We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Gardens Homestay
Ranked #3 of 181 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb!!!!”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Our best experience for this trip must be Mr.Tomy & Family's homestay in Munnar. Very warm, accommodating, generous and knowledgeable. And the food was simply awesome. I dont think we ever ate that much during our trip.

The house is spacious and the rooms were great, - big, clean, bright, comfortable beds and fully equipped bathrooms.

Do check out Mr.Tomy's spice garden - where pretty much everything is grown there.

But it was Mr Tomy, his lovely wife and handsome son that made our stay very memorable.

Hope to seem them again sometime.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MohanRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    124
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
136
367
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My husband and I, along with 6 friends from Ireland, stayed at Rose Garden in mid-October 2013 for two nights. On arrival to the Homestay we first thought that perhaps we should have selected a place with more views of the tea hills, however what it lacked in views of the hills it more than made up for in hospitality, warmth and great food. On arrival, Tomy & Baji greeted us with delicious french-style toast and homemade pineapple jam, along with our choice of tea or coffee. Just what we need after our 8 hour journey from Delhi. Every meal was homecooked by Raji and each one better than the last. Her pineapple curry was a hit with all of us. The guesthouse was spotless with modern bathrooms and nice powerful hot showers. Rooms are spacious and beds were comfortable.

Tomy gave us a tour of his extensive garden which was packed with every plant, spic and herb you could think of. There was garlic, chilli, cocoa, pepper, mini pineapples, giant lemons ... I mean everything! It was very educational and nice to think that all our meals were sourced freshly from their garden.

We also had fun solicialising with Tomy, Baji and their kids in the evening time. They made us feel right at home and taught us a lot about the area.

Thanks Tomy & Baji. It was a wonderful stay.

Claire

Room Tip: All the rooms were of similar par, but the ones on the ground floor of the house have a nice veranda...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed one night at Rose Gardens Homestay. Tomy and his familiy are very helpful and hospitale. Even though the house is located on a road it is a really nice and quiet place. You can sit on the terrace on the backside of the house and enjoy the view on and the sounds of nature. The rooms are big and clean. They offer cooking lessons for their guests. You can also simply sneak into the kitchen when Tomy's wife prepares dinner and learn a lot about the South Indian kitchen. We could also try to do a Chapatee ourselves. Don't miss the breakfast with homemade coffee, pineapple jam and coconut pancakes and Tomy's tour through his wonderful flower and spice garden that he has grown for decades around his house.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uli_and_Lilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

My family stayed here for two nights in September. Rose Garden Homestay is a great place to stay with children. They have a safe and interesting outside place to explore and learn. Tomee and Rajee made my son feel like he was at home - he helped in the kitchen, feed the rabbits, hung out with their son, and toured the garden with us. It was heaven for him.
Also, rooms are large so plenty of space for everyone.
Rose Garden is a great base to explore attractions around Munnar. After a long day, Rose Garden was a wonderful place to come home too. Cup of tea on the veranda, peaceful end of the day while you wait for your amazing home cooked meals. Food was amazing and plenty. Coffee superb. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MOTRShekou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful rooms,beautiful house.Bathrooms have europian style showers with hot water!Rajee maked awesome food and Tommy walked with me through his plantation and explained to me every plant etc.Very intresting and educating.Both Rajee and Tommy are very kind,helpful and hospitale.The price ( 4000 rps/night) is quite high,doesn't include any longer meals and for me it was too expensive on a budget backpacking trip so stayd there only one night.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank parbeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Rose Garden in October 2013. The garden surrounding the house is absolutely lovely and the garden tour from Tomy was interesting and beautiful. Our hosts were extremely friendly, helped with organising trips and sightseeing. The food was fantastic, particularly the breakfast pancakes. The setting is stunning and we were made to feel very welcome and at ease. A great way to experience the area - would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runner34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Firstly, from the very first email Tomy was helpful and generous to advise on technicalities. He arranged our pick up from Cochin Airport, suggested places to visit (to include a massage parlour in Munnar) and even drove us back to our next destination.
Now - the food!!! Absolutely amazing and lots of variety. I cannot overstate what a wonderful cook his wife is with so many different dishes being served on a daily basis.
Much of the food, fruits and even coffee are produced from his large garden. Tomy is very proud to give guests the tour of his garden, and rightly so; there is so much you can learn from him and his garden.
The whole family are very friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are large, with either a balcony or a direct access to the garden. Everything that we needed including some toiletries supplied.
Why would one want to stay in a large, internationally owned chain hotel when you can support directly the local community and gain a wonderful and authentic insight into the Keralan culture.

Room Tip: An upstairs room with a terrace overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hester37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
869 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
949 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 181 in Munnar
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gardens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gardens Homestay

Property: Rose Gardens Homestay
Address: NH 49 Road | Karadipara, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Homestay. Tomy and his wife Rajee are the Hosts. Homestay Rosegardens is 10km. before Munnar town. It's surrounded by 2 acres of land. In the land most of the spices and flowers. We are running a floricultural Nursery also. We make home cooked food for the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Gardens Homestay Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing