We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple food but very very good in taste”

Saravana Bhavan Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Saravana Bhavan Hotel
Ranked #49 of 101 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

No frills...no ambience....just enjoy the food. Meals is what I had...it was packed during the lunch hour...ordered a meal...food served on a banana leaf and it was too good. 3 vegetables, chappati, rasam, sambar, papadum, pickle and then Rice. All unlimited. Eat to your fullest. Authentic Kerala Cuisine to be savoured if u are in Munnar.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
Thank Kalrav_Kapadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
There are newer reviews for Saravana Bhavan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 45 reviews

Reviewed August 4, 2013

Go here only if u have no hang ups about eating in a simple, really simple joint.
The food is indeed finger licking, very asy, authentic South Indian food. The waiters, the sitting, the cutlery everything is very simple.
Lunch time - u get food served in their traditional style in the banana leaf. No bowls or spoons unless u demand for it!
Even the dosa and idli are awesome. A must visit.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank aum1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is a budget hotel.it is very neat and clean and also simple.the people here wait for their turn for having food.T.he food is served to custmers on banana leaf. It seves very good south indian delicacies.I ordered a south indian thali for myselve and my wife. It contained 4 vegetables given in small bowls tasty samber and other items i.e chatnis papad and sweet dish and rice.the food served was very tasty. I therefore rate this hotel as Paradise for pure vegetarians

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rajinder59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located and easily accessible. The most crowded restaurant which we had to wait for almost half-hour to get seats... this was the only drawback here.. but for the tasty South Indian food this was excused. They need to improve only in the space to accomodate more people.The food served in banana leaf plates was a different experience there. The food price is very meagre when compared to rest of Munnar restaurants.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SR S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I was amazed to see people from different countries like US / UK / Canada etc. eating rice with sambar and multiple curries being served on fresh banana leaf! That was quite an achievement for any Indian restaurant :)

Tucked in a small lane but well known to all. We went at around 3:30 pm expecting little rush but was invited by a packed house and its all about rice and rice and some more rice! We had to wait for around 5 - 10 min. to get a table. Don't be surprised if you are asked to share a table! People are damn busy eating rice that they don't give a damn about who's sitting next!

We were not really in a mood to have thali so ordered some parathas, lemon rice, veg. biryani and Masala dosa. Dosa and parathas were quite good and veg. biryani is mediocre and lemon rice has no taste at all! Waiters were busy, too busy that they done even listen to your order completely.

All you have to expect while entering this restaurant is to get a neat plastic chair without any rice or sambar on it. Not great food but a place to visit for its multinational buzz!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaitanya3011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

i really like that hotel saravana bhavan, neatly management that hotel.suppliers,workers everyone in hotel they are very responsible.all indian veg foods are available, and its soo tasty and quality, its awesome hotel in munnar, nice really nice....

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gowthamkrithickmahad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have come across this place by a chance, but we knew it from delhi... what can I say our english friend said it is better than sherathon delhi indian restaurant-) our 6 year old son smiled when all arrived on banana leaves and he really loved it; not mentioning we have had top-ups all the time we were finishing and we paid absolute peanuts at the end. Great thanks and great smile to Saravana Bhavan!

Room Tip: attraction for the kids is banana leaves instead of the plate-)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marzena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#46 of 101 in Munnar
343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
102 reviews
0.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Fragrant Nature Munnar
Fragrant Nature Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
198 reviews
0.0 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Saravana Bhavan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saravana Bhavan Hotel

Address: Idukki Dist Saravana Bhavan Hotel Mg Road, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 101 Hotels in Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing