We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting Hovel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
Ranked #27 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Newark
Level Contributor
134 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Disgusting Hovel”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

We had the great misfortune of staying at this so called hotel for one night. The wet room was literally that, the toilet basin leaked, the mixer tap over the washbasin had a hole at the back that deposited more water on the floor than in the basin. The shower leaked so badly it was impossible to use. On the evening of our arrival we informed reception about these faults and they promised to fix the problems, on our return in the evening nothing had been done so we complained again and a man arrived with a large spanner and announced that he could do nothing until the next day.
During the night we were awoken by a large cockroach the size of a mouse that I killed and in the morning we noticed we had been sleeping on a torn and blood stained mattress.
This place operated in the knowledge that most people only stay for a night and the do not care about the conditions.
I complained to reception on our departure and received a cursory apology so I refused to pay the 3009 rs and asked for a reduction. The manager eventually arrived and said he could not reduce the tariff as it had been logged and the staff would have to pay the difference. The only reason I paid was that our taxi driver was getting very anxious to leave, talking about a local mafia and I could imagine the manager was in it.
I shall endeavour to have the payment stopped on our return to the UK.
I would not put a dog in this place and I don't like dogs!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Roy f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    160
    48
    25
    35
See reviews for
214
179
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

the hotel is good.the only thing is that the rooms they show on internet is not same as they show.we has our special guests with us and when we requested them to upgrade their room so they did it instantly.the room service is very good, food in the hotel is good.overall nice stay.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rakhee1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
1 review
Reviewed January 31, 2011

The hotel has a surprise inside with lots of wood splashed all around... The rooms are quite different from other rooms cos of the wood.... has a real cosy feel to it... The Chinaar wild life sanctuary night safari was great... Madan was a great help ...and we saw elephants!!!!! On a moonlit night this is a great feeling...The hotel itself has started to age... but still okay...great people to have around... The activity centre is good to keep kids off... The ayurveda centre is okay, a massage is great when you have been trekking. The food is good.. and homely... Housekeeping doesnt do a evening turn down.. But when you are travelling with friends and trekking I guess it doesnt make much of a difference.. Unlike other reviewers we didnt find cockroaches... and the river is not exactly Brahmaputra... But the small coffee shop overlooking the river is a great place to have a cuppa coffee.... Close to the city but tucked away from the hustle and bustle...Nice little garden where we had a private bonfire for a few bucks... Over all a nice place but the owners have to pull up the property .. maybe give it a bit of a sprucing up...Good place when travelling on a medium budget.. And we were told they would be doing it in March this year...

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarletpimpernel_ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

I was fooled by name RIVER SIDE. Actually it was NALA SIDE. The rooms are good but poor service.While checking in I was refused the type of rooms booked through CLEAR TRIP, Even production of printed voucher was not enough. After repeated argument finally I was alloted proper rooms.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SILJAYDEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2011

we enjoyed our holiday at munnar, the food was fantastic and the hotel staff are very co-operative we were surprised and touched by the service of the staff,It was a great pleasure being over the hotel and great experience and atmosphere was very good, we will like to stay again!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shiva12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2010

I was there for couple of days and services are worst. They do not clean room, do not clean left over items if you wanted food to sent to your room, believe it or not for my they did not clean for two days.
Also they do not clean bath rooms, They spoiled my vacation.
Please do not stay at this hotel. And they charge you left and right for every thing.

Ripp offf

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank raghu80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
2 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The experience was overall good. The rooms were neat and clean and overlooking a small lake. The food was average and we preferred to eat outside. The service was little laid back and we had to remind them again for few things. Nice option for budget travelers.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank an00p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#13 of 97 in Munnar
760 reviews
2.9 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
381 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#38 of 97 in Munnar
473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
866 reviews
13.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
0.9 mi away
KTDC Tea County Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar
#12 of 97 in Munnar
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts

Property: Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
Address: M.S.A. Road, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling among the majestic mountains of the western ghats at an altitude of over 6000 ft., Munnar ranks among the most enchanting tourist destinations in Kerala - "God’s own country." Your perfect getaway in enchanting Munnar is the three-star, WestWood Riverside. Forty well appointed rooms and one presidential suite offer you all the modern amenities. Special Honeymoon & Adventure packages are available on request. Check in at the WestWood Riverside Garden Resort in Munnar. And let your enchanting holidays begin. WestWood Riverside is promoted by the EVM Group of Companies. Designed almost entirely in a rich wooden ambiance, Westwood Riverside offers you forty one well appointed Executive Riverview, Deluxe and Specially decorated Honeymoon rooms. For the ultimate in luxury, there is also a glass-walled Presidential Suite. The rooms have great views, round-the-clock room service, travel desk, Wi-fi, satellite TV, 24 hours hot water, and much more. Airport pickups, guided tours, local site seeing etc. can be arranged.New facilities additions are our speciality open-air Barbeque restaurant, Fire Grill and services of exclusive Holiday planner to make our guests holiday more memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Riverside Garden Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing