We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of surprises”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
KTDC Tea County Munnar
Ranked #11 of 103 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 12, 2010

The moment I realised after making the payment for reservation that this was a Government property I thought I was duped..however, it turned out to be completely opposite..this one is one of the most well maintained properties I have ever been to..the location is awesome. The rooms are well furnished although the room service is pretty average. The tea gardens surrounding the property are a must visit..over all, it was a very nice experience.

Stayed: January 2009, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Anuj_Lawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

688 - 694 of 740 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2010

After kanya kumari and poovar island we went munnar so we feel very good at munnar.The atmosphere of munnar very nice.Very good hill station among I have seen.We got iced tea as welcome drink when we reache at hotel.We were allocated last building cottage so we had to walk much but it was good and b'coz of last cottage the scenery look very good from there.We were sitting in balcony and it was raining little at that time we ordered some snacks.The experience was very good.There are very good ayurvedic massage centre and also good gymnasium.Good children play area and garden.

  • Stayed: December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank hd_gangani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

We reached Munnar in the afternoon by road from Thekkady and the views were just lovely.

This is a KTDC(Kerala Tourism Development Corp.) property and is situated near the town and perched on a Hill.

The view from our room was breathtaking and the rooms were quite spacious along with tea coffee maker in our room which we took full use of as the weather was quite chilly.

The kids also enjoyed the swings in the premises of the hotel.

The hotel has a standard MAP plan and the buffet breakfast and Dinner are okay.

We stayed for two days and really enjoyed our stay over there

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Pavandeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2009

We planned to celebrate our 3rd marriage anniversary and chose Kerala as our destination and started off with Munnar. We booked the Kerala tourism’s Tea County hotel using makemytrip.com and planned the journey then on. We reached Kochi from Pune and started our anticipated 4 hour journey to Munnar and as planned reached the hotel at 8 pm. The hotel is a prime property and strategically located in the heart of the town over a hill – this keeps it away from the usual hustle and bustle of every popular hill station.

After a long journey to this place, we were glad to get a room with a balcony facing the gardens. The room service was well mannered and provided excellent support from the moment we checked-in. The room was also cozy enough with a king size bed, well replenished tea/coffee machine and a neat bathroom. However, a wall had a damp stamp which was completely unexpected at a premium property like this.

We freshened up and headed straight to the restaurant to fulfill our hunger – the restaurant was serving various cuisines and we lavished the Indian one. It was well equipped with multiple buffet counters and smart service staff. We really enjoyed the food both during the dinner and breakfast. The hotel also had other amenities and options like gaming area, lounge, spa, massage and coffee shops – this makes it ideal for all age groups.

Positives
Premium property with decent rates – 3800 per room per night
Excellent services and amenities

Negatives
None that I can think of :-)

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Shubhrang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

My travel agent booked this hotel. Once i enterd this hotel, then i realized that this is KTDC hotel. Generally i don't prefer the government hotels. But this is exceptional. KTDC are maintaining this hotel very well. Location is beautiful. Rooms are very neat. Food is average. Tea gardens surronding to it are very nice. Very good place to stay if the price suits your pocket.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank roamingpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2009

i had booked my tickets through www.makemytrip.co.in about a month before the day of check-in. However due to some mistake my room was not reserved. The hotel staff were very courteous while they were sorting out the problem with makemytrip for getting me the room.

Great location in Munnar, Amost at the heart of the town with a great view in all directions. The rooms were clean and service staff prompt. Food was just about average including the buffet breakfast and i found the rate of food items to be a little expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diptesh2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

Hotel Tea County- Munnar- Iddukki Dist -Kerala State-India
Agust 21, 2009.

Reached Kochi Intnl Air Port from Mumbai early morning. Drove by Innova for about 3 1/2 hours to reach Munnar. Immediately after an active mansoon, every hill on the drive up was bursting forth with green vegetation and pouring out long and amazing water falls and one could not but stop every now and then to watch the beauty of creation.
Munnar is is a small village but attracts people from all over the world for the weird ways of land formation and tea gardens and cool weather. About 6000 ft above sea level it is one of the most enchanting places of God's Own Country.

Tea County is A Kerala Govt Tourism department undertakin but i found the serivce there excellant and people very friendly. The place is carefully maintained and inviting as against some other well known place in Munnar. I found the crowd orderly and less of the conducted tour type. SoI had a peace full stay. Good food.

(without prejudice)

Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
Thank candythamby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
4.2 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,038 reviews
13.3 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
543 reviews
3.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
750 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#2 of 15 in Chithirapuram
779 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 15 in Chithirapuram
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Tea County Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Tea County Munnar

Address: Colony Road near Govt. Guest House, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#6 Family Hotel in Munnar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#7 Spa Hotel in Munnar
#8 Luxury Hotel in Munnar
Price Range: $81 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — KTDC Tea County Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint cottages, fragrant tea gardens and mist-draped mornings are hallmarks of Munnar. For years the cool and picturesque town of Munnar was the summer retreat of the British and it still retains the charm of a colonial past. The destination is home to the only sandalwood forest in Kerala and is also famous for its exotic flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your KTDC Tea County Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Tea County Hotel Munnar
Tea County Munnar
Tea County Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing