We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience at the Shamrock, highly recommended”
Review of Shamrock

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shamrock
Ranked #66 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Chesterfield, Derbyshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience at the Shamrock, highly recommended”
Reviewed July 8, 2008

We booked into the Shamrock because the olive brook was fully booked. However, we were not disappointed. When we stayed the hotel had only just opened for business - they clearly know what they are doing, the service was second to none, sabu arranged everything for us and couldn't have been more pleasant/helpful if he had tried. The rooms were large, spacious, with marble floors throughout and showers which worked and most importantly hot - a welcome relief after spending previous 4 days in a tent, The views from the Shamrock were second to none, absolutely fantastic, panoramic through the double french windows onto the balcony - i would query that the views are as good from the olive brook. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the shamrock to anybody, and we also had the opportunity of going to the olivebrook for our evening meal, where the food was faultless again, yum. Saw some fantastic thunderstorms when we were there, and the tour of the tea plantations and also the cookery class are must dos - thanks sabu, charlotte fletcher-morgan

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank char+Jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    54
    24
    12
    12
See reviews for
39
45
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2008

The Shamrock Hotel was a very nice place to stay and almost luxurious by Indian standards.

I stayed with my friend and we had excellent service for our two night stay. The staff were quick to ask if we needed any tea or coffee and were quick to deliver when we said yes.

The rooms were clean and the bathrooms were large (by Indian standards).

The views from outside the balcony were amazing. The little town below us could get a little noisy at times, but it never interfered with my sleep (and I'm a light sleeper)

There's not much to do outside the Shamrock, so make sure you have a driver.

A previous critique remarked about poor service from Sabu. I had the opposite experience. He was very helpful to us in terms of making sure our meals were served on time, helping us find a hotel to stay at for our next destination in Alleppey, and making calls on our behalf.

  • Liked — Clean and large
  • Disliked — Surrounding area, while beautiful, did not have much to offer
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank FrankDrebinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2008

We stayed at the Shamrock having read positive reviews of the accommodation and after we were informed that our first choice, the Olive Brook, was unavailable for our two night stay.

We were very disappointed with the hotel for a number of reasons.

- The hotel room was dirty, dusty, full of cobwebs and generally neglected.
- None of the doors would close properly. We were particularly concerned about the front door, which did not lock properly and we had to be helped to lock it on several occasions, causing concerns about security.
- The towels were dirty and the bathroom was not cleaned on the second day of our stay despite us asking.
- We were the only guests staying at the Shamrock, therefore, we had to have our meals at the nearby Olive Brook. At times there were no members of staff available, the worst example of this being on the 2nd night of our stay. We had returned from dinner at the Olive Brook when there was a power-cut . The member of staff bringing us back only had one torch and there were no candles in the room - he just about managed to find one candle in reception with no holder. The power did return, but we had to insist that the torch was left with us, in case the power went again. No staff member stayed at the Shamrock that night, meaning we were the only people there! We would expect a hotel to be manned at all times particularly one in such a remote location. Consequently we felt very unsafe that night.
- We felt that there was a general attitude of the staff not being bothered, as we were the only guests there - and it would seem from the neglected state of our room, the only guests in recent times.
- One morning there was no running hot water and dirty water was appearing when the toilet was flushed.
- As the property was very near a village we were disturbed by a great deal of noise and smells very early in the morning.

When we tried to raise these matters with the manager, Thomas Sabu, he was extremely rude and completely uninterested in our complaints. He would not give us details of the owner so we could raise these matters directly with him.

Having paid a considerable amount of money for this stay, it certainly wasn't worth the money and ruined our experience of Munnar. The only positive was the excellent food at the far superior Olive Brook. Our impression being that the Olive Brook was a much better run hotel - very homely and cosy with great food.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MagiWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Munnar hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2008

Shamrock is an excellent hotel. Although it looks very simple from the outside, the rooms and the toilet was very clean. The view from the room is very nice. The hotel reception was very friendly. The food was awesome. Will definately stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VigVee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2008

Tempted to keep this place to ourselves and a few others but feel that management deserve recognition for their genuine efforts to provide superb service.Rooms here are large and clean and the whole place has superb views over the hills and valleys.Manager Sabu Thomas could not have been more efficient.Superb meals and help for a host of demands including reliable onward reservation for an excellent houseboat out of Alleppey, this often performed by other "agents" with much unreliability.Stayed previously at a supposedly better place along the valley and Shamrock exceeded in all respects.Sincere thanks to Sabu and Co from Aled and Co.

  • Liked — Staff and rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AledWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2006

Shamrock is near the more frequented Olive Brook where we also stayed for one night but we much preferred Shamrock (this may have been cos we had the dodgy room at Olive Brook). Anyways Shamrock has great views over the mointain ranges, the food was excellent, and the guys there really looked after us. They are all experienced hoteliers who've kicked off this new venture, and it shows in the quality of the place. Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Pendulum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.6 mi away
Poopada Resort
Poopada Resort
#72 of 97 in Munnar
122 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bellmount Resorts
Bellmount Resorts
#57 of 97 in Munnar
333 reviews
2.4 mi away
Woodpecker Resort
Woodpecker Resort
#8 of 8 in Pothamedu
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Olive Brook
Olive Brook
#4 of 161 in Munnar
331 reviews
12.2 mi away
Spice Villas Holiday Resort
2.2 mi away
Rheinberg Homestay
Rheinberg Homestay
#25 of 181 in Munnar
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shamrock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shamrock

Property: Shamrock
Address: Pothamedu, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 161 Specialty Lodging in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Shamrock 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Shamrock reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shamrock Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing