We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Munnar Guesthouse Great”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose Gardens Homestay
Ranked #3 of 181 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Munnar Guesthouse Great”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If traveling to Munnar, the Rose Garden offers a special garden and birding retreat. A bit of a drive from Munnar, the location lends itself to enjoying nature and relaxation. The rooms are lovely, Rajee's cooking quite tasty and Tomy and his sons keep the whole scene upbeat. The other guests while we were there Jan, 11, 12, and 13th were great fun to talk to. Tomy's garden tour with his 300 plant specimens was quite interesting. My husband enjoyed his walk down the trail into the jungle. Listening to music and taking a wrong turn on his way back, he got directions from a native language speaker by saying "Rose Garden." The local understood where he wanted to go and pointed him the right way!

Room Tip: The back rooms with a porch overlooking the garden have a nice setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarriesueCarmel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    124
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
136
367
45
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Tommy's house for three nights. We were warmly welcome by Tommy, who took us on a tour of his garden. We enjoyed delicious breakfasts and dinners. I strongly recommend Rosegarden homestay. Tommy and his family made our stay memorable.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harold077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We wholeheartedly recommend this place both for the welcome, comfortable rooms and ... delicious meals. You can participate in the preparation of meals. Rather than searching in Munnar, we advise you to go away from the town and to enjoy nature. The garden is exceptional and the owner will give you details about each plant, flower, fruit. A botanic passionate.
We are a family with two children and all four of us were delighted. The family that we received is really adorable. In conclusion, do not hesitate. A starting point to this wonderful region.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libeccio16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed with Tomy and his family for 4 nights, and I can highly recommend a stay at Rose Gardens Homestay. The food was extremely good, the family very kind and the area is beautiful - The tea plantation walk that Tomy arranged for us, was one of the greatest experiences we had during our stay in Kerala.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Our 3 night stay with Tomy and Rajee was the highlight of our trip to India. The family is friendly and welcoming without being intrusive and the setting is idyllic. We really appreciated Tomy's tour around his wonderful garden. Our room overlooked the gardens and was large, clean and comfortable, with hot water at all times of day. Rajee's cooking was delicious and we really enjoyed meal times with the other guests. Tomy and Rajee were happy to suggest places to visit and to organise trips. The location is great for trekking through the tea plantations and waterfalls, and it is easy to get a bus into Munnar itself which is about 10 km away from the Rose Gardens. This was a very relaxing end to our three week trip and I would highly recommend this homestay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sinead B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Rose Gardens over New Years 2012-13, and our stay was a highlight of our trip to Kerala (even though we arrived ill from other travels). Tomy, Rajee and their sons were very welcoming hosts, and Rajee's cooking was absolutely delicious! We learned a bit about Keralan cooking from watching her cook and the diversity of menus at the breakfasts and dinners. The Munnar area is a beautiful place, and Tomy gave us wonderful tips on hikes and sightseeing. Their youngest son gave us a tour of the gardens (Tomy grows decorative plants for sale, and fruits, vegetables, herbs and spices for daily cooking). Rose Gardens is more expensive than many home stays, but the dinners are just 150 rupees. I recommend it - our stay was a real vacation!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mggs48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

My daughter and I had a lovely 3 days stay over Christmas, 2012. Tomy and his family are delightful and very attentive. The food was excellent and mealtimes were very sociable occasions. We brought our own alcohol, purchased from a nearby town on the way up which we were able to store in the family fridge, allowing us to celebrate Christmas in style with some of the guests! We had a very interesting tour around the gardens, sampling and smelling some of the herbs and fruits. We took a taxi to the Top Station where the views are breathtaking - fortunately, we went early enough in the morning before the mist came in. Thank you to Dileep for taking the trouble to drive us down to the elephant park and waiting for us while we had our ride and then driving us back to the homestay - over and above the call duty!
Thank you, Tomy and your wonderful family, for a very memorable stay in your lovely home.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.6 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
869 reviews
1.5 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
2.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.0 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
2.2 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
949 reviews
2.7 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#2 of 181 in Munnar
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rose Gardens Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose Gardens Homestay

Property: Rose Gardens Homestay
Address: NH 49 Road | Karadipara, Munnar 685611, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 181 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a Homestay. Tomy and his wife Rajee are the Hosts. Homestay Rosegardens is 10km. before Munnar town. It's surrounded by 2 acres of land. In the land most of the spices and flowers. We are running a floricultural Nursery also. We make home cooked food for the guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose Gardens Homestay Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing