We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced and waste of time.”
Review of Elephanta Caves

Elephanta Caves
Book In Advance
More Info
$61.00*
and up
Private Elephanta Caves Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Elephanta Caves are situated on Elephanta Island about 7 kms from Mumbai’s mainland shore. The caves can be reached by an approx. 1-hour boat ride from Gateway of India.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Over priced and waste of time.”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

First of all I find it digsusting that for the price of one international visitor you can take a bus load of Indians for the same price.
If the place was well looked after and if you could see that your money was contributing to restoration or towards cleaning the area, OR if the supplied you with an information booklet or even a few signs than I would feel a lot happier about the price difference. We were told that our ticket included a free tour guide however once we were inside we could not find a free guide, however we were approached by many guides asking for money.
The island was a mess. There was rubbish everywhere and the caves /sculptures where nice, few i do admit were impressive but I wouldn't recommend going unless you are bored or have nothing to do.
The ferry ride was the highlight.
I have been traveling through India for over 3months and this was one of the more disappointing places I have come across.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Barlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    383
    565
    233
    50
    30
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“HURRENDOUS!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was without doubt one of the worst most pointless things I have ever been too!! A short ferry ride from The gateway to India (approx 45m) however there is so much walking when you get there, vendor sellers constantly mithering you, disappointing caves and thieving monkeys!! Haha! My advice - enjoy some extra time in bed or anywhere else!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
6 Thank Dave P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nothing to see, but njoyed the one hour Ferry ride.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Well, I kinda like caves and natural beauty, but there is not so much stuff to see at Elephanta. Nothing at all of a kind that it has been declared as world heritage. There are in total 5 caves(namesake). We can say there is something to see only in 1st cave. 1st cave consists of the sculptures which are damaged. Only one - Brahma-Vishnu-Mahesh, sculpture is totally intact, rest all of them are damaged, even you may not even recognize anything in it. Remaining 4 caves consist of nothing except empty chambers for nothing, empty just 4 walls, nothing else.
The two canons kept at top, worth to walk 1 km if only the atmosphere is much romantic. Don't waste your energy if climate is hot. The view that you'll get after climbing 1 km is not worth of wasting so much sweat.
In short I would definitely choose Rajeev Gandhi National Park over these caves.
This was the 1st time I got disappoint from the review of TA, I saw the review here and decide to take a visit.
Only thing that was exciting was 1 + 1 hour ferry ride.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank lonetravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Enjoyable visit”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Boat ride over was pleasant. Take a guide with you.... explanations from guide help a lot.
Know that there are over 100 steps(not steep ones) to get to the caves. There are men
available to carry you up in a chair.(approximately $12 US roundtrip). Lots of animals to
see and nice views of the island. Lots of touristy stands to purchase souvenirs, if you
so desire. The sculptures were beautiful and found this to be a worthwhile excursion.
Boats may not go during monsoon season is seas are too rough.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank 33388Traveler1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Nice Place for Those With Few Expectations!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

I have been here several times. By nature I do not find caves particularly interesting for me journey is better than this destination itself. An Indian National can make this visit in approx. INR 400 (including various fares, meals, snacks, etc). One can board a ferry from Gateway of India for a return fare of approx INR 130. For those who want to avoid crowd, it is better to board first ferry that starts around 9:00 AM IST. The schedule is never fixed, it depends on when they have enough people on board to make economic sense of journey. During rainy season, i.e. from June till October, you may not find much variety in types of ferries. In other months you can have a choice. For those who hate choppy waters, November to January are better months. For people like me, who can relate their life to choppiness of rough sea, rainy season is a great option. Unless, it is extremely warm, one should find a seat on upper deck instead of the lower one. During rainy season, upper deck is far more exciting as you have to hold not just yourself, but also your seat to prevent it from relocating to the middle of deck. Crew will 'unfairly' charge INR 10 to let you go to the upper deck but there is no point in arguing with them. In clear weather it takes around 40 minutes to cover the distance. It may take 75 minutes if the weather is otherwise. On way one can spot some large ships and one or 2 islands. As per rules, photography is prohibited on the ferry. May be the direction has something to do with the presence of naval base nearby. However, more often than not, you will find people voilating this rule. Once you reach the Elephanta island, people will accost you to guide you through your journey. Even if you feel that you need a guide for better understanding of the facts, it is better not to hire one here as you can get a free guide at the entry pont to the caves. Please see that there are at least 2 points where you have to pay some money to reach the caves. You will get a free guide at the point just after climbing the slope comprising of 120 steps. Anyways, from jetty to the steps, you have an option of boarding a toy train for a return fare of INR 10 (approx). I prefer to walk this one mile if the weather is fine. Do get some bottled water as soon as you alight from the ferry. You will need it in plenty. Avoid taking snacks along as monkeys need that in plenty and they are bold enough to snatch it from anyone. If time is not an issue with you, then you can have your breakfast here before climbing the steps. The menu is generally simple and will be mostly South Indian. You can proceed with your climb post breakfast. At the top of steps, you will find another eating point on your left. You can get sandwiches, potato chips, masala dosa, soft drinks, etc. Once done you can pay a nominal fee (around INR 10 for Indian Nationals) to see the caves. Here you can ask for a free guide. There are plenty of facts about these 5 - 6 caves but since I have never found caves interesting, so i won't be able to throw any light on it. You can find monkeys and some cute little puppies around. Apart from caves, one can see a couple of cannons in the vicinity. There are some rest rooms at MTDC hotel. Many visitors prefer having lunch here. Otherwise you can always relax under cool shade of some tree. First ferry leaves Elephanta at around 12:30 and last around 17:00. One is not supposed to stay overnight on this island. You can buy some souveniers from stalls alongside the steps. Try to bargain hard and reduce the deal to 25% of initial quote. During high tide, this return jouney is unforgettable! It will make your forget that you have are carrying a camera.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
11 Thank Navjot G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elephanta Caves also viewed

Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
Mumbai (Bombay), Maharashtra
 

Been to Elephanta Caves? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing