We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite homestay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Gardens Homestay
Ranked #3 of 187 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our favourite homestay”
Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

Spent two nights here at the beginning of March and would have loved to have stayed longer. Felt very well looked after by all of Tomy's family even from their youngest son. The rooms are very comfy and we had no problems with hot water. This homestay has a perfect balance between having your own privacy and feeling involved in goings on within the house. Dinner was delicious and we enjoyed the set up with all the guests dining together discussing their experiences.

Thank you to Tommy and all your family for such a memorable stay (and the gift of home grown coffee from the garden!)

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank AliceSimonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ty0258, Owner at Rose Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thankyou Alice for your experiance in my house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    124
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
136
367
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

This is a tough one to review. Overall, we think this homestay represents very poor value for money and is emblematic of the lonely planet syndrome. Gushing review seems to beget gushing review, even where the underlying quality of the experience doesn't warrant the praise. Nobody is willing to tell the emperor he's not actually wearing any clothes.

That's not to say, however, that there's anything wrong with Rose Gardens. Quite the contrary. The rooms are lovely and the family is very welcoming. The problem is, at 4000 rupees a night, this is one of the most overpriced homestay experiences we've had in India. To further complicate things, there are a number of hidden costs that the family are not upfront with, such as the (very tasty) dinner that is essentially mandatory yet never discussed until checkout, when a surcharge is levied. As others have noted, it's not the presence of the charge that is problematic, but it's the manner in which the business is conducted that leaves an uncomfortable feeling. The price for the dinner is never discussed and guests are simply told the time at which dinner will be served to them when they arrive.

Another incident that was a bit discomforting was the way in which Tomy discouraged us from catching a ride with friends (who had prebooked a driver) to a tea plantation (because Tomy was adamant that our friends' driver would not like to have us in the car) and said we should order a separate taxi. Based on this, Tomy arranged a Taxi for us, which we later discovered was a car emblazoned with Rose Gardens logos and for which he took a hefty commission. Again, there's no problem with this business model, but it is difficult to avoid a feeling that Tomy had been misleading about our need to book a separate car and it would have been nice if he had been upfront about his vested interest in dissuading us from taking the ride with friends.

At the end of the day, one is left with the distinct feeling that Rose Gardens is most certainly a (very successful) business. Add to this the fact that it is so far removed from Munnar town and that you miss out on the beautiful rolling scenery of the Munnar hills and it is very hard to recommend this thoroughly overpriced homestay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank GobiasInc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ty0258, Owner at Rose Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We have no any guest from Delhi The .last month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, Berkshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We spent four nights here in mid February having travelled from Fort Kochi. We experienced a very relaxing and comfortable time with this delightful family. Tomy and Rajeev are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble for them. We had a lovely large room with a very large bathroom too. It was very private with a balcony overlooking Tomy's nursery and woodland. We enjoyed Rajeev's cooking, particularly her coconut pancakes! We were introduced to some new foods and coffee from beans grown in their garden. We enjoyed sitting round the big table at mealtimes with other guests and sharing our travelling stories. Tomy was helpful with ideas for what to do in the area and it was thanks to him that we experienced an excellent day at the Talayar Tea Estate. This was our first experience of an Indian Homestay and we would recommend Rose Gardens to anyone visiting the Munnar area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newbury_england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ty0258, Owner at Rose Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Sir,



Thank you for your valuable time this review and it is glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with our `Homestay.
Kind regards Tomy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

I just completed a two night stay with a friend. This is a good option with welcoming hosts if looking for a clean place to stay in Munnar. However, if valve for money is what you are looking for this would not be my suggestion. It is very much a well run, money making business, which does not come across at first.

Advantages
- very clean
- large rooms with excellent bathrooms. Lots of hot water!
- delicious meals, breakfast included (but dinner comes at a hidden cost, see below)
- lovely family
- great tour suggested at Tayalar Tea Estate (there are rooms available here and are gorgeous!!! Only 6,000-8,000 and worth it!)
- free, reliable wifi
- owner keeps a very large garden that he takes you on an interesting tour of

Disadvantages
- not the picturesque location it is made out to be in Lonely Planet. It is right on the side of the main road and the garden is not particularly attractive. Rooms do each have their own balcony, but the view is of nearby treetops and is not of the hills. If you are unlucky enough to be on the bottom floor your view is of rabbit cages.
- it is about 10-15km from Munnar making a taxi anywhere necessary - which they will kindly organise for you, but it's their taxi (which they don't disclose prior to arranging for you and high rates are charged). I think our group would have appreciated the owner being upfront about pricing from the start
- breakfast is included, and dinner is served to you without asking. We were very happy to eat dinner as it was delicious and eating elsewhere would mean a taxi, but it was served to us as if included and then money asked for at the end which leaves you feeling taken advantage of. At 250R per person, per dinner it is well worth it, but my suggestion to the owner would be advertising this upfront to avoid guests departing on a sour note.
- we, nor the other 4 guests, were made to fill out a hotel registry or supply our passports which I understand is government regulation. Does this mean the money was just pocketed?

I think this is one of those places that isn't worth the hype Lonely Planet generates. If you except that it is a business out to make money and not just a lovely homestay running for the benefit of its guests, you will not be disappointed. But, if you are looking for value for money or a lovely hill retreat Rosegardens would not be my recommendation. I would look into Tayalar tea estate if you are looking for a unique getaway in the hills.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ToriaBk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ty0258, Owner at Rose Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Sir,
Value is noted as a home. In Munnar more than 6000,double bed rooms. Resorts, Hotels, guest houses and Homestays. in no. of Homestays in Munnar is around 12 only.I think you expect more amenities o a f Hotel.
Before booking my house please visit my website.Clearley mentioned we are not in middle of Tea plantation.
Thankyou Tomy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 weeks in Kerala. We loved Kerala. When we talk about why we loved it, Rose Gardens is one of the first things I talk about. So hospitable, such incredible food, such a special place and lovely family. We travelled with a toddler and were so grateful for the garden-fresh organic food and for Deepu - thank you for playing with Will and sharing your toys! We wish we could go back, tomorrow!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarbergBergner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Tomy and his family were very helpful even before we arrived, with suggestions and help finding a good, reliable driver. When we arrived, we were served coffee, tea and selection of delicious cakes. We stayed two nights here and both nights dinner was excellent, home made food.

Based on both price and service, I highly recommend the Rosa Garden, to anyone planning to stay in the Munnar area.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I arranged mine and my husband's stay at Rose Gardens in advance and Tomy was very helpful in booking us a room and arranging airport pick up all the way from Kochi as well as a driver to take us further south when we left. I had asked for a room overlooking the garden so was pleased when we arrived and found our lovely room with the terrace outside and the colourful garden below. It was so calm and peaceful here that it felt like we were in a different world to anywhere else we had been in India so far.

Our room was lovely and big with 2 large single beds pushed together to make a double, which I’m not keen on but one single was actually big enough for both of us. We had a very modern and hot shower that was wonderful after a couple of weeks spent in dusty North India.

As soon as we were settled in, both of Tomy’s sons came to say hello and we were made to feel like part of the family straight away. The younger son outwitted my 27 year old husband at climbing trees and the older son showed us around the pretty garden and told us about all the plants they grew there. He was extremely helpful and I’m very glad he was on his holidays from university when we were there. He drove us to parts of Munnar where we could take a tea plantation walk from and the 5 hour walk, although very long and quite tiring, is absolutely beautiful through the green hills and forests passing waterfalls and little villages on your way. He also dished up our dinner and breakfast that Tomy’s wife had cooked which was very tasty and there was LOTS of it to go round. I especially loved the coconut pancakes for breakfast and the banana fritters that Tomy’s wife made as a mid-afternoon snack. The great thing about eating here is that they use ingredients from their garden so everything is very fresh and tastes wonderful. Make sure you try the honey and the pineapple jam. I also loved the sweet bananas and I don’t even usually like bananas!

The homestay is about a 20 minute drive out of the centre of Munnar but the town doesn't have much in it and staying in the quiet mountains is much more appealing. You need to pay for your stay in cash and there are no ATMs close by so make sure you get some cash beforehand. Tomy was kind enough to let us go to an ATM on our drive further south when we left and we gave the money straight to the driver.

A trip to South India should not miss out Munnar as it is a whole other world to the rest of India. Rose Gardens was an absolutely lovely place to stay and I wouldn’t even look anywhere else if I was ever to return.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the garden on the terrace are beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsAylasAdventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
883 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
18.0 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
506 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
968 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#1 of 187 in Munnar
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gardens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gardens Homestay

Property: Rose Gardens Homestay
Address: NH 49 Road | Karadipara, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Homestay. Tomy and his wife Rajee are the Hosts. Homestay Rosegardens is 10km. before Munnar town. It's surrounded by 2 acres of land. In the land most of the spices and flowers. We are running a floricultural Nursery also. We make home cooked food for the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Gardens Homestay Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing