We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice family atmosphere”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Gardens Homestay
Ranked #3 of 180 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Nice family atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

The atmosphere at this homestay was great, the family was very friendly and we felt like at home. The house was surrounded by a wonderfull garden, that the owner Tomy loves to show to the hosts. The meals were incredibly genuine and simply delicious, prepared by Rajee, who enjoys to have cooking lessons with the visitors, fullfilling every curiosity. They were full of good advices for visiting the surroundings, avoiding the touristic routes. The homestay is quite far from Munnar (12 km), but it's worthy!!

Room Tip: Ask for the back rooms on the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Fra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    123
    19
    6
    5
See reviews for
136
361
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pulheim, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I just can repeat what others have said before: beautiful house and garden, the host family has been extraordinarily kind and helpful. Tomy explained the plants and flowers in his amazing garden and gave me some really good advice for hiking and walking in the region, the eldest son drove me and other guests to the starting points. His wife Rajee spent every day hours in the kitchen to bring fresh food (3-4 different delicious vegetable dishes + 1 meat dish every evening!) and the breakfast was awesome. The first day I was a little disappointed because it is situated at the main road to Munnar with quite some traffic, but as the rooms are back to the garden, it was not at all disturbing. I loved to stay on my terrace in the afternoon (after a long walk in the morning), enjoying the view on the garden and the many different birds. The profume of the garden in the evening was incredible (and no mosquitos!).
I stayed 1 week, because I wanted some rest and I enjoyed every day of it.
And it was very nice to share the meals with really interesting people (while I was there people from Australia, England and France ( I am German).
The location is good, bus stop to Munnar (town which I found awful, but an end or beginning point of some walks) in front of the house, so you can go to and come from Munnar very easily and cheap. I would NOT stay in Munnar, it is an ugly town with chaotic traffic, noise etc. But the landscape around Munnar is very very beautiful.

I loved my stay there, thanks a lot to the whole family, you have been really nice
Brigitte

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brigitte19502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We loved staying at this gorgeous, amazing place. Each room has a terrace overlooking a spectacular garden; rooms are large and clean and every night we had interesting conversations at a shared dinner table with the other guests. The host, Tomy, and his family could not have been more generous. Munnar is an extraordinarily beautiful part of India and they really helped us learn about it and enjoy it. Fantastic experience!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lauramanee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

Really nice host, Tommy will show you his garden and explain every plants and flowers. He has his own coffee tree/banana/ papaya/stevia/honey...
The rooms are super clean, very large bathroom. The water they use came from the mountain. Its very pure and you can feel it.
The lady is the perfect mother, if you are interested in cooking you can help her to make the dinner.She will explain everything. They have 3 boys, its a real family house.
Dinner is served on the dinning room, all the guests are welcome. We can share and speak with everyone.
Breakfast is awesome : french pancackes with cocunut and homemade honey and coffee !!
Bus stop is in front of the house, no need to move.

No comparaison with the others places in Munnar. The main city is aweful and crowded, Every guide book recommend to sleep outside of the city. Even if its 10km from there, don't hesitate you will have a great stay with really nice people
Its a family homestay and not an hotel, better for people who want to share their experience than for business workers who only want to get the wifi ( who is also included) :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CuisineClara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We spent 4 nights at Rose Gardens at the beginning of January and loved it!
Our room was nice and big with a veranda overlooking the tropical garden.
It was a really peaceful spot and our hosts Tomy and Rajee were amazing!
Tomy used his great local knowledge to help us plan some unforgettable hikes and day trips.
Rajee's cooking was absolutely delicious. Many of the ingredients were from the garden.
We were truly sad to leave!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hellohappyhannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

Rose Gardens is a wonderful place to stay just outside of Munnar, surrounded by Tomy's beautiful garden. Rajee cooks up lovely home-cooked food and exceptional breakfasts (especially the fresh coconut pancakes and the home-made pineapple jam!!). The rooms are clean and comforting and smell delightful. Happy to arrange trips and help your to get buses into town, we really enjoyed our time here. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice house, nice room. The only inconvenient is that from our room we could hear the road, but was not such a problem.
The food is delicious however given that you are supposed to eat with all the others it might be a little bit stressful to comply with the "dinner schedule".
The surroundings are beautiful but it takes you good 30 minutes to Munnar (the road at the time was horrible) which is the place where you have to go almost everything you do.
Overall I would definitively recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellina355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
1.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 180 in Munnar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rheinberg Homestay
Rheinberg Homestay
#25 of 180 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gardens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gardens Homestay

Property: Rose Gardens Homestay
Address: NH 49 Road | Karadipara, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 180 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Homestay. Tomy and his wife Rajee are the Hosts. Homestay Rosegardens is 10km. before Munnar town. It's surrounded by 2 acres of land. In the land most of the spices and flowers. We are running a floricultural Nursery also. We make home cooked food for the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Gardens Homestay Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing