We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shower in South India?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Gardens Homestay
Ranked #3 of 181 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best shower in South India?”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Tomy and Rajee's homestay is delightful. Clean, quiet, spacious, great food and beautiful surroundings. Tomy's garden contains specimens of all the local spice bushes and trees, and he's really helpful at organising trips and transport. This is a wonderful place in which to escape from the plains of Tamil Nadu. And the hot shower is terrific.

Rose Gardens is about 7 miles from the centre of town, but no worse for that. The taxi ride is cheap and quick.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    124
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
136
367
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We have stayed in Rose Garden Homestay in February 2013 for 2 nights. We immediately felt like home :-) The owners are very nice, always ready to give good advice on things to do in the area. Tommy's wife prepare the food for the guests and she is a great cooker. The rooms are nice too, especially those which are situated upstairs, with a nice view of the garden from the balcony. Definately a place to recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs have a nice view on the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat71275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Staying with Tomy and Raju and their family was such a wonderful part of our trip. Raju's food is some of the best I have had in all my trips to India! Tomy made sure we had access to everything we needed and was incredibly helpful and attentive. Their boys were a delight to be around and the warm environment they created made our time there absolutely wonderful. I could not recommend this place enough, it is an absolute must!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 23ashleigh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Our room, downstairs near the kitchen was spacious, clean and quiet. We enjoyed our private balcony: a great place to read. The best however was the welcome and caring of Tomy, Rajee and the boys who are very well mannered young lads: they do help their parents a great deal + they always have a smile for the guests. It was a great experience to live with an authentic Kerala family, eat authentic Kerala food: bear in mind that you must like coconut and banana to appreciate this type of food coz no pizzas or pasta in this part of the world....The walk in the tea plantation with Tomy was fun and we vividly recommend the drive to the dam also. The hilly green country side was magnificent and once there you can walk around the dam if you can find your way around a set of houses... Tomy had organised for a driver to bring us out there. We also enjoyed the Tata's DARE project and we kind of went bezerk buying those absolutely beautiful silk scarves made by handicapped young men and women. Some of them have a design edge to them.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sybilbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
98 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a smashing place. I'm sure it would be a horticultralists paradise. We were proudly and informatively shown around the most beautiful and varied garden.

The room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable and the bathroom - 'the best'! Unlike many rooms in other places this one had plenty of room to unpack ones bag, and have some where for the contents.

We asked if we could learn a bit about Keralan cooking and were invited to join Ranjee in the kitchen. It was great, made all the better because we got involved. I was so hooked I got up early to help make the Keralan breakfast.

Even though I say it myself ... the food was delicious!! Fresh home grown 'Rose Garden' coffee for breakfast and the yummiest pineapple.

It was recommended that we visited 'The Dare' project .... and I recommend it, It is an excellent project set up by Tata - find out about it and GO!

There could be no better place for me to celebrate my 57th birthday, and thanks to all those at Rose Garden it will be a specific one I shall remember for ever .... they even did a 'special treat' at dinner for me.

Room Tip: Our room was fine, but it was on the side of the main road, so there was a small amount of traffic n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzurisanaCoventry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We loved our 3 nights here! We were charmed by the family, the gardens, the driver, and the tea plantation walk. Ranjee's food was the best we had during our 3 weeks in India. One morning we woke up earlier than we had asked for breakfast. I went to the dining room to see if we could get some coffee to take to our room. Tomy graciously insisted on preparing a tray with a carafe of coffee, cups and saucers, and pitcher of hot milk. The next morning we needed to get up early to catch a bus. Tomy arrived at our door for our wake up call with a tray of coffee! The entire family were attuned to what we, the guests enjoyed and made our stay extra special. It felt luxurious and we were sad to leave.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Staying at the Rose Gardens was worth every penny and a wonderful experience. From the great view from the balcony and showering in pure mineral water everyday to the excellent food, hospitality and warm welcome. We didn't want to leave after three relaxing days and nights. Tommy helps you to have a very positive experience showing you around his garden, advising on good places to visit and things to do. We also met many other great guests here and made friends over the shared evening meal which was great fun. A must-soon your trip around Kerala.

Room Tip: Avoid the Ayurvedic massage but do go to to the dare factory and also the tea hill walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rach1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
869 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
949 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 181 in Munnar
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gardens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gardens Homestay

Property: Rose Gardens Homestay
Address: NH 49 Road | Karadipara, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Homestay. Tomy and his wife Rajee are the Hosts. Homestay Rosegardens is 10km. before Munnar town. It's surrounded by 2 acres of land. In the land most of the spices and flowers. We are running a floricultural Nursery also. We make home cooked food for the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Gardens Homestay Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing