We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent home stay with nature”
Review of Oak Fields

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oak Fields
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Mumbai
2 reviews
“Excellent home stay with nature”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel is situated just in between the nature, surrounded by tea gardens. The staff are very cooperative and the food was also good. especially the dinner buffet. The hotel manager has make all the arrangement for our local sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Subrata D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    41
    29
    12
    36
See reviews for
87
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Pros- Very scenic location , spacious rooms, excellent valley and tea garden view from room (310, 309). Relatively cheap.An early morning walk in the tea gardens to experience the sunrise is strongly recommended.
Cons- almost non existent room service,Limited timings for hot water, average food, 45 min drive from Munnar town ( u must have own vehicle to commute). Approach road is narrow but manageable even at dark.

Overall if you get it at below 1000 Rs (as we got it at make my trip) and you have your own vehicle, its a good value for money property. Don't expect much apart from rooms, location and price.

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the valley above the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RohitA318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed December 3, 2013

I got an offer "Book 1 night and get a night free + Coupon code" which made it 750 per night for 2 nights. This was a good deal. Everything was good, except food there. Too overpriced and not good. You have to have Dinner there, no other go. Cos no hotels nearby. Their restaurant menu is costlier than any normal restaurant. For their star range, they should have had only half the price of it.Breakfast buffet had only 4-5 items which is sub-par.But anyway, the environment was nice, near a tea estate. But far away from town. The nearest eatery is 4 kms away. So these are the only probs.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sundar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Oak Field was THE worst Hotel one could ever imagine in Munnar. Reasons for you to reject this hotel would be:

1. The hotel is not in Munnar, it is 9 Kms away from Munnar city.
2. They call this Hotel a three star property; though they don't even have a proper Menu. The Menu-Card is served as a print out of a daily buffet with price mentioned by pen on paper.
3. Terrible breakfast experience.
4. You are forced to have dinner in hotel since there's no restaurant available in atleast 5 Kms area.
5. No option to go for a walk in the night since it's all dark surrounded by tea gardens.

Overall, we cursed this hotel and considered our badluck for Make My Trip to provide us with such a pathetic accommodation.

Room Tip: Don't ever choose this hotel..all the rooms have poor lighting with smell of some strange kind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hemant_Arora2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munnar hotels

Bengaluru
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 25, 2013

First the scary part - Oak Fields is about 6km from the town of Munnar, and these 6km in curvaceous mountain trails make for a treacherous 1 hour ride. I was doubting my decision of choosing this hotel during this one hour, when there was no signage denoting whether or not we were on the right path or not. But my spirits lifted when we finally got to the hotel. It was a beautiful white building, made even better by the lighting in the night and its setting of being in the center of a tea-plantation.
The early mornings invited us to trek into the plantation and made for a very good photography session.
The service was not quite proactive, but once we asked for something, it was looked at immediately and politely. I would look forward to visiting Oak Fields again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Mehul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights, I didn't get the welcome drink which is stated at my voucher till I asked for it for the second time after a false promise that it shall be sent to my room. I didn't get the mosqitu trap at the first night although I asked for it 2 times but I got it at the second day. The time of the Breakfast Buffet is 8:00 AM, at the first morning it started at 8:15 AM , at the second morining of my stay when it came to be 8:05 AM and it was still closed I went to reception and made a complaint, they forced the restaurant to open but after entering they said you have to wait because we are not ready.
The hotel is located at a very nice area far from the town with excellent veiws but it is far from any shops like grocery or any restaurants, so you have to bring with you all what your needs before climbing to the hote.
The breakfast is good but needs to be improved, they dectate tea with milk and it is high sugry and there is no coffee, instead they can have black tea and if any one wants milk he can add milk and sugre according to his taste, also they can provide Black Coffee.
The dinner buffet (costs 400 Rs.) is good.
I didn't book any transportation during my stay at Munnar, I arrived to Munnar coming from Kochi using KSTRC bus (ticket 82 Rs.), after reaching Munnar I hired Autorekshaw for 130 Rs.
The next day after breakfast I waited in front of the hotel and stopped Autorekshaw and hired him for a sight seeing tour and agreed with him for 1000 Rs. (including dropping me to hotel).
The third day I hired Autoreksha which took me from hotel after check out and dropped me at Tea Museum for 150 Rs. I believe that it was a good arrangement with good save of money

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chess_master
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

. ....gr8 hospitality. ...gr8 Superb location of d hotel.......value for money.the management of d hotel is very cooperative......the near by view of the hotel between 5-6pm is awsome...the washrooms of the hotel will give u luxury appeal.......

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
0.0 mi away
Munnar Black Forest Resort
0.0 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#73 of 97 in Munnar
122 reviews
0.0 mi away
Season7, The Nature Resort
Season7, The Nature Resort
#7 of 14 in Chithirapuram
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Emerald Inn
Hotel Emerald Inn
#68 of 97 in Munnar
149 reviews
0.0 mi away
Spice Garden Resort
Spice Garden Resort
#67 of 97 in Munnar
56 reviews
0.0 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Fields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Fields

Property: Oak Fields
Address: Bison Valley Road | Pothemedu Ottamaram, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Oak Fields 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
oak fields is situated amid cardamom and tea plantations and it has all the desirable luxurious comforts in 24 deluxe &13 standard rooms under a single roof. it has a spacious lobby with built in fire place, wooden floors and period furniture. the rooms are pampered with american spring beds, and baths with italian cubicle.it has a multi-cuisine restaurant which also serves traditional delicacies of kerala. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Oak Fields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Fields Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing