We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough, though not outstanding”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Elephanta Caves

Elephanta Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.00*
and up
Private Elephanta Caves Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elephanta Caves are situated on Elephanta Island about 7 kms from Mumbai’s mainland shore. The caves can be reached by an approx. 1-hour boat ride from Gateway of India.
Kampala, Uganda
Level Contributor
407 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Nice enough, though not outstanding”
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Nice enough day trip, the island showing off some impressive stone sculptures with monkeys all over the place. One was tugging at my leg as it turned out I was standing on some of his lunch.

Get your tickets for the ferry at the Gate of India from individuals either directly before entering the square, or at the dock, behind the gate.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MastaBaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    375
    548
    230
    50
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Pleasant trip away from hustle of Mumbai”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent about 4 hours on the island - about 6 hours in total so you need most of the day to enjoy this trip. The fare was 150 rupees from the Gateway but an extra 10 each way to sit on the top deck.
It is a strenuous walk up to the caves - we didn't think it worthwhile to take the train because this only saves a short walk on the easy part of the hike. The caves are certainly worth a visit but only the first cave is really significant for it's carvings.
We did enjoy a walk signed to the gardens which we never actually found. It was very peaceful here and there were a number of interesting birds to see.
Beware of "guides" showing you a short cut to the top of Cannon Hill - there isn't a short cut they are just after your money.
Recommended for anyone wanting a break from the hustle and bustle of Mumbai.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank daveanddore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit near mumbai”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Its an hour drive from Mumbai from boat , The boats are really sad so be careful while booking the boats.

But when you reach the place. Its actually very clean and the caves are really beautiful, one should not miss this place when in mumbai .

For the food, There are pretty good restautrants with decent food .

Monkeys are a nusance here , But overall .. Must visit place

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sonal3684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A nice day trip from Mumbay”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The boat ride is an hour each way and costs 150 rupees for the return ticket (fixed price, so don't let someone sell you a ticket for more or let anyone charge you extra for the way back). The caves a really exceptional and not badly preserved. Beware of 'guides' selling their services for upwards of 400 rupees. A free tour is offered with the ticket, albeit short, unless you are a real buff of Hinduism or Indian history, a stroll around will do. Stairs to get to the caves can be streneous, especially in the heat, but porters are available for hire.

Bargain hard for souvenirs on the way up or down. Do not eat food in the open as the monkeys are quite agressive - they even tried to steal my water bottle twice, so better keep those in backpacks as well. I would be careful with loose cameras just in case - they seem to be on the lookout for anything to snatch from people.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Airspy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“One of the highlights of our trip”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I truly believe this is one place that should not be missed. It is a pleasant half day excursion when you factor in the boat ride to and from the island. The carvings in the cave are beautiful, I can't imagine how beautiful they must have been before being partially destroyed. I highly recommend having a guide to explain the carvings. The climb up to the caves (about 120 steps) is made a little easier by the vendors on either side putting up tarps to provide shade. There is quite a walk (1/4 to 1/3 mile) from where the boats dock to the entrance of the park, near the steps. There is a small triain that will provide transportation to the entrance. There is supposedly a fee for the train but we never saw anyone collecting tickets. There are many animals wandering freely along the way to the entrance; dogs, cows, goats, etc. so watch your step! There are also wild monkeys near the steps which are very quick to snatch things out of your hands, especially beverages. It is pretty interesting to watch it happen, they are so quick. There are toilets available, but there is a fee. There is a snack bar available too should you want to take a quick break at the end of your visit. One last thing, you can be carried up the steps to the caves for about $20 US, but our guide said, don't pay until after your return down the steps as the carriers have a habit of disappearing if you pay them once you get to the top. (We saw the chairs, but did not see anyone using them.)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephanta Caves also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Elephanta Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing