We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
KTDC Tea County Munnar
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Munnar
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Photos on tripadvisor are outdated. We visited few days ago and it is best resort in munnar. If you want to stay in munnar, just book this and forget everything else.Excellent views from rooms, nice service and great breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nikitever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    299
    90
    20
    12
See reviews for
320
227
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (221)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, Madhya Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Friends this is a very nice resort. I guess the best and the largest in Munnar. Though the location is a bit outcast but it gives a good view of the city, though the slum also come in the view. The service was satisfactory. We also used the recreation room. Wifi facility was available but at an extra charge in the lobby itself.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sumeet1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Hi, I stayed at KTDC tea county , Munnar in month of November - 2012 for 2N/3D with my family. our experience was very good. Rooms are nice , clean , spacious with all the facilities. Food was delicious. . Restaurant staff was excellent. They are always ready to serve you whatever you asked. Hotel has very good garden , green , open , small play area for children. Ample parking. Definetly good option in munnar.

Room Tip: Higher floors rooms have good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harsh411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel has the perfect location. I believe its the only hotel in Munnar with such a royal and amazing feel. Maybe that is why its a heritage hotel. Its situated on a hill encompassing a large beautiful area. Rooms are big with old feeling. Hotel staff is courteous and helpful. Many foreign tourists come here. There is a childen’s play area with few rides . Our kids had a great time. Room rate is approx. 7,000/- INR per day for a couple (complimentary for children < 5 years) which included Breakfast and Dinner. There is a working bath tub in bathroom. Well equipped tea counter with teabags, coffee sachet but only few sugar sachets (don’t know why!). It had a small fridge too. Each room has a balcony with a beautiful view. Hotel serves beef too but no steak. I had beef chilly which was very Chinese and yummy. Electronic Safe is also provided. Food was delicious. Both were buffet and delicious. They also helped us in packing some food for children. See my pics.
There were few drawbacks like the situation of rooms are far from reception and reception itself is far from main gate. So one can not go out frequently for roaming around in market, though its not much needed. Hotel has a small recreation room with one Table tennis table, two carom boards in the beautiful waiting area, a very small swimming pool (its more like a large bathtub) inside the small gym room. During our visit swimming pool was not functional. Our room (room no. D2) had a shabby entrance with few empty and folded beds along with linen placed there(seems like a small open storage), though clean but absolutely unwanted. Our double bed provided by the hotel was really an antique with broken edges and dirty looking wood once the bedcover is removed (see pic). Hotel campus is well maintained but in some places beyond the visible boundary there are stretches of unclean grass and trash. It needs to be cleaned majorly. Hotel also has a bar which serves only Beer and wine. Here one can have a Tuborg bottle at around 250/- INR. Good wines are also there but obviously expensive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvfortravel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent two night here and go the deluxe double rooms. Very nice and definitely "bang for your buck". The spa "shantigiri" is good. Reasonably priced and just right for to get your refreshed and charged especially after a 4 hour drive from Kochi Airport.

The view from the resort is lovely. You wake up looking at the hills and tea estates around and it offers easy access to the market place in case you wish to pick up a few things. Our only sore spot was the food. Didnt think much of the offerings and very ordinary food. They have a limited menu and price things way too high for the quality of food. A simple hot chocolate was Rs. 160 which I feel is quite absurd!!

Other than that, they have done well with this place.

Room Tip: Get rooms higher up (as far up on the hill to give you a good view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bharath A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

No doubt one of the good hotel among all the hotels I saw in Munnar. Rooms were clean and staff was courteous. Our rooms had an excellent view from both front and back side. The most striking thing of this hotel is its greenry and species of flowers. The hotel is surrounded by lush green plantations and beautiful flowers. The management perhaps take their gardening very seriously and it shows too. Its difficult to believe that a govt run hotel (KTDC) can be such well maintained. The only disappointing thing about the hotel is its food. It was not bad but nothing great either.

Room Tip: Take rooms in 'G' block. Best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dabbu_1Delhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
186 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This is a huge property in a great location. The property perimters is well maintained. The rooms are big but a little dated.

The staff is polite. Shree dutt the Asst. manager is a great asset to the property and hope stays there. They do have a lovely everning dinner buffet.

The negatives - My dad lost rs. 10000 on the property with no one besides the house cleaners having gone into the room. THey do have a supervisor who watches over them but it stil did happen. To be fair they do provide safe in the room but one needs to remember to use it :). I would also say that the propery asst. manager Shree dutt was a great help. He tried everything possibel to help track/locate the cash. HE evern offered the money back with a acut from the Staff's salary but tht seemed unfair so we didnt bother.

The rooms are slightly dated and the property can do more to keep it more happening/alive at night.

Room Tip: Dont leave anything pricey in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_ferocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Munnar hotels
4.2 mi away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#3 of 14 in Chithirapuram
872 reviews
3.7 mi away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
5.6 mi away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 14 in Chithirapuram
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
528 reviews
3.6 mi away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 14 in Chithirapuram
949 reviews
3.6 mi away
Forest Glade
Forest Glade
#3 of 9 in Pallivasal
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KTDC Tea County Munnar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KTDC Tea County Munnar

Property: KTDC Tea County Munnar
Address: Colony Road near Govt. Guest House, Munnar 685612, India
Location: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Munnar
#7 Romantic Hotel in Munnar
#7 Luxury Hotel in Munnar
#8 Family Hotel in Munnar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — KTDC Tea County Munnar 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint cottages, fragrant tea gardens and mist-draped mornings are hallmarks of Munnar. For years the cool and picturesque town of Munnar was the summer retreat of the British and it still retains the charm of a colonial past. The destination is home to the only sandalwood forest in Kerala and is also famous for its exotic flora and fauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your KTDC Tea County Munnar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ktdc Tea County Hotel Munnar
Tea County Munnar
Tea County Hotel Munnar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing