We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frustrating”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Gardens Homestay
Ranked #3 of 187 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Magny en Vexin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Frustrating”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent only two nights here on january 26 and 27th. The whole family was so welcoming and friendly, the bedrooms spacious and clean, we had to drag ourselves away on the Monday. If we go there again we'll try to spend a week. As for the garden it is a paradise, especially for us who are passionate about gardens and botany.
Well done to Tomy and the family.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TotoMagnyenVexin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    124
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
136
367
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Very, very happy with our time at Rose Gardens. A lovely spot overlooking a green valley. Tomy and his family were very happy to help us with whatever we needed. Room was large, airy, with lovely large and clean bathroom. Verandah brilliant to sit and contemplate any time of the day (or night). And the food. The food!!! Home cooked meals (and kitchen participation, should we want) were simply brilliant, with the only problem being there was simply tooooo much.
Honey, coffee, spices and other goodies produced on the property and central to the eating experience. Very interesting tour of Tomy's garden to see herbs, spices, local plants.
Loved our (hot!) walk down the bush track to the next village and bus ride back up to Munnar. Tomy also organised day trips for us to share with another couple staying at the same time.
A far better location than the bustle of Munnar which, while Ok as far as Indian towns go, is not really a destination in itself - the attraction is the surrounding countryside.
Very happy.
Frank and Rosey, Australia

Room Tip: Ask for a room opening onto the balcony - you get the views and minimal road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stayed with Tomy, Rajee, Dileep, Deepak and Deepu for 8 days from 30 May to 8 June 2013. Throughout our stay they were honest and welcoming and truly generous with their time. We spent many hours over the dinner table eating the great food, which Rajee had created in front of us, talking and sharing experiences. During our stay we had multiple opportunities to get to know each and every family member. They are proud of their home-stay and it was a pleasure to watch Rajee in the kitchen and Tomy in the garden. The boys worked as a team with their parents and were well informed about the surrounding areas and guided us as and when necessary. We have only just returned from our one month stay in India and it was with some dismay that I read the previous review and wondered if the reviewer's anger was caused by a failure to communicate rather than poor service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZahraANDGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

From the minute we arrived we were greeted with a big smile and we were made to feel at home.After droppng our bags in our large clean room, we were served home grown coffee and jackfruit. Little touches like these, throughout our stay, made Rosegarden worth every penny. Tomy and his family were wonderful and the Food was amazing. We even got a mini cooking lessen and food tour of their garden. We thoroughly recommend staying here.

Thanks Tomy and Family

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sponchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ty0258, Owner at Rose Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you very much for being with us and happy to know that you had a wonderful stay at our tiny accommodation and I am delighted that in enjoying all of my tips, suggestions our homely breakfast.
Tomy and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We had had many problems finding accommodation in Munnar. My family and I had arrived in low season but in school holidays and we tried around 10 different places that were all full. We were therefore relieved to find that Rose Gardens had vacancies when we called on the previous day to check some details with them. We booked 2 rooms and informed them the time that we would be arriving. We arranged a taxi in the morning and made the 12Km journey out of town to Rose Gardens at a cost of 500INR.

When we arrived at the agreed time the gate was padlocked and no one was around. We had to hang around for 1 hour in torrential rain waiting in vain for someone to arrive to let us in. We borrowed someone’s phone and tried on 3 occasions to call the owners without success.

The place is extremely expensive at 3500INR and has none of the lovely tea plantation views that are available elsewhere in Munnar.
In the end we called 2 other hotels that were also full and had to take a 4 hour journey to Kochi instead.

Thank you a great deal Rose Gardens. Your professionalism should win awards.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank howsey51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ty0258, Owner at Rose Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
You booked one night on Sunday, I will ask you what time you arrive, you answered evening.Because off low season, we all go to the church. You coming early and not telephone to me . My church is 5 minutes from my house. Service only 45 minutes.You coming this time, I think this is not any mistake from our side.
You feel angry, I think you are a angry man. If you stayed my house more problems happen, So your decision is good.
Thank You Tomy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. The rooms are functional and clean and the location is quiet and interesting.
We had dinner every evening and it was the best food we had in India. Rajee makes sure no-one goes hungry and showed us how to prepare some of the simpler dishes.
Tommy took us on a short hike to the local tea plantation where we met some of the people who worked there and toured (at their request) their houses. We considered this to be one of the highlights of our vacation.
Tommy and Rajee's sons (Deebu and Deepak) provided great service and entertainment even if their parents did not always approve.
I will put the Rose Garden on my agenda every time I visit this area of India.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cyanwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ty0258, Owner at Rose Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Sir & Madam,

Thank you for your precious time for this valuable review and I take this opportunity to express all of our sincere gratitude for being with us.
Thankyou, Tomy and Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 1, 2013

They took care of us when we got sick, and helped arrange all our travel needs. They had great food, and even used home grown ingredients. Amazing garden, sweet people, comfortable and modern stay. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paolo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ty0258, Owner at Rose Gardens Homestay, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thankyou Paolo, we do only normal things. You feel happy. Thankyou for your Excellent review posted.
Tomy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
883 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
18.0 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
505 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
968 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 187 in Munnar
660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gardens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gardens Homestay

Property: Rose Gardens Homestay
Address: NH 49 Road | Karadipara, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Homestay. Tomy and his wife Rajee are the Hosts. Homestay Rosegardens is 10km. before Munnar town. It's surrounded by 2 acres of land. In the land most of the spices and flowers. We are running a floricultural Nursery also. We make home cooked food for the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Gardens Homestay Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing