We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful retreat”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Gardens Homestay
Ranked #3 of 182 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful retreat”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Rose Gardens is a wonderful place to stay just outside of Munnar, surrounded by Tomy's beautiful garden. Rajee cooks up lovely home-cooked food and exceptional breakfasts (especially the fresh coconut pancakes and the home-made pineapple jam!!). The rooms are clean and comforting and smell delightful. Happy to arrange trips and help your to get buses into town, we really enjoyed our time here. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    565
    124
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
136
365
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Nice house, nice room. The only inconvenient is that from our room we could hear the road, but was not such a problem.
The food is delicious however given that you are supposed to eat with all the others it might be a little bit stressful to comply with the "dinner schedule".
The surroundings are beautiful but it takes you good 30 minutes to Munnar (the road at the time was horrible) which is the place where you have to go almost everything you do.
Overall I would definitively recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stellina355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at Rose Gardens for two nights in December 2013 and had a wonderful time. Tomy and his family are lovely hosts and the food we had was absolutely delicious. Real homecooked food, unlike many of hotels we stayed in elsehwere.

The trip to the tea plantation was excellent, and it was great to be met by their friendly driver at Cochin airport after the long flight!

Would thoroughly recommend staying here, rooms are clean and big and the whole family are super hosts.

We were even given home grown coffee as a leaving gift!

Thank you Tomy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed two days and two nights in this wonderful homestay in the middle of a gorgeous and colorful garden. The rooms are very well furmished, extremely clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are excellent, far beyond the Indian standard. The hosts are kind and helpful.
The cuisine is delicious and the breakfast with the coconut pancakes a five star one. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mestierediscrivere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Wow !! It's just beautiful. I stayed there for two days and 3 nights. My room backed onto the green and lush forests, which was refreshing to see coming from Dubai. I had a wonderful welcome from Tomy as the bus pulled away, with his beautiful big smile. My room was just amazing and with hot water !!! And a gorgeous wooden deck with lovely chairs to sit and read, or simply look out to the trees and listen to the sound of exotic birds chirping away. Double wow !! when Tomy arrived with bananas from his garden and a nice plate of Keralan biscuits, and to look up and see bananas growing above me. The food is excellent and the breakfasts my favorite. Tomy and family showing you hospitality at it's finest. I thoroughly enjoyed my very own tour of their spice garden, a day of trekking through the tea plantations, and another day of relaxing and reading before hitting the road again. They are just lovely and a home stay not be missed !

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Rose Gardens. Set a five minute walk from an incredible lookout down the road, I had one of the best mornings of our trip when I got up early to watch the sunrise over the hills. Tomy and Rajee were wonderful hosts; kind, welcoming and honest in their dealings. The food was fantastic, too. We relied on them for travel advice, arrangements for a car and driver and were never disappointed. They went above and beyond when I asked that they make arrangements for a cake for my wife's birthday. We were treated to a full on feast, complete with candles and an unforgettable rendition of Happy Birthday arranged by their son who rigged up a sound and light show at the dinner table that was one of the highlights of the trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmcjannett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We stayed at tommy's place in a group of 4 and had 2 rooms. Both of the rooms were very clean and comfortable with a very nice back porch. Luckily our rooms were facing his garden so we did not hear much of the noise from the main road - there is one room facing the front, but I am not sure what the noise level is. Instead we heard birds chirping early in the morning and a beautiful view on banana, coffe and passion fruit treas. One of the rooms was upstairs, the other one was downstairs next to the kitchen. The drawback of the one downstairs was that it was very humid and it was impossible to get rid of the humiditiy. Otherwise the rooms and bathrooms were very big and there was enough room for us to feel at home and unpack our suitcases. His entire family was very accomodating and there was nothing too complicated for tommy to help us out (on the last day tommy was completely booked and instead of us having to move to another place he let the 4 of us sleep in one room and charged us only for the one room).
Tommy was also very helpful in giving us suggestions on how to arrange our travels in advance via e-mail, since we were arriving from Kanyakumari. He suggested to take the train from Kanyakumari to Aluva where we were then picked up by one of his drivers. In hind-sight this really was the best choice! His driver, Sabu, was really a great guy!!! We don't know how, but when we exited the train in Aluva suddenly Sabu showed up out of no-where grabbed our bags and escorted us to his car. Sabu was our driver for the entire time while at rose garden and he really made an effort to keep us safe and give us the true Indian experience! He never went to any of the places that offered commission to the drivers, hopped out at places to give us a taste of some traditional foods and helped us negotiate in shops! He even participated and joined us in all of the activities we did, which we enjoyed a lot! Sometimes we stopped by the side of the road to enjoy the lunch we had brought along with us and sabu unwrapped his banana leaf and shared his delicious home cooked meal (by his wife!) with us! The only suggestion for improvement would be the english spoken, but considering other drivers we were with while in India, Sabu's english was excellent!!!
The meals cooked by Rajee were absolutely amazing! Breakfast was delicious with home-grown, picked & roasted coffee from his garden (which of course we also got a tour of). We always had fresh fruits (passion fruits!!!) in abundance and the selection of the carbs always consisted of toast and another type of Indian dish (e.g. rice noodles) which could deliciously be combined with honey (also from his garden). That's the type of breakfast that we like! :)
Luckily rose gardens is only a 5 minute walk to the highest point (sunrise/sunset point) where you could (the weather was a bit cloudy while we were there) see beautiful sunrises & sunsets!
We really enjoyed rose gardens & munnar a lot (one of the best stays) and for sure would come back! The value for money was very decent, although tommy's homestays were one of the pricier ones we stayed at.
Thanks tommy for a great stay and please send all of our greetings to your family and Sabu's family!!! Hope to see you some day again!!!

Room Tip: the best rooms are the two rooms upstairs facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessicaubw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
1.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 182 in Munnar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
4.8 mi away
Rheinberg Homestay
Rheinberg Homestay
#25 of 182 in Munnar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gardens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gardens Homestay

Property: Rose Gardens Homestay
Address: NH 49 Road | Karadipara, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Homestay. Tomy and his wife Rajee are the Hosts. Homestay Rosegardens is 10km. before Munnar town. It's surrounded by 2 acres of land. In the land most of the spices and flowers. We are running a floricultural Nursery also. We make home cooked food for the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Gardens Homestay Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing