to Elephanta” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephanta Caves

Elephanta Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.00*
and up
Private Elephanta Caves Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elephanta Caves are situated on Elephanta Island about 7 kms from Mumbai’s mainland shore. The caves can be reached by an approx. 1-hour boat ride from Gateway of India.
Tehran, Iran
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Trip to Elephanta”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

I had a trip to Elephanta in July 2013. I got boat ticket from the guy who was standing at Appolo Bunder. The boat was so old and had not safety equipments but cheap (100 Rupee + 10 rupee more if you are intrested to sit in upeer floor). after 45 minues we arrived to the island. You need to pay 10 rupee as tax (so funny) and also some more rupee if you are intrested to get in the small train which take you to the next of the mount which the cave exists.
As I got out of the train, I saw so many monkeys which were waiting for new commers. They rushed to the people and took (Stole!) all foods (corn + potato chips + fruits , ...) from visitors. If you have a camera with you I can recommend to put it in your back pack in order to be protected from being stolen by monkeys. by the mount there is a long stareway. 15 min marching will take you to the intrance of the caves. Nice to know that there are some sellers during the way which sells indian hand crafts with a fair price. Anyhow you can ask for some discount if you like.
Before entering you have to pay entrance fee (10 rupee for indian and 100 for foreigners!!! anyhow because of this fact that I look like Indians I just paid 10 rupees !!!)
Inside the cave There is no Elephant! There are some Statues from Indian Gods. It is really nice to know that theses statues were created by hands and simple tools houndred years ago.
Unfortunately there is no light inside the cave so it is good to visit this place when it is sunny and not cloudy (when I visited!!!).
On the way back because the rain just started, after some minutes it was raining cats and dogs and the sea became stormy. I have to confess that it was so tribble after 2 hours we reached to the bunder. I remember when I got out the boat I was fully wet inside and outside. anyhow I beilive it worthes to visit this place just for one time not more.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Amir B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    365
    537
    225
    47
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“You can skip this”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Its a typical tourist thing. Long boat ride to an island with one significant historical element surrounded by tourist trappings and staged so that the tour guides and merchants all fight for your attention and dollars. The temple or caves are interesting and the fact that there are1200 native people struggling to make a living on this island (and trying to make a living) is also interesting but you basically walk up 120 steps (which has probably killed a few tourists) lined with stalls to reach the caves and then battered around and given a variety of interpretations of what you are looking at. Wikipedia and probably any reputable tour book explains it well. It's interesting but I don't know that it's worth a 3-4 hours.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank CindyAdentures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Going back in Time ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Visited the place in Dec. with family after a very long time , but this time went with a professional guide Pankaja . worth the guide .
it was a refreshing experience for me although lived in Mumbai almost most of my life.

Must place to visit for tourist to the country, city .

The boat ride is also an experience by itself.
rgds
Christopher

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

This is a truly beautiful cave, and it actually feels more like a temple. The various statues of Shiva are exceptional, particularly the many-faced one. An exceptional place, unlike the other caves, which are not as rich.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“It's a nice trip away from the bustle of Mumbai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

The trip is worth more than the caves. While the caves, sculptures and carvings are quite impressive (and almost 2500 years old), particularly cave 1, even if they are a bit eroded. Nonetheless, this requires a boat ride across from Mumbai which is quite pleasant, and the island itself is nice. Thankfully, the amount of shops and sellers up the quite steep stairs mean that there is constant protection from the sun from the harbour to the caves themselves..

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephanta Caves also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Elephanta Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing