We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mundackal Plantation Home Stay
Nearby Hotels
$116
$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Camp Noel(Pazhathottam)(Great Value!)
$100
$82
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
OYO 4651 Woodpecker Resort(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
$45
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$83
$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$154
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spice Country Resorts(Chithirapuram)
$61
$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Munnar Tea Country Resort(Chithirapuram)
$114
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$76
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Forest Glade(Pallivasal)
$93
$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
41
20
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
20
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookery lessonpacked breakfastjose and daisybird sanctuaryperfect hostshome stayindian family lifelovely homecurrydinner tablehis mothertwo night staythree nightstwo daysbedroomplantationhomestay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 65 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Really enjoyed our two nights here and can only endorse the glowing comments of other reviewers. Jose and Daisy made us feel really welcome, food was excellent and wonderfully varied - not had banana-flower curry before - and there was lots to do. The bird sanctuary at Thattekkad was very interesting and well worth getting up at first light for, especially since we had the support (and keen eyesight!) of a local guide, but just going around Jose's plantation was also full of little surprises and not to be missed. Home stays are so much better than hotels, and this is one home stay not to be missed!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Althea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Mundackal Plantation Home Stay very much. It was made unique by our welcoming hosts, Jose and Daisy Mundackal, who are outgoing and happy to share insights into their lives and the plantation life.

Rooms are large and air conditioned. Wi-fi is available. Daisy’s cooking is superlative. She provides abundant, diverse food, with multiple tempting desserts. Because of its rural location, we arrived by car. They treated our driver well.

During our stay of several days, we participated in various activities (organized by Jose) that kept us occupied and interested:
- Tour of Mundackal Plantation with Jose who showed us various plants, explained rubber processing, and shared his stories of growing up there
- Cooking class with Daisy, chatting while learning to cook local recipes
- Visit of the Elephant Orphanage to watch the morning bathing of elephants (visitors were not allowed to help in bathing when we were there)
- Birding at Thattekad Bird Sanctuary with an excellent English-speaking guide
- Tour of local cardamom factory (owned by Jose’s friend)

We had a great time at this beautiful property.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingOurDream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here for two nights earlier this month and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Being the only guests meant we were made to feel extra special, Jose and Daisy were the perfect hosts and having established a mutual love of cricket during our first lunch with them,my husband and Jose spent a couple of hours watching the match on TV between Australia and Sri Lanka exchanging a lively commentary whilst I was dozing on a hammock outside! Food was amazing and lots of it, bedroom comfortable and we had a very enjoyable tour of the rubber plantation and demonstration of how rubber is treated by Jose as well as a detailed explanation of how the various fruits, vegetables and spices on their plantation are cared for. Even after such a short stay we felt we had made lifelong friends and were sorry to say goodbye.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suearmitage2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We can only echo all the other 5* reviews.
Of our varied excellent keralan accommodations this was the only genuine homestay where we felt we were in someone's home. Daisy's cookery lesson was very good and Jose's tour and tales were more informative than any other keralan guide. Both Daisy and Jose were up at 5.30am to see us off with coffee an ample packed breakfast . Lovely fresh fruit juices served on the veranda. Many sweet memories.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Yummy food which helped ease our first foray into 'serious' south indian cuisine. Room and bathroom was big and clean. Beds were comfortable, though the pillows were a tad too small.

One thing that I felt horribly guilty about the inconvenience to our driver as the homestay is quite a distance from other food souces. After all, given the price that we are paying, I do feel that it should help cover the driver's meals, even if it's only for dinner. As the unpaved roads to the estate can get quite dark at night, I can imagine the diffculty one would have to travel just to get dinner...

The birding was good as Jose arranged a fantastic bird guide for us. The guide was amazing, he could identify the call of a bird then scramble into some thick woods to find the bird!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B77_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews