We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night delight”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KTDC Tea County Munnar
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“One night delight”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Our fifth stop on our ride around Kerala, the ride up to here was amazing through the tea county, the rooms were great little individual cottages. Food was lovely and the staff were great. We stayed one night and visited the Tea Museum in Munnar on the way to our next stop in Kodaikanal.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    299
    90
    20
    12
See reviews for
320
227
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thane, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Good property, The view from rooms is not encouraging. One gets feeling of stay in tins shed apartments. Good big rooms for family with nice dressing area out of washroom to allow family cloth changing area.
Good property ambience and lobby.
Restaurant is good. Room service had been good but has an opportunity for improvement.

Room Tip: Take the room towards end of apartment, those are big rooms with changing area. Alternatively explor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-tip2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
Level Contributor
47 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2014

magnificient property.excellent rooms n ambience.except the staff is not courteous.food is superb.locaion of the property is fantastic with all the hills around.any queries can be aanswered on 9826651096. dr anand bhagwat ,indore,mp,india

Room Tip: better opt for aa hillview room on the front side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anand1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We really felt very comfortable, secure, and well looked after. The gardens are beautiful, and attract many whistling birds. Amazing. Breakfast and dinner was a package, but it was varied, interesting and tasty. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

It was surprisingly cool, especially during a late afternoon shower, so we put the heater on in our room.


We had a lovely patio and enjoyed looking at the gardens, the views, and listening to the birds.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
74 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

This is a large colonial style hotel, with wonderful scenery and overlooking the scruffy but interesting town of Munnar.
The bedroom and view from the balcony was good.
The public rooms are cavernous so are not cosy.
The staff are excellent and very attentive.
There are limited eating options in Munnar, apart from street food and eating shacks, so the hotel restaurant is the only viable option.
The food is OK but not very interesting. Dinner is better than breakfast, both are buffets. The non-veg options were generally poor.
Main complaint is that the tables were not always clean - the condiments (salt and pepper sachets) had sometimes been used and the containers were dirty.
Finally, the plates and cups are cleared very quickly, even if we had not finished eating or drinking! We frequently had to get fresh plates and cutlery.
But in the context of Munnar, the hotel is a good choice for a few nights.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Denwales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackney
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We turned up at this hotel hot and tired after a long car journey from Cochin. We were very pleased with our first impressions and continued to enjoy all aspects of our stay here. Of special note were the gardens and the bar (who's name I forget), a large colonial style room. It had lots of windows and more rural views. Although not bird fanatics, we did enjoy watching them come and go from here, especially with a nice cold beer! We also made good use of the table tennis and full-size snooker table. Our apartments were two, attached, single storey apartments. These were perfect as we were two couples. Both had a large balcony overlooking the town and surrounding countryside. As usual, the staff were attentive and very friendly. Breakfast was very the usual buffet and as usual, very tasty.

Room Tip: Our 'bungalows' were a little way from the main building and there are a few stairs involved...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AElf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Eventhough its a government property, this resort is well maintained. So I had a great stay with family here. Staffs are very co-operate and always ready to help you when required. Hotel rooms are spacious and comfortable. Restaurant is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
4.2 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
869 reviews
3.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
5.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
949 reviews
3.6 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Tea County Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Tea County Munnar

Property: KTDC Tea County Munnar
Address: Colony Road near Govt. Guest House, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munnar
#8 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KTDC Tea County Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint cottages, fragrant tea gardens and mist-draped mornings are hallmarks of Munnar. For years the cool and picturesque town of Munnar was the summer retreat of the British and it still retains the charm of a colonial past. The destination is home to the only sandalwood forest in Kerala and is also famous for its exotic flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your KTDC Tea County Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Tea County Hotel Munnar
Tea County Munnar
Tea County Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing