We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discovering nature and people”
Review of The Tea Sanctuary

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Tea Sanctuary
Ranked #66 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Discovering nature and people”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Our family stayed at the Mattupetty Bungalow, KDHP in April 2012. It is a beautiful bungalow that sits very quietly in its environment, allowing nature and history to speak through our eyes and senses. The beauty of this bungalow gives you immense hope (because it's heritage continues) in a context where you see so many ugly buildings in Kerala and India, all screaming for attention - "I'm here, I'm here - look at me!!"

The staff, the location and the Mattupetty bungalow itself really make this place very very special. It has the potential to let families discover nature - you are in the midst of so much of plants, trees, flowers, fruits, water that you develop a relationship with your environment - and it slows you down, to become more aware of everything around you. You can go on many long walks with your family or alone and the staff from the bungalow have suggestions for trails and are also willing to accompany you on the walks,

The distance away from Munnar is just right - allowing you to be away from the noise of the town and at the same time there is easy and quick access if you have a vehicle at your disposal. Dharmaraj the manager at KDHP, Radhakrishnan the Chef at the bungalow, Vincent the housekeeper and other staff service you in a way that they know best: it helps to interact with them, open conversations, let them know your preferences and find out what they do well.

KDHP has around 22 to 24 bungalows on their estates but only 3 or 4 are on their website as the rest seem to be outsourced to other agencies.

There are many things that KDHP can do to take the experience to another level: from maintaining the furniture to many other things that will bring in more people and increase value for money. The tea museum in Munnar is also a fun place to visit to know the history of Munnar and its heritage.

It is certainly a lovely place for family reunions and for people who wish to read, go for long walks and tell stories. Alcohol is difficult to procure in Munnar

Room Tip: All the rooms are very large with great views. There is no air conditioning as it is not required mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank weboflifeDelhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    14
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
24
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012

...stayed here for 2 nights in April 2012. We had an absolutely great time. The place is bang in the middle of a vast tea estate. So quiet and peaceful, with gorgeous views. The bungalow is a quaint little place. We took the inside room - very spacious. Bathroom was huge. The Bungalow came with a cook and a helper. Both were very helpful and took care of us like family. We also had dinner both the nights. It was excellent. Breakfast was good too.

If you like walking about, there is plenty to explore. We also had the good fortune to see two wild elephants in the estate. Aside from that, you could also go mountain biking anytime.

Room Tip: Ask for the inside room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doonyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I stayed in the the Sevenmallay Bungalow (now known as The Tea Sanctuary) for 2 nights. It is located on the top of a hill surrounded by tea plantations all over. The view is spectacular and i think the best you can get in Munnar. The caretaker's of the Bungalow especially Mr D.Raja is a very good cook & will take good care of yourself. Ask him for the fashion fruit, it tastes very good. ( I heard & ate it for the first time). You can enjoy breathtaking views of the tea plantations & if you are an early riser, the mornings are great to see the sun peep through the trees. You can see the early morning mist, the valley surrounded by clouds & hear the birds chirping which normally you wont get in a city. All in all good experience and if you are ready to shell out few extra pennies for the view, then it is worth it !!!

Room Tip: Nights are lonely as it is on top of a hill and nothing really is happening around you, hence it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank PramK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ernakulam
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

the first thing to say about the tea sanctuary is its location. kanan devan has tea plantations all over munnar. amidst each tea plantation they have a bungalow. normally its 2/3 bedroom. the location is simply superb. you are not at all disturbed by the hustle -bustle of traffic or people. its as if you are cut off from the rest of the world. there will be care taker for each bungalow who prepares the food according t your tastes. the rooms are clean and so are the toilets. though it may seem a bit overpriced( @ rs 4000 per night) its actually worth the money. though we went with friends its best suited for couples.over all its worth the money.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sreeniketh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2012

Apparently the Tea Sanctuary operate a number of bungalows. We stayed at Kanniamallay (in Rough Guide as the best) with Louie and Stella looking after us. At least we thought his name was Louie we couldn't be sure.

The room we had was huge with a bathroom and another room for the kids to sleep in (on mattresses on the floor). It was a bit chilly at night, but they did give us a fan heater when we asked.

The location was fabulous - about 6km north of the craziness of Munnar town and set in tranquil tea plantations. We saw giant squirrels, black tree monkeys and any number of bright dragongflies & butterflies.

Everywhere were dramatic views, and plenty of non-demanding paths through the plantations to enjoy the views. Absolutely stunning. In fact the whole Munnar/Top Station/Erivakulam area was jaw-dropping.

Back to the bungalow - there was hot water, the food was good & plentiful, and they let us use the fridge to keep our contraband in (6 precious bottles of Kingfisher beer).

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this oasis to anybody.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked great - give the air a sniff in case of damp though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robotfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Its situated at the top of the mountain surrounded by tea plantations. The property is a large plantation bungalow with 3 bedrooms. The rooms are large, with comfortable beds, and can accomodate 2 mattresses on the floor for kids. The bathrooms are large but very basic - more like an Indian home thAn a high end hotel - was adequate though. The gardens were stunning, and our kids played soccer outside, and played on the swing. You can walk out of the property into the plantations and there is no traffic since there Are no other properties close by...we went and talked to the women picking the team leaves, walked up and down the hills - it was amazing. The caretaker Raj is a great cook and will make whatever you want (very reasonably priced too). This place is great if you are a larger group of 2 or 3 families and many kids. If its just a couple or a couple with kids, it maybe a bit lonely and isolated. Its great if you are looking for a relaxing time with nature and family in a clean place but not five start luxury, spa, room service etc.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank vivi0386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Our first stop in Kerala was Kumarakom followed by Munnar. I had been to Munnar only a few months back and didn't expect it to enthrall me again so soon. But was I to be proved wrong or what! My friend had booked this place and we didn't know how it would be, it was also a little difficult to find, mentioning 'Kannan Devan Hills' helped. Even the caretaker wasn't sure of the name of the place. When we reached we couldn't believe our eyes.. just one bungalow amongst the tea plantation covered hills with a lonely road winding up to it. It was a sight to behold. The staff was as courteous as ever and prepared a delicious dinner spread for us. Their caramel pudding took the cake! The ambience of the place has to be experienced to be believed. There were three rooms in all with huge bathrooms each. We had booked two, one room had a very plush bed while the other had a decent one. We woke up early to enjoy the scenery around, the entire place was shrouded in mist and the tea plantations had morning dew drops on them. It was a trekkers heaven. It's slightly on the expensive side but we got decent rates as it was not peak season.

Room Tip: Inform the staff in advance regarding the food arrangements.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bingir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
13.6 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
536 reviews
3.7 mi away
Tea Harvester
Tea Harvester
#6 of 14 in Chithirapuram
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
912 reviews
0.5 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#75 of 98 in Munnar
124 reviews
5.9 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Tea Sanctuary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Tea Sanctuary

Property: The Tea Sanctuary
Address: KDHP House,, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 98 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
The Tea Sanctuary Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing