We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Mundackal Plantation Home Stay
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$88
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$153
$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fog Resort & Spa(Chithirapuram)
$188
$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Panoramic Getaway(Chithirapuram)
$138
$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$88
$51
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Whispering Meadows Munnar(Pallivasal)(Great Value!)
$47
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$133
$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort(Munnar)(Great Value!)
$80
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Chandys Windy Woods(Chithirapuram)
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (65)
Filter reviews
65 results
Traveler rating
41
20
2
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
20
2
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookery lessonpacked breakfastjose and daisybird sanctuaryperfect hostshome stayindian family lifelovely homecurrydinner tablehis mothertwo night staythree nightstwo daysbedroomplantationhomestay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 65 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Stayed here for two nights earlier this month and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. Being the only guests meant we were made to feel extra special, Jose and Daisy were the perfect hosts and having established a mutual love of cricket during our first lunch with them,my husband and Jose spent a couple of hours watching the match on TV between Australia and Sri Lanka exchanging a lively commentary whilst I was dozing on a hammock outside! Food was amazing and lots of it, bedroom comfortable and we had a very enjoyable tour of the rubber plantation and demonstration of how rubber is treated by Jose as well as a detailed explanation of how the various fruits, vegetables and spices on their plantation are cared for. Even after such a short stay we felt we had made lifelong friends and were sorry to say goodbye.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank suearmitage2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We can only echo all the other 5* reviews.
Of our varied excellent keralan accommodations this was the only genuine homestay where we felt we were in someone's home. Daisy's cookery lesson was very good and Jose's tour and tales were more informative than any other keralan guide. Both Daisy and Jose were up at 5.30am to see us off with coffee an ample packed breakfast . Lovely fresh fruit juices served on the veranda. Many sweet memories.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rowan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Yummy food which helped ease our first foray into 'serious' south indian cuisine. Room and bathroom was big and clean. Beds were comfortable, though the pillows were a tad too small.

One thing that I felt horribly guilty about the inconvenience to our driver as the homestay is quite a distance from other food souces. After all, given the price that we are paying, I do feel that it should help cover the driver's meals, even if it's only for dinner. As the unpaved roads to the estate can get quite dark at night, I can imagine the diffculty one would have to travel just to get dinner...

The birding was good as Jose arranged a fantastic bird guide for us. The guide was amazing, he could identify the call of a bird then scramble into some thick woods to find the bird!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B77_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2012

We were greeted by Jose and Daisy and welcomed to their home. Jose suggested bird watching, washing baby elephants or taking a tour of his estate. We wanted to do it all! They grow many types of fruit, spices and vegetables, but mostly rubber. Jose generously let us see the process of rubber manufacture. Some of the rooms were a bit musty, but with the air con on, it was fine. The food was wonderful and Daisy's sweet lime pickle was sublime. A lovely experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TravelingEle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

The plantation is just beautiful and learning about it was completely fascinating. Jose was funny and charming, full of good stories. Daisy was warm and graciously provided us with lovely home food. Our trip to Thattekad bird sanctuary was perfect and fascinating. The trip to the elephant camp nearby was completely depressing and hard to watch...such beautful animals being chained, bullied and dominated.
For the quality of the rooms and the overall experience, the price is really inexplicably extortionate. We went to much nicer places throughout our trip and paid half the price. The rooms do not even approach luxury, but feel more like a converted children's room so should be priced accordingly. We were also disappointed with Jose's policy about drivers. The property is a good 7 km from any source of food and, based on a past experience, he had decided not to provide food for drivers. This was quite a hassle. The one driver's room was also filled with cockroaches and mosquitos and, on a night when another couple was present, our driver was bullied out of this room and made to sleep in the car. Given the remoteness of this property and the wealth of resources available to the hosts, we were extraordinarily disappointed with the treatment of our driver and this really colored a lot of our feelings about the stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews