We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slimy flooded bathroom floors”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
Ranked #28 of 95 Hotels in Munnar
Klang, Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Slimy flooded bathroom floors”
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We booked 2 rooms for 2 nights in early november.
We were not warned of the hot water supply which is only from 6 am to 10 am and from 6pm to 10pm Once we checked in,
we wanted to have our bath and when you open the tap, the bathroom floor starts to flood as if the drainage is clogged.
The water was about 2 inches high and we had to (disgustingly) take our bath in it.
Not only did the floor flood when you take your bath but also when you open the sink tap.
Both the rooms had the same problem, we complained to the front desk and they said that that was normal and it was because the floor was uneven!
We complained to our tour operator and they called up to investigate the matter.
When we returned the hotel gave us a room change (according to them only 1 room was available), so my parents were changed to another room.
We were still stuck with the slimy bathroom floor and they promised to fix the problem when were out.
They managed to fix the problem and when we came back on the 2nd night, we had a dry bathroom floor.
Other than the this bad experience, the hotel itself was ok, but they really need to address the hot water supply problem and the bathroom floor flooding problem.
We would never again want to stay in this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathelene80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinAJ001, Public Relations Manager at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Sorry, this is the first word i could say about the mis-handling of the issue from our side. as this is the peak season and said room has got the said complaint after getting the complaint we shifted the guest to higher rooms with good facilities as a compensation. Anyway we will assure the future customer that the issue like will not happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    150
    46
    24
    33
See reviews for
193
167
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
558 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

We spent two nights here at the end of October and loved it. We had a riverside room and the views across the river and towards the town were beautiful. Noise from outside was minimal - shame I can't say the same for all the kids screaming around the corridors though I can't blame the hotel for that (but don't get me started on parenting skills of people who take bus tours!)

Our room was gorgeous - a (rare) double bed, nice wooden floors, funky chairs and a balcony were the highlights. The bathroom was basic and there wasn't enough space to put toiletries etc.

The restaurant was very good - as the only Europeans in the place they spoiled us rotten which was a bit embarrassing because despite taking the buffet (at their recommendation - it was fantastic value) they wanted to serve us at the table.

Location is great - easy walk into town but very quiet. Nice little garden as well.

We couldn't leave on the first morning after our driver's car got boxed in by two buses in the car park. Thank goodness we didn't get up at 6 am for our jeep ride to the tea plantations as we couldn't get the car out until after 8.30 - again, not something I can blame the hotel for.

Staff absolutely obsessed with feedback and complaints. Every day someone came up to ask if everything was OK - we told them it was. "Any complaints madame?" came the reply each time.

No complaints from us!

Room Tip: If you need to get away early, check whether any coach parties are expected and ask your driver not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Koshkha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmwestwoodmunnar, General Manager at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Dear Koshkha, We are extremely thankful to you in selecting our hotel for your stay
in Munnar. We are also very delighted to know that you have a niece stay with us and
enjoyed your trip to Munnar. As mentioned there was a bit of noise and crowed around,
since it is the peak time here and log holidays for children.

Hope to see you again soon in our place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I spent my Holiday here july 2011. It is a beautifully maintained hotel with gorgeous grounds, a great location and wonderful service. We stayed in the suite, which had a nice sized bedroom with a large tub and free bathsalts. There was a basket in our room with water, fruit, cookies and travel guides, that was refreshed every day. Although some reviewers have mentioned about the service, but we found it good.

Breakfast is served either in the pretty, light dining room or on the outdoor terrace. The food was delicious and varied. All day long, coffee, ice tea, lemonade and juice are available and in the afternoon.There are several very good restaurants within walking distance or a very short car ride. This was by far one of the nicest places we have stayed in a long time. I highkly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2011

It was a a very good experience with Westwood gardens during my last vacaton. Good service, excellent location and feels very calm quet despite of the busy holiday season.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aliyar k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2011

i was stayed in this hotel september 2011, hotel got excellent view of greenary surrounded by munnar river. i am person whi suffered back pain frequently when i came to know the ayurveda therapy in kerala, i just want to make use of it when got the chance in westwood riverside munnar. i have undergone some hours of treatment in ayurveda spa therapy centre in the hotel. it gave me amazing results. ayurveda is fantastic.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rahul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

i was in munnar for aug 2011 with my wife for a holiday and stayed in the hotel for two nights. the hotel is located in one of beautiful location of munnar. food was good and staff was very good. i tried to write the review only because i forgot my camera in the hotels lobby and went to my sight seeing , after some time i realised that my camera was not there. i am afraid that it might have lost and i return to westwood for finding the camera. surprising the hotel staff taken the camera left in the lobby and kept in the reception. i should thank you for the service renedered by hotel staff
ravi sanker

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ravisanker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MartinAJ001, Director of Sales at Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts, responded to this review, September 1, 2011
dear sir,
thanks you very much for spending your time to give us a reveiew. we are expecting your kind co-operation in future also

Roy Joseph
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2011

We stayed in westwood for 3 days and the stay was really great.
Stayed in riverside room with a wonderful view in misty mornings and the service
we enjoyed from the hotel was superb.The staffs were very friendly and the food was excellent.Really want to stay again in westwood.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilip78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hillview Munnar
Hillview Munnar
#19 of 95 in Munnar
470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#13 of 95 in Munnar
711 reviews
13.8 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
785 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
421 reviews
2.9 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts

Property: Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
Address: M.S.A. Road, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling among the majestic mountains of the western ghats at an altitude of over 6000 ft., Munnar ranks among the most enchanting tourist destinations in Kerala - "God’s own country." Your perfect getaway in enchanting Munnar is the three-star, WestWood Riverside. Forty well appointed rooms and one presidential suite offer you all the modern amenities. Special Honeymoon & Adventure packages are available on request. Check in at the WestWood Riverside Garden Resort in Munnar. And let your enchanting holidays begin. WestWood Riverside is promoted by the EVM Group of Companies. Designed almost entirely in a rich wooden ambiance, Westwood Riverside offers you forty one well appointed Executive Riverview, Deluxe and Specially decorated Honeymoon rooms. For the ultimate in luxury, there is also a glass-walled Presidential Suite. The rooms have great views, round-the-clock room service, travel desk, Wi-fi, satellite TV, 24 hours hot water, and much more. Airport pickups, guided tours, local site seeing etc. can be arranged.New facilities additions are our speciality open-air Barbeque restaurant, Fire Grill and services of exclusive Holiday planner to make our guests holiday more memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westwood Riverside Garden Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing