We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Think twice before booking”
Review of T&U Leisure Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
T&U Leisure Hotel
Ranked #44 of 101 Hotels in Munnar
Reviewed August 10, 2012

6 of us stayed in 3 double rooms.

Good points:
1. Views from the restaurant
2. Views from the gym or recreation area
3. Spacious inside
4. Friendly staff
5. Tasty morning south indian breakfast
6. Good location

Bad points:
1. Most of the view through the room window was blocked by ugly protruding green tin roof.
2. Window doors could not be securely locked
3. Loo flush never worked in 2 of the 3 rooms. So, had to share the one that was working.
4. Some of the rooms do not have bedside switches to the lights.
5. Room floor too damp and sticky. Remember to carry indoor chapels.
6. Not enough pressure in the shower. Had to use the bucket and mug.
7. found earth worms in the bathroom and dirty.
8. Linens and towels could be cleaner.
9. On reporting some of the above issues, there was immediate response, but there was no apology. Especially the bloke who claimed to be the in charge was strangely still and unresponsive for any of these inconveniences. He simply implied silently that this is what you will get! May be he couldn't care less.
10. Dinner was not good and expensive for its quality.

Overall, will not recommend.


Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
5  Thank Murali B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerTandU, General Manager at T&U Leisure Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

15 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your message.

At the outset please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay with us. For the past two days we have investigated each aspect of your stay in detail and have initiated corrective measures by renovating.

May I request you to treat this incident in isolation and let it not mar the impression of the hotel, as it is our earnest endeavour to provide you with the highest level of service and to ensure that your stay with us is truly most enjoyable.

Please do give us another opportunity as I am confident you will have a brilliant stay with us. Do let me know when you plan to visit us again, as I will be delighted to look after all aspects of your stay personally.

I do hope that you have the occasion to visit us again and we assure you of our best service and attention at all times.

Thank you,

Best wishes,

Vinay Pillai
General Manager
gm@tanduleisurehotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
There are newer reviews for T&U Leisure Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 255 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2012

Generously proportioned bedrooms that are great for entertaining, especially when you are in a large group. There were 10 of us incl. 3 kids in three adjacent rooms. Room 105 was one of the largest, the bed easily slept 3 adults.. Our bedrooms as well as the wide verandas had beautiful terracotta tiles. These were mopped daily with fragrant lemon grass, apparently a natural antiseptic. My wife appreciated this after our sweaty jungle treks :).

Although located close to the busy Munnar town, we had a peaceful and uncluttered view of the valley beyond. Three of us strolled from the hotel to town and then to the Tea museum. Took us about an hour. Attempt this only if you have walked on Indian roads before :).

Found the breakfast and dinner buffets excellent and better than the a la carte. Mom appreciated the traditional sweet 'Aval nanechathu' (indian rice flakes) for breakfast.
We will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZ_Indian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

A real resort and not a hotel of a hill station of southern India,away from the city.A nice view of the valley and tea gardens from your well maintained and quite big area room.Very co-operative staff and good house keeping.Beautiful wether of Munnar adds your stay worth.Open lawn is the place where childern can enjoy and BB is added attraction.Parking in the resort is suitable for elders.

Room Tip: If you are with elders prefer the reception floor as there is no lift.
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vinay-dhamija
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

i had been to this restaurant with my family in june 2012 and had ordered the kebab ,kulcha and paneer as there was kebab festival.I should say the portion was not worth the money paid for (Rs. 275) for 3 pieces of chicken and neither was the taste of the kebab so great .The only staff there was courteous.the restaurant ambience was nothing, the view was great . The buffet spread was ok but the price was not.the paneer was soft and good and the kulchas were ok.It is good for a visit if there is no other place....

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cupid2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Best place to stay for family. The hotel staffs were very courteous. A complete green view from room makes the stay pleasant. Flower garden is very close by. Had wonderful time at hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramanathan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

This hotel is clean and provides the basic amenities, but the decor is out-dated i.e. it has a dreary business hotel from the 1980s feel to it.

However, the service staff were very friendly and accomodating. Moreover, surprisingly, the few dinners we had here (restaurant ambience also bland) were extremely good. I enjoyed the vegetarian biryani and several of the chicken dishes. The food was fresh and well-seasoned. It makes the trip to T&U worthwhile in itself.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eviliago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had stayed in this hotel from 11th to 14th April, Had driven down from Chennai. The hotel is a little away from the town (some 2 Km) so it gives you a very good feel of not being anywhere close to the hustle-bustle of the city. The location of the Hotel is Fab, just overlooking a valley. almost all the rooms have a Valley view and the restaurant has a lovely view. ok for the sake of Review let me categorize this

Service : 4 / 5

very good service, people are very cordial and the room service was very prompt and guys generally were very cheerful

Room : 4 / 5

Rooms where very spacious unlike other resorts i have been. most of the rooms have a balcony and a nice big window facing the Valley. rooms were cleaned every day. I had a infant who loved his space to crawl around and play with his toys.

Food: 2.5 / 5

the only great thing about the food is the location of the restaurant, otherwise, the food is just plane simple, nothing special but you will have to pay a bomb to have it. an Average meal for 2 will cost you 800 to 1000 per meal. i should acknowledge thy had given us bowl of plain rice and dhal for my kids free of cost. the thing is, i dont mind paying that amount but the food need to be worth it, which is not.

Play Area: Dont have a great Play area, few swings, merry-go-round etc for kids, and my daughter enjoyed it a lot. they don't have a swimming pool (as some one has posted in the picture section).

Overall this place is a great place to stay and have fun. Very Romantic!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chellafin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
1.8 mi away
Abad Copper Castle Hill Valley Resort
4.4 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
946 reviews
3.9 mi away
Misty Mountain Resort
Misty Mountain Resort
#4 of 9 in Pallivasal
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Grand Plaza Munnar
Grand Plaza Munnar
#24 of 101 in Munnar
846 reviews
4.5 mi away
Spice Country Resorts
Spice Country Resorts
#8 of 14 in Chithirapuram
368 reviews
4.3 mi away
Orchid Highlands
Orchid Highlands
#11 of 14 in Chithirapuram
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to T&U Leisure Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about T&U Leisure Hotel

Address: Mattupetty Road,, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: $60 - $162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — T&U Leisure Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a luxurious property with 30 well equipped and spacious guest rooms and suites along with contemporary comforts for a modern traveller. All our rooms are done to the taste of colonial architecture since Munnar itself is a colonial hamlet of the English planters and also known as ‘Little London’. T&U is situated en-route to the major sightseeing places like Mattupetty, Echo point, Kundala and Topstation. It is just a couple of kilometres away from Munnar town and well connected with National Highway i.e, NH-49 (Kochi – Madurai). All our rooms enjoy the luxurious and magnificent view of lush tea garden and valley. Our open air lawn in our property can be the ideal place for a candlelight dinner, camp fire and a corporate get together. The state of the art Banquet Hall can accommodate 120 people on theatre style. Our fusion cuisine restaurant – ‘Top Station’ has the capacity to accommodate the taste of universal traveller, we fulfil the gourmet needs of Arabic, Chinese, Continental and Indian including Gujarati, Jain travellers along with South Indian specialties !! Our Recreation centre boasts of Pool table, Table tennis, Chess and Caroms. Our Kids Zone – children’s playing area especially for Kids in the Lawns. It includes swings, see-saw, carousel etc… Our Fitness centre has the state of the art equipments to keep our guests health fit. Swasthya - The Ayurveda centre will keep you rejuvenated throughout your stay with oil massages and treatment packages. Our Ayurvedic packages are unique and fusion in nature which is beyond explanation, but you experience it. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your T&U Leisure Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
t And u Leisure Hotel
t u Leisure Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing