We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munnar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mundackal Plantation Home Stay
Ranked #51 of 202 Munnar B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Mundackal Plantation with Jose and Daisy. They made us feel very welcome and very much at home. The house and gardens are very attractive and it was lovely to just sit and relax on their verandah overlooking the gardens and plantation. Jose gave us a very informative and interesting tour of his plantation including the process for making rubber. The undoubted highlight of our stay was the fantastic food, much of which was grown on the estate, and prepared by Daisy. The meals were excellent and of extremely high quality and variety. It is a great place to relax either in comfortable chairs on the verandah or in one of the hammocks. It is very convenient for the Bird Reserve, less than 30 minutes by car and Jose is able to make arrangements to visit the reserve, if desired. Jose is a most interesting person and very knowledgeable about Indian society and culture and the local area. An excellent home stay.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wyretraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 59 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2009

This was our first ‘homestay’ experience in Kerala and it far exceeded expectations. The larger than life Jose and his charming wife Daisy spoke excellent English and made us so welcome in their lovely house and beautiful garden. We immediately felt part of their family. Daisy’s lavish delicious meals and explanations of Kerala cooking styles were fascinating and memorable, as was the masterclass in her kitchen. In the evening when it’s cooler, Jose takes guests for a stroll around his multicrop plantation estate. He proudly tapped his rubber trees, showing how the rubber is collected and prepared, demonstrated his spice plants (we sniffed all the aromas) and fed his fish. Nothing can prepare you for your first sight and aroma of bright red mace around a nutmeg that has just been opened.

There are local visits: a nearby bird sanctuary is apparently best seen in the morning when it is cooler and the birds more plentiful. Our guide was excellent but his eyesight was better than ours and we were grateful for the binoculars Jose lent to us. Also nearby is the Kodanad elephant sanctuary; getting close to elephants of all ages being bathed in the river was a highlight of our entire stay in India.

On hearing that it was my wife's birthday, a decorated cake was immediately organised by our hosts and enjoyed by all.

There's an early evening half-hour power shutdown in the area to save electricity. Jose organises torches if needed but most people just sit outside, sip fresh juice, and admire the stars.

Mundackal is all about Jose and Daisy in their unique home and no guest will be disappointed after enjoying their company.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NR16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2009

Attentive hosts, Jose and Daisy, in this large plantation homestead make for a relaxing and comfortable stay. The food is almost too much as Daisy cooks at least six to eight dishes for every meal, and she also gives cooking lessons which we enjoyed. The plantation tour by Jose was very informative, and he is a good source of general information about Kerala and politics. The day out at the nearby Bird Sanctuary (Thattakad) was fantastic and we are not expert bird watchers. Our only criticism would be that it would be good to eat outside in shade or on a verandah, as the dining room is a touch formal.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peterthegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2007

The Mundackal Home Stay offers a home from home for visitors, according to the owner Jose Mundackal. You will be welcomed to the home, which has five bedrooms all with en-suite facilities, with home made fruit juices and a genuine invitation to treat the house as your own.

All meals are provided and each one is a feast cooked by the owner's wife Daisy according to traditional Keralan methods and mostly made from home-grown produce. At least eight dishes together with two sweets will be presented at both lunch and dinner whilst breakfast offers typical Keralan fare in abundance. An informative tour of the estate is also provided for those guests who are interested.

This is a truly welcoming and comfortable place to stay and, despite my many previous visits to India, a first time in such accomodation which I shall seek to repeat on future visits.

  • Stayed: December 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sbuiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
29.9 mi away
Westwood Riverside Garden Resorts
29.9 mi away
OYO 4651 Woodpecker Holidays
29.6 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#45 of 105 in Munnar
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.7 mi away
Bella Vista Resort
Bella Vista Resort
#60 of 105 in Munnar
293 reviews
29.4 mi away
Kaivalyam Retreat
Kaivalyam Retreat
#3 of 202 in Munnar
694 reviews
24.9 mi away
Deep Woods Resort
Deep Woods Resort
#21 of 105 in Munnar
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mundackal Plantation Home Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mundackal Plantation Home Stay

Address: Munnar | Kathamangalam, Munnar 686698, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 202 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: $139 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing