We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Naturally beautiful, great food!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat
Ranked #5 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Naturally beautiful, great food!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I was recommended by my friend who lives in California and she was absolutely right. Beautiful location, very simple, rustic and a bit adventurous place. We stayed for 4 days at ecoland and also discovered the entire munnar and our tour was organized by ecoland. We enjoyed the food a lot, since we were pure non vegetarian er had many choices from country chicken to rabbit meat prepared in indian style, the food tasted so good and we think its due the spices used which is from the farm. We loved peace and tranquillity about the place, its always personal. There was a slight drizzle when we arrived but apart from that there was no issues during our stay. The main care taker stays in the farm house with his family and was always help full when in need. Our driver kannan was superb during our travel and showed us every possible place. We were not looking forward to see the normal so called sight seeing spots around in munnar, we were looking for unseen spots around Munnar. Trekk to Moolapullu was awesome passing by forest and plantations. We loved the experience at ecoland and really will recommend to people who are looking out for nature friendly stay, but do not expect luxury.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rock house, since we were a group, we loved the privacy and secluded feeling there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Roughingitup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    36
    5
    2
    9
See reviews for
49
59
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We checked in to elaecoland as 03 couples, 02 couples stayed in the Rock house and we stayed at the Tree House. Really unique experience in the middle of tall tress and cardamom estates . Do not compare this property with just an other resort or a hotel, ela is very unique and well explained at the time of booking about pros and cons. We thoroughly enjoyed the stay and hospitality. The food was really homely made with fresh vegges and country chicken. We like everything about this property, its simplicity , rustic feeling, adventure climb to the rooms and the beautiful stream. We had barbecue nights with bonfire and played our own music. The jeep drive was really cool passing through water falls, hanging bridges and flat rivers. All in all we had a lovely nature friendly holiday and will surely recommend to friends and will visit again.

Room Tip: Tree House and Rock house needs little bit of climbing and we loved it there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank MistyMount001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were seduced by the website for this, but arriving was a shock. Our accommodation was a shack nailed up a tree, and after the manager took us there he disappeared, and we were left to adjust to the dramatic change between reality and expectations. We didn't stay at all: paid for one night and got a refund for the next two nights. Stayed at 'Falling Waters' nearby which was much better

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GPP617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2014

wow! what an experience with mother nature, tall wild trees, spices, sound of valley , awesome climate with great food...is what i describe Ela ecoland! this place is meant for people who are in look out for just nature and not luxury, away from town in a beautifully located village settings. stay was just basic well maintained clean bedrooms and bathrooms with majic view. they have only a small team of 3 staff taking care of you with white collars, but with a sweet smile...me and my wife loved the home made food cooked by Mr.Muthu and would miss his food once we reach home. i was with him in the kitchen and learned few kerala recipes and would try it at out once we reach back home. we were lucky to carry some organic cardamom produced in the farm at ela . Mr.Jiji was really helpful with all the tips about moving around, we have decided to come back in 2014(Nov) for a long stay. this place is not recommended for people who wish to stay close to town or are handicapped or even for elderly . if you are not in love with nature do not go there, nature is your main host there with awesome view, also we could see the misty mountains from the tree house, all the best to Krishnan and team.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Karthik2luv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We 18 of us left cochin airport at 4 pm and informed Devasy that we will be arriving at about 9 pm. but unfortunately we got delayed on the way since one of my friends suffered from motion sickness and we had to stop many times on the way ( meanwhile Devasy called me a couple of times to know our position) . Finally we reached at about 12 am and sure enough the team was waiting there to greet us. We were even given freshly prepared hot food at that unearthly hour. We were completely bowled over by their hospitality.We had no idea of the place since it was late night, but in the morning it was all magic around us with beautiful view of the stream and cardamom plantations. Early morning we went for a trekk in the estate visiting Muthu's house( the farm house where he stays with his family) and watching all the birds, spices, different varieties of trees including the Rudrasha Trees, different type of fruits including oranges, wild banana tree ,huge jack fruit trees and lots of wild forest trees. We were only guests in the entire property and we occupied all the rooms. Our group did a full day jeep safari covering many beautiful serene spots including some beautiful flat rivers, forests, tribal villages and also a place called Elephant pond. We fully enjoyed the stay, tour arrangements and food. We played our own music whole night and had a great party.

The beauty of the place is that it does not look like a resort or a hotel, its just looks like a no mans land. We spent literally 3 to 4 hours in the stream in front and friends also did some fishing and tried out some country canoeing. I recommend them to have small boats to move around the stream. Only such small properties can offer such hospitality and warmth. Thanks to muthu , deva and rest of his family for taking care of us. we will surely be back very soon.

Room Tip: we occupied all the rooms, each rooms are different in theme and structure, tree house and rock hous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Meenashetty6799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Ela Ecoland is literally like living amongst nature. Located 15 kms further down from Munnar, ela provides an absolutely great experience that lets you get away and completely switch off from day to day life.

The TreeHouse were awesome with great views of the streams which pass by and mountains , you're surrounded by tall trees, we spent lot of our time at the tree house balcony.

No TVs in the tree house and no network on the mobile phone helps you stay disconnected from the rest of the world and appreciate the true beauty of nature - be it the beautiful flowers, the stream, the blue skies, the crisp fresh cool air or the fresh oranges.

The staff are extremely warm and courteous and make you feel at home. We had great food which for 3 days cooked by Muthu, awesome dinner and breakfast, tried lot of new curries and chicken, the barbeque at night really awesome with indian style marination. The fruit plate had many seasonal fruits and much from their own estate.

We celebrated our 5th anniversary by staying at Ela camp for 4 nights and didn't feel like leaving.

Highly recommended for nature lovers who expects no luxury!

Room Tip: Treehouse is the best option to experience this unique place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank StellaMoris8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

There are no luxurious here except for the natural beauty surrounding us and the 30 feet height Tree House built on huge 5 tress. And isn't this luxury enough?
The dinner at the restaurant was fine. Good taste, large portions, good quality. We prefered really local Kerala indian food (Tali etc.), and we found the menu a little to limited.

In the evening the fire place in front of the cottage was lid up by one of the staff. That was a real great thing. The kids fell asleep in front of the fire, and the rest of the evening was just as cosy as can be. Apart from this you needed the fire to keep the temperature up in the cottage. It actually got a little cold during the night, but there were extra blankets to solve the problem.

The absolute greatest time of the stay was the early mornings, watching the birds and stream pass by. So fresh, so beautiful.
Breakfast was really special. During the daytime we walked in the nearby area. Especially the cardamom estates and water falls . Very beautiful scenery.

So, in total we were really pleased with staying at Ela Ecoland. The location is the primary reason for going there. Secondly the Tree House. And thirdly, the service is very friendly and professional. Only a few minor areas needs adjustment which is mainly related to the pathways. But travelling in India you must accept this, and as mentioned the quality was fine. We can only recommend this place to people who loves simple pleasures close to nature.

Room Tip: The Rooms are well maintained and the service is very friendly and professional
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank EnchantingDays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
5.0 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
491 reviews
4.3 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
869 reviews
20.2 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 97 in Munnar
474 reviews
4.4 mi away
Nature Zone Resort
Nature Zone Resort
#6 of 161 in Munnar
347 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat

Property: Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat
Address: Kallar Annakulam road | Near Primary Health Center, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat 1*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eco Friendly property located on a hillock around the hills of Munnar. The property has got a small waterfall within the location right in front of the front desk. There are large virgin trees and a lot of cardamom and coffee plantations in and around the property. There are luxury tents, a rock house and a tree house available at the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ela Ecoland Nature Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing