We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ranger Woods
Nearby Hotels
$100
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$163
$142
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Noel(Pazhathottam)(Great Value!)
$83
$41
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$127
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Whispering Meadows Munnar(Pallivasal)(Great Value!)
$46
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$111
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$104
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Munnar Tea Country Resort(Chithirapuram)
$71
$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveler rating
25
18
4
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
18
4
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome staysuperior roomhome away from homehot waterbeautiful placeexcellent locationdelicious foodsunilforestbirdstubdriverchirpinghospitality
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 53 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2009

Hi,
It was the middle of the september when we went to Munnar and stayed in Ranger woods,this is one of the best resort i had ever stayed in.Situated rit in the lap of the nature.the whole resort is full of cardmom plantation and tea plantation,The owner Sunil ,he is a man of his word.Once u wouk with an IT company it is impossible to get time for urself and ur family,Ranger woods is such a place where u can explore urself and the nature both.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DONA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

Hi ,
I had been to Rangerwoods during new-years.This Home-stay always gets me fond memories of my holidays at kerala.Sunil and his mom are such generous hosts.They made our stay all the more comfortable.Sunil went all the way to collect my family(2 small kids,my younger one was less than a yr old then) in his personal car during the chilling night of new-year at copper-castle(although i had booked a private cab but the driver was not ready to get us back during mid-night)
Sunil also made arrangement at Swatic for ayurvedic massage .In fact he had to enter a scuffle with the driver as he wud not be getting any commission
The food by Rajesh their chef was excellent (i am myself a resaurant-owner).

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ravi_superb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2009

If you are planning a relaxing and memorable trip to Munnar you should definitely consider Ranger Woods B&B. It is a well run family place with knowledgeable and welcoming owners.

The rooms are very clean and cozy have a great view. It has a great location overlooking some very beautiful tea plantations away from the hustle bustle of the town. They have a good in house cook who churns out delicious Keralan style dishes. The surrounding nature is very plush and green. The owner Mr. Sunil was very helpful in arranging taxi transportation for the rest of our trip. We would certainly go back and stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellositara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

We have recently returned from a trip to South India. One of the places we stayed was Ranger Woods in the Munnar district.

Munnar is a gorgeous area, spectacular scenery and lots to explore, we only stayed for 2 nights but could easily of occupied ourselves for a couple more. A day spent simply doing nothing to enjoy the peace and quiet would not be wasted.

Ranger Woods is a small home stay/guest house located in Bison Valley approx. 6 km from Munnar town, I would recommend staying outside of Munnar town and Ranger Woods was excellent. The scenery around the home stay is spectacular and the birdsong at dawn a memory to treasure.

Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean and well furnished, with a large bathroom that had a western loo and constant hot water.

Brakfast is included in the room rate and served in a small dining room, you can specify pretty much what time you want to eat and what you'd like to eat from pancakes to Keralan breakfast to eggs (the fresh orange juice is particularly good here). For an extra (reasonable) charge you can order other meals at the home stay, this is well worth doing as the resident chef is a brilliant cook.

The home stay is run by Sunil and his mother, both of whom a very helpful. Sunil in particular has very good English and bends over backwards to make your stay a pleasure, he is also very knowledgable about the local area and happy to discuss it with you. We hired a rickshaw for a couple of trips and used Velu at his recommendation and would not hesitate to recommend Velu and his rickshaw to other travellers.

Unfortunately we did not take pictures of the accommodation, I will not attach one of the local scenery as they do not really do it justice, you are better off looking at the professional ones online - and yes it really is that beautiful.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank UKRatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews