We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place for a picnic” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elephanta Caves

Elephanta Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.00*
and up
Private Elephanta Caves Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elephanta Caves are situated on Elephanta Island about 7 kms from Mumbai’s mainland shore. The caves can be reached by an approx. 1-hour boat ride from Gateway of India.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice place for a picnic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We arrived at the Gateway of India at around 1 PM and decided the take the ferry to Elephanta caves. The tickets can be bought at a counter and the general ticket would cost you Rs 120 while the luxury ticket Rs 170. We were wandering near the Gateway when we bought tickets from an agent. He sold us the same for Rs 120 while the ticket had Rs 105 mentioned. Now, what we did not realize was that this ticket was for a smaller boat and not the more comfortable big boat. Ensure that you buy the ticket at the counter and take the big boat. The experience in the smaller boat is not that great. After reaching the island, you can buy train tickets for Rs 10 per person. However, there is no one checking for tickets on the train. Most people just hop on and hop off. The climb to the cave is OK and you will not be very tired. Once you reach the caves, you can spend time there and view from the top of the hill is worth spending all the time coming by boat. Overall, keep aside a day or 6 hours if you want to do Elephanta.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
8 Thank manusrikumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    366
    538
    225
    47
    29
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Elephanta Caves - Excellent for Families and Couples”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Elephanta Caves are on Elephanta Island, a good one hour jetty ride from Gateway, Mumbai. The place is good for a stroll and for one to connect with Indian culture, but one might find the jetty price too steep when they just get to spend a little under two hours there.

The food is pretty palatable all around, and I had one of the most scrumptious corn I have ever tasted. One suggestion is to keep change handy, as you have at least three points where you need to give teners.

All in all, it's a good half day picnic spot.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank roydsilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The megapolis,the sea,the hill,the cave;Elephanta:A journey through time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

The journey to Elephanta from Gateway of India is akin to a journey in a time machine.As you leave the shore of Mumbai the view of Sky-scrappers fade away and you see the endless Ocean.In the midst of it is the Elephanta island.After 11/2+ hrs you will reach the island.A walk of around 25 minutes and that too up the hill will take you to the cave.But once you reach there the giant stone carved structures will relieve you of the stress.This is one of the world heritage sites and the statue of Tri-murti (three-headed God) wll never fail to mesmerise you.There are few smaller caves spread across this island.Do spend few minutes in walking around this hill and take a look from the top.
Point to remeber:those who are old or having knee problem or asthmatic should avoid walking up the hill and take aid of human carriage.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bankims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nise place for change”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

It is good place to get change from your daily busy life. It is near to Mumbai. You can reach by launch service. It will take 1.5 hr. Caves & surrounding are good. Basically it will take you aways from your daily routine. Good place to visit with family.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SUJIT R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“beautiful cave”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

I was lucky, I had a good guide that told me the stories relating to the cave. I found it very interesting. There is an hour each way on a boat that does have shelter and is very pleasant. The little train is quite a good move as (when I went) it was in the thirties. The walk isn't that far but you do have 120 steps to climb after reaching the village. There are the normal market stalls on the way up, monkeys etc. so very entertaining until you reach the cave. I only did the main one as apparently the others are nothing to see.
My guide was through the agent I had made my holiday booking with and I was very satisfied with her. I don't know how local guides would be.
I would recommend this as part of a Mumbai trip, if you have 3/4 hours to spare.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jools011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephanta Caves also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Elephanta Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing